We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”
Review of Stanhope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanhope Hotel
Ranked #17 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We visited here over a long weekend in May, staff very pleasant, friendly and helpful. The breakfast each morning was superb with a very wide choice of fresh hot and cold buffet in a bright and elegant dining room. The room was spacious and had a mini bar fridge if you needed it. The hotel was easy to find, caught the no. 12 bus from the airport at only 4 euro each and it dropped us very near to the hotel. Would definitely recommend this lovely central hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Restless01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, Directeur général at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Restless01,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback we received trough the TripAdvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services completely met your expectations.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for one night in on a business trip in a single room (they still ahve them!). Although fairly small the room was ok for one night and bathroom was well appointed and quite big. Excellent breakfast and great service. Good value for central Brussels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mirakoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, Directeur général at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Mirakoo,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your lovely comments with the TripAdvisor travelers.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay; especially the location, the breakfast and the service.

It is always a pleasure to share positive feedbacks from our guests with our staff members.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at 8:45 and were told our "apartment" was ready. When we entered we discovered that our two bedroom two bath apartment had only one bathroom. What's up with this? So we talked to the manager, who told us that an e-mail was sent to our agent. After all the finger pointing the manager offered us the "Garden Suite" for the same price. This was fine with us since our adult son was to arrive two days later. Being on the lobby floor was great. The only problem is we needed two keys; one for the living room and one for each bedroom. This was a minor inconvenience, but we learned that the regulars and staff use the half bath on the lobby level. Once we figured that out everything was hunky dory. The staff could not be nicer. We got some nice restaurant tips from staff and thoroughly enjoyed our stay (we are going back for two nights on our way to London). We did not eat in the restaurant which seemed pricey and targeting business men on expense accounts. This is certainly a businessman's hotel. If staying over a weekend, you should know that many of the restaurants in walking distance are lunch only. We like the quiet however and with the help of staff we always found good eateries. The Grand Place is in walking distance if you are fit. Brussels is a very hilly city for a "low country."

Room Tip: There are lots of easy eat and go places for breakfast. We recommend Tout a Bon on Luxembourg Place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank datawest20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, Directeur général at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Cybersebor,

We would like to thank you for your nice feedback we received trough the TripAdvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our property; especially the peaceful atmosphere and the staff.

As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services; it is a real pleasure to share positive feedback as yours with our team.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently stayed for 2 nights at the Stanhope Hotel and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel. We stayed in Room 424 which is classed as a Club Room, which had its own lounge with Mini Bar, TV and large patio door. A bedroom with beautiful drapes over the large 6ft bed and well appointed bathroom with separate shower. The hotel itself was lovely with a courtyard for drinks and breakfast in the summer and a pleasant lounge/bar area. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Considering the special deal we were on which was 2 nts stay, breakfast and travel by Eurostar, we were amazed at the great value for money and would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, Directeur général at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Carolyn A,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for having shared your wonderful comments via TripAdvisor.

It has been a pleasure to make your trip into a special moment and sharing positive feedback like yours with our staff members makes it even more special for us.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed several times at this hotel. This time I arrived on Sunday evening. There was not enough staff to attend customers requests at reception and bar. Nevertheless staff dealt with this situation in a correct and kind way.
Rooms are clean, service is good. Restaurant is very good value for money: not an immense menu, but excellent quality food.
Location of the hotel is very good: close to metro and train station, in a nice neighbourhood.
It's my favourite hotel when I visit Brussels.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Wouter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, Directeur général at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your fidelity towards the Stanhope Hotel and for having taken the time to share your lovely comments with the Tripadvisor travelers.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we can assure you that nice comments like yours are mostly appreciated by our staff members.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were booked into a club room and it was complete with fabulous linens, decor, Molton Brown toiletries, lovely sitting area and huge, comfy bed abd plenty of wardrobe room. Though just a 5-minute walk from the Metro, it was totally quiet and no disturbances whatsoeverl The bedside lamp bulb didn't work and it was fixed instantly when reported. The breakfast, included in our room plan, could not have been better. It was continental with about 8 different pastries, crepes, 4 different fruit salads to choose from, regular or espresso coffee, delicious brie and blue cheese, lovely breads, yogurts, jam. First class! We were greeted warmly each of the two mornings we stayed and it was a great start to the day. The hotel is elegant, CLEAN, and very gracious decor. We considered this truly a 5* experience and completely recommend itl

Room Tip: Club room is probably worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dot1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, Directeur général at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Dot1617,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback we received trough the TripAdvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our property; especially the location, the room and the breakfast.

As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services; it is a pleasure to share positive feedback as yours with our Team.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The photos make it look nice but the place is average at best. You don't get free with which for a hotel of this price is ridiculous! The light switches in my room mean that I have either every single light on or none and when none are on, there is no electricity to the room so I can't charge my mobile phone overnight. Again ridiculous and not conducive to a business hotel. Then €30for breakfast? The beds are too soft, the room decor is dark and unpleasant. I can't think of any good features of this hotel. Get in, get out.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear David A,

I am really sorry if our eco friendly program has not been explained to you enough. Effectively, your comments are mainly about it. We try to lower energy consumption as much as we can and ask our guests to follow us if they want to. Lights can be dimmed but by standard are at the lowest level. You always have a constant plug for your devices to be charged next to the desk. I hope you could give us another chance to show you all our green project and how hard we are working for that so that you could change your mind.

I thank you for having taken the time to give us your feedback.
Best Regards.

Sophie BLONDEL
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#74 of 199 in Brussels
2,755 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.8 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#10 of 199 in Brussels
1,826 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhope Hotel

Address: Rue du Commerce 9, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £73 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanhope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel is situated in the European Quarter, near the historical centre of Brussels and close to the famous Sablon Antique Square.This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. In 1991, Stanhope Hotel, located in the centre of Brussels, was inaugurated first 5-Star hotel in Belgium. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over the Brighton restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything is breathing elegance and charm. After 12 years, an extensive renovation and enlargment of the property has been established, counting today 125 Standard or Classic and Superior rooms, Suites and Apartments, as well as extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanhope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing