We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for what i paid!!”
Review of Stanhope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanhope Hotel
Ranked #20 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Found the Stanhope hotel through trivago and booked quite confidently and what can only be described as an absolute steal.
The hotel is situated near the parliament area of Brussels, easy enough to find a short 5-10minute Metro Journey from gare du midi to troone (Metro station) and then a further 2-3minute walk....the metro is very efficient and even thought the location isn't perfectly central you can get across the city in next to know time, so location isn't an issue!!
The hotel it's self is wonderfully decorated, very upmarket and impressed the other half which is always an endorsement. The room itself was immaculate, marble bathroom with his and hers sinks, dressing gowns, slippers, mini bar (albeit very expensive), safe and the other usual bit and bobs. Its hard to describe how nice the room was, but the pictures on the website reflect the quality and style of the Stanhope.
Unfortunately we never got to eat in the restaurant as it not open Saturday or Sunday, we skipped breakfast as we had planned two busy of sight seeing, but if the rest of the hotel is too go by I would expect the food to be of a high standard.
There may have been a few minor points I could pick fault with, however I would of had to really search them out. Overall, this was affordable luxury at the Stanhope, the location is practical and if visiting Brussels again I would definitely try and book the Stanhope again.

**Couldn't rate the swimming pool/spa as didn't use this facility
*** The only reason I marked the location as 'Very Good' rather than excellent, is that despite not having an issue with location personally I'm aware some people want a more central location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefgavin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services met your expectations.

As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services; it is a pleasure to share positive feedback as yours with our Team.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
There are newer reviews for Stanhope Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel. Our room was facing to the street on the 4th floor, but still quiet and comfortable. The huge double bed was soft and comfortable, only the pillows were a bit thick to our taste. The only thing what I will never understand: why free wifi is not basic in these hotels. However I have to note that we really appreciated the gesture from the hotel, as we got a one hour limited wifi access (that's an other story that we did not know that it was a one-shot access, so even we logged out after 10 min, for the next time it has already been consumed). We loved the atmosphere of the room, it was really nice.
The hotel is not in the center, but it is an easy walk to get in. Breakfast is very good (incl. coffee), and staff is extremely helpful and kind. As it was "no car day" on Sunday when we left, we got good advices from the receptionist how to get to the airport the most easily.

Room Tip: We were in room 420, it was quiet and good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EraKiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your Tripadvisor review and the nice comments on our property.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the atmosphere of your room and the breakfast. We can assure you that nice comments like yours are mostly appreciated by our staff members.
We would like to inform you that 1 hour free of charge WIFI is offered to our guests if used in their room or another part of the hotel. It is completely free of charge at the computer in our lobby but also for each reservation made directly trough our website and for Thon Club Members as from the second stay.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,
Yours sincerely,
The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had a really enjoyable short stay at the Stanhope, with nothing to criticise. The staff were friendly and helpful and the place is spotless. Our room was immaculate, comfortable and quiet. It's a pity the restaurant was closed during our stay, so we can't report on that, except for breakfast, which was superb.
Situated near to the EU buildings and the Royal Park, it's ideal for MEPs, but not quite so well placed for tourists. Tired, after a day's sightseeing, the uphill journey back to the hotel was a bit of a chore. We bought bus passes, allowing us to take the 8 minute ride into and out of the city centre whenever we wanted. There are fairly frequent bus services from the hotel to the centre and back. The hotel is also near a Metro station, so you can get around Brussels pretty easily.
In Brussels there are signs of neglect once you get away from the area immediately around the Grand' Place. Around the Stanhope it's not bad, but we noticed many more vagrants than during our last visit a few years ago, so using public transport to and from the hotel is advisable, especially after dark.
If we return to Brussels, we'd certainly try to stay at the Stanhope.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your lovely comments with the Tripadvisor travelers.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you especially appreciated the quality of our breakfast service and the cleanliness of our rooms.
It is always a pleasure to share positive feedbacks from our guests with our staff members.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Brussels, we remain,
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We chose to stay here because of the good TA reviews and because it's convenient to the main art museums, metro and train stations. It's also relatively close to the Sablon area, which has nice restaurants, chocolatiers and shops.

Our room at the Stanhope was quiet and clean with a great comfortable (soft!) bed. The friendly multi-lingual staff helped us to find our way around Brussels and recommended good restaurants.

The hotel atmosphere feels a bit on the formal side, but after all, it seems to be primarily a business hotel. The only slight negative for a leisure traveler might be the location - it's a (very pleasant) 25-30 minute walk to the Grote Markt area, and initially we didn't think we'd spend much time there, but the St. Catherine's area just past the GM is great, and it's a bit of a (mildly uphill) hike back from there.

You could take the metro (Trone/Troon) back, of course, but you may want to consider something a little closer to the old center, especially if you're not interested in the museums or the palace area.

Overall, a very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoomedXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice feedback on our Hotel that we received trough the Tripadvisor website.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel; and especially the quality of our service, the room decoration and our service minded staff members.
Please be assured that your nice comments as yours are really appreciated by our staff members.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel offers great service and is perfect for business meetings and conferences. Best location for visits in the EU institutions.
Spacious weirdly furnished rooms, but with everything necessary. Very good breakfast and bar.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peshovuchev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and we are pleased to hear that you had an excellent time in our property.

Feedback of our Guests is mostly important for us and it is a pleasure to share your wonderful appreciations with our staff members.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is the type of boutique hotel that should always be, but which also shows signs of having been around forever. The location is perfect, close to the European parliament and many relevant business venues. The rooms are good, a bit of wear and tear does feel European these days. Breakfast facility and menu could benefit from a critical review of what five star hotels tend to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHappyCamper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your having taken the time to inform us about your experience on your recent stay in our property.
We regret to hear that the Stanhope Hotel did not convince you during your stay as we are continually working on the level of our services, we can assure you that all your remarks will be taken into consideration by the concerned Managers.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed here for two nights in August. The hotel was very clean and very well maintained. The hotel gives you the option to opt out of daily room cleanings, and if you choose to do so, they give you a discount in their restaurant. I chose the option because I'm good with sleeping on the same sheets and using the same towel for two days.

My only complaint was that the safe in my room was not working and it took them a long time (almost 45 minutes) to get someone up to my room to check it out. When someone did come, he checked the safe, told me it was broken (thanks genius, that's why I called you!) and was about to leave before I stopped him and asked what he was planning to do about it. He half-heartedly told me to contact reception to switch rooms. I didn't bother and just hid my important belongings throughout the room.

I'm not too soured by the safe though, the hotel was overall excellent. This hotel does have air conditioning in the room (at least my room did!). As a side-note, Brussels is a beautiful city!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emjokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your having taken the time to inform us about your experience on your recent stay in our property.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your weekend stay and your compliments will be forwarded to our staff members.
We regret to hear the issues with the safe in your room and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by this. As we are continually working on the level of our services, we can assure you that all your remarks will be taken into consideration by the concerned Manager.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#73 of 198 in Brussels
2,702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 198 in Brussels
1,798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhope Hotel

Address: Rue du Commerce 9, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £102 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanhope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel is situated in the European Quarter, near the historical centre of Brussels and close to the famous Sablon Antique Square.This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. In 1991, Stanhope Hotel, located in the centre of Brussels, was inaugurated first 5-Star hotel in Belgium. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over the Brighton restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything is breathing elegance and charm. After 12 years, an extensive renovation and enlargment of the property has been established, counting today 125 Standard or Classic and Superior rooms, Suites and Apartments, as well as extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanhope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing