We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique rooms, top breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stanhope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stanhope Hotel
Ranked #20 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique rooms, top breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

I stopped here before a conference and didn't really see much of Brussels. However the location is right next to a subway stop which seemed very efficient. The hotel is old world and slightly luxurious and traditional. The room I stayed in was on two floors, with the bathroom downstairs and the bed upstairs. It could be annoying or quaint dependent on your view and mood. The room was excellent though and the shoe shine service was special. The best bit of my stay though was the breakfast. The term 'continental' always puts me off but there was a fantastic choice of croissants, breads, cheeses, cereals, juices and last but not least the scrambled eggs were 1st class. The service were excellent too. You could fault small things but it isn't worth a whinge so I'd ignore any negative comments, you'll love it. I will come back for a personal visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for your nice feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially the location and our buffet breakfast services.

As we are currently working to keep up the high standard of services, it is always a pleasure to share reviews like yours with our staff members

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    402
    135
    51
    34
See reviews for
120
540
63
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed here for a business trip recently and found the service excellent. I was in a business suite on the fourth floor and it was of a high standard. Well stocked minibar, nice toiletries, vast bathroom with a bath and a shower. My bed was very comfortable.

Only negatives are that wifi isn't free for the whole stay and in my room, there is only one plug socket that works when you switch off your lights so if you need to charge your phone and laptop, you can only do one overnight, unless you carry an extension lead with you. All of the other sockets stopped working when the lights went out, which was bizarre.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citychic81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about the experience on your stay in our Hotel.
We regret to hear that our services were not completely at your satisfaction and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in the different situations.
We have taken carefully note of all your comments and we can assure you that they will be taken into consideration by the department Managers.
Despite your disappointment, we do hope you will give us the chance to prove you that comments of our guests are taken seriously.
Meanwhile, we remain,
Yours sincerely,
The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This used to be a very good business hotel in the centre of Brussels. Now it has become somewhat "too old" and is missing facilities like a gym which you would expect in any hotel of this category. Understand some parts of the hotel may have been renovated but the room I was given was rather small and not particularly comfortable for a business traveler. Even the elevator of the area I stayed in is old and run down. Next time in Brussels may be looking at alternatives.....

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Adrianelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having the time to inform us about your experience of your recent stay in our hotel.

We sincerely regret that the hotel facilities did not completely meet your expectations and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by this.

Please be assured that all the remarks of our guests are highly appreciated and have been forwarded to the concerned department Managers who will take them into consideration for future improvements.
We do hope to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel and remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
353 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Stanhope is part of the Thon group of which there are a number in Brussels. This particular hotel is the top of their range, and we liked it very much. Our room was lovely and well appointed, it was also clean. We had two arm chairs, and a large TV with an excellent selection of channels, bath robes and slippers, and we liked the fact there was a separate loo.
It was also quiet and another good feature was the fact that the rooms were serviced quickly and efficiently without the dreaded service trolley blocking the hall as has been the case in several hotels visited recently. Our bedroom was decorated in the English Country house style with chintzy type curtains and a coronet above the bed. It was all most comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast was excellent, but expensive. The service was good. There was a huge selection at breakfast with smoothies, waffles, pancakes, and pastries as well as the usual savouries, fruit etc., We did find fault with a few things, however. Mainly, the entrance hall is a mess, with a broken step. I have noticed other comments on the entrance area, and it needs to be sorted out. There are beautiful and imaginative flowers throughout the hotel, yet none in the entrance hall which resembles a passage which is is, leading to the reception area. A console table with some flowers or sculpture would work wonders to 'lift' the entrance hall! It also needs to have signs indicating the reception area as when we arrived we thought we had reached the back entrance! The other thing which needs to be sorted is the servicing of the rooms. One night our bed was turned down, and the following three nights it was not. Dead flowers in our room were not replaced, and the menus for dinner were 4 days out of date. If these points were sorted out, then this would truly be a special hotel. Dinner is not served at weekends, and the staff recommended a restaurant about 1 miles or so from the hotel. In fact, the Leopold Hotel, located about 200 metres from the hotel has an excellent brasserie which we visited twice. We found the Stanhope fairly central for the Art Galleries, Avenue Louise, and the Royal Palace. Although we used the underground, we were able to walk to the Grand Place and the Sablon shopping areas. We did enjoy our stay but the management needs to sort out the points mentioned.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the side street are quiet. We felt very private in our room and were not disturbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your experience in our property and for the nice comments on your room, the breakfast quality and the location.
We sincerely regret that the room and the entrance area did not meet your expectations and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by this.
We have informed the Housekeeping Manager and we can assure you that your comments are taken into consideration for future improvements.

We sincerely hope this will not affect your hotel choice whenever returning to Brussels and that you will give us the chance to prove you that the comments of our guests are taken seriously.

Please do not hesitate to contact the Management office for any information required or to reserve you a warm welcome and special attention on your next stay.

Meanwhile, we remain,
Yours sincerely,
The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here some time ago for our anniversary but have only just got round to writing a review. (Have entered Dec '12 but this is not a true reflection on the date we stayed)
Fantastic location and only a short walk away from the main square area.
The rooms are 10/10. Clean and incredibly spacious. The hotel has quite a corporate feeling to it bu the communal areas are well presented and clean.
The courtyard at the back is lovely in the evenings and our suite overlooked this.
Would stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for your nice feedback received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially your room, the location and our peaceful garden.
As we are currently working to keep up the high standard of services, it is always a pleasure to share reviews like yours with our Team.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This very nice hotel boutique is located close to Trone subway station in Brussels but if you want to walk to city center is far away. Also you need to walk some minutes to shoping area of Louisse.
The facilities are excellent. Rooms are very nice decorated in British traditional style. Breakfast is very good and service is excellent. Also a nice terrace is a good place to drink a beer when weather allows it.

Room Tip: Rooms in 6th floor are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paco_Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your experience through the Tripadvisor website.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we can assure you that nice comments like yours are mostly appreciated by our staff members.
Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next stay in Brussels, we remain,
Yours sincerely,
The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Had a fabulous one night stay in this hotel at the weekend. it's a lovely place to stay, convenient for the metro, buses, the European parliament and local shops. We arrived very early and they were happy for us to check in, our room was great, quite quirky with the bed being upstairs! Very comfortable, beautifully decorated and quiet. The hotel is lovely and breakfast was very good. The staff were all helpful and courteous, and I can't fault the hotel at all, we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your rewarding feedback on our Hotel received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and especially your room , the location and our breakfast. As we are currently working to keep up the high standard of services, it is our pleasure to share reviews like yours with our Team.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#21 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
0.9 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#16 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhope Hotel

Property: Stanhope Hotel
Address: Rue du Commerce 9, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanhope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel is situated in the European Quarter, near the historical centre of Brussels and close to the famous Sablon Antique Square.This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. In 1991, Stanhope Hotel, located in the centre of Brussels, was inaugurated first 5-Star hotel in Belgium. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over the Brighton restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything is breathing elegance and charm. After 12 years, an extensive renovation and enlargment of the property has been established, counting today 125 Standard or Classic and Superior rooms, Suites and Apartments, as well as extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanhope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing