We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend in brussels”
Review of Stanhope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanhope Hotel
Ranked #18 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very comfortable and pleasant hotel. Breakfast provided a great choice of food even lemon meringue one morning. Bed very comfortable. Disappointed to arrive and find restaurant closed for month, should have been told in advance as it was my birthday and my wife wished to treat me to dinner in the hotel. For a five star hotel disappointed to find no tea making facilities or water available. Bar had pleasant surroundings. Pleasant walk downhill to old centre and bus or metro back to if you wish to avoid uphill slog. Hotel decoration made it seem as if you were staying in a stately home or museum. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms with an "upstairs" for the bed is very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Mr. Eddie R,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your experience in our property and for the nice recommendations on the location, the bed and the breakfast.
As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services; we can assure you that nice comments like yours are mostly appreciated by our staff members.


We deeply regret that you did not have the possibility to celebrate your birthday in our restaurant because of the yearly summer closure and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for not having received this information in advance.

As personalized service is very important for our Hotel, we prefer to offer the tea and coffee facilities as a special service by bringing a tray with these facilities to the room upon request of our guests. These facilities are completely free of charge.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

We recently stayed here after booking through Secret Escapes and were really pleased with our stay. The room we had was absolutely stunning and the service we had from the members of staff was impeccably polite and helpful. There were a few disappointments, such as our safe had a fault which locked all of our Euros and passports into it for a while! However this was sorted as soon as we reported it. The breakfast was really enjoyable with a fantastic range of food, but the hot food (bacon, sausages, eggs etc) was completely cold on our first morning to my partner's disappointment. It seemed like the breakfast was being served in a different place due to refurbishments though so we understood why they might be having some issues! Overall we really were happy, particularly with the room and the convenient location next to a good underground stop and right around the corner from the palace, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, Directeur général at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear M. Tori C,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our propoerty for your stay in Brussels and for having shared your wonderful experience with the TripAdvisor travelers.

It has been a pleasure to make your trip into a special moment and sharing positive feedback like yours with our staff members makes it even more special for us.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had an excellent weekend stay. Travelled from UK by Eurostar and the Hotel was easily found off the Troon metro station. Good 5 star hotel with good service. The rooms were a delight and spacious. Breakfasts were very good, with plenty of options. Our terms were part of a package and great value. We would definitely recommend and use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, Directeur général at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Mr. Bob P,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback we received trough the TripAdvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay; especially the location, the room, the breakfast and the service.

It has been a pleasure to make your trip in Brussels into a special moment and sharing positive feedback like yours with our staff members makes it even more special for us.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We liked the Stanhope. Great location and nicely decorated with plenty space.

Reception and check-in is good and efficient, with the 'normal' 'room is not ready until 2pm' proviso common in European hotels (even in off season). The hotel has underground car-parking and we were even given access to a slightly larger underground car-park next door. This was convenient and made it very easy to travel around Brussels with no worries about parking.

The room was great - roomy, with a decent desk with 2 outlets, WiFi, smallish flat-screen TV, enough channels and Video-on-Demand and a good sized bathroom, with double sink. The shower in the bathroom was adequate but not as good as it should have been with power and temperature selection a little random.

What was a little weird to us was that the hotel was clearly in 'off-season' operation, despite it being mid August. Thus, none of the restaurants were operational, meaning we had to rely on room service for evening meals and breakfast was served in one of the meeting rooms. We found this surprising, particularly as we met plenty of other guests while there.

However, given there are plenty of restaurants within short walking distance, this was only an issue after long working days when we just wanted to eat and go to bed.

Breakfast itself was great, with fruit, freshly made waffles (DIY), yoghurts, bakery, breads, cold cuts and warm dishes all available and tasty. Coffee comes form a "Nespresso" machine so do not expect much from that.

Check-out was swift, friendly and efficient.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone wanting a good, centrally located hotel with parking.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for having shared your experience with the TripAdvisor travelers.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay; especially the location, the Front office service and parking.

We would like to inform you that during the month of August our restaurant is indeed closed and the week of your stay, the breakfast was exceptionally served in a meeting room because of the yearly deep cleaning of the parquet. We deeply regret that we could not offer you the usual restaurant service and hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by this.

Once again, we thank you for having shared your observations with us and please be assured that comments of our guests are taken seriously because they are helpful for improvements.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I can't find the correct words to describe the opulence, fantasy and delightful experience that was our recent stay in this amazing hotel. Treated like royalty from the moment we exited the cab until the moment we caught the cab back to the airport. I wish that suite was mine for ever. I cannot begin to describe the feeling I got when I saw our king size four poster bed, opened my window to view our quant quite street, cooked in the modern exquisitely designed kitchen, ate on the large kitchen table, the colors of the suite, the decorations furnishing are first class, I loved relaxing on the couch while watching HDTV - who cares about internet wifi. I was pleased to not have anyone contact me during our stay. Walk to grand place was down hill past the palace and other worthwhile sites taking no more than 15 mins? There's a store just around the cnr to buy your breakfast to cook, wine, fresh bread, beer - allows you to sleep in and save your appetite for Brussels muscles fritz beer and waffles in the evening. The restaurant courtyard looked lovely to eat at but it was a little pricy.., I don't just want to come back and visit here. I want to come back and LIVE here!!!. Xxx best hotel I've ever stayed in. Even better than the grand Hyatt in Sydney oz, which now comes a close second - I don't think hotels get much better than this

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, Directeur général at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Mrs. Aussiebab,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback we received trough the TripAdvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that your stay in our property was like being in a fairy tale and that our services totally met your expectations.

As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services; it is a pleasure to share positive feedback as yours with our Team.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our stay could have been perfect, except for our room not being made up on our return from a long day of sight seeing in Brussels. I specifically left the Sign on the outside do asking for room to be made up. It was my birthday and my husband went to the effort of choosing a nice hotel, but sadly this place let us both down. When you stay in a 5 star hotel room you expect it to be slightly more comfortable than in your own bedroom. But on this occasion I make my bed up in a much more professional way, I wouldn't dream of crunching up the quilt cover and sticking it under the T.v cabinet! A box of chocolate was offered to be as a form of an apology, but by then we'd felt that the experience had already been spoiled some what.

Room Tip: Wifi is only free for one hour during 24 hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RashidaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Dear Ms RashidaE,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us of your recent experience in our hotel.

We deeply regret the room cleaning issue and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We can assure you that your comments have been forwarded to the Housekeeping Managers and necessary actions have been taken to avoid reoccurrence in the future.

Although your disappointment, we do hope you will give us the chance to show you that comments of our guests are taken seriously and that they are helpful for improvements.

Please feel free to contact the Management Office so we can make sure to offer you the perfect stay on your next trip to Brussels.

Looking forward to pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Hotel is older style and beautifully furnished. Lift is like a little library! Very comfortable king size bed. However, room was split level, with lounge on lower level and bed on upper level with access by stairs. We happened to be there when Brussels was experiencing something of a heat wave. Although there was aircon, it only cooled the lounge and bed area hot and stuffy. Also would have preferred not to have stairs. Very good bathroom, but no safe in room. Huge choice for breakfast. Hotel very close to metro station.

Room Tip: Request single level room unless you like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Management_Team, Directeur général at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Mrs. Gill M,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our property for your stay in Brussels and for your nice comments on the location, the bed comfort and the breakfast.

Regarding the room, we would like to inform you that our Hotel has a large choice of rooms all in different sizes an decorations so please do not hesitate to mention your room preferences on a next stay.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next stay in Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#75 of 199 in Brussels
2,764 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#10 of 199 in Brussels
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,411 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhope Hotel

Address: Rue du Commerce 9, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £83 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanhope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel is situated in the European Quarter, near the historical centre of Brussels and close to the famous Sablon Antique Square.This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. In 1991, Stanhope Hotel, located in the centre of Brussels, was inaugurated first 5-Star hotel in Belgium. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over the Brighton restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything is breathing elegance and charm. After 12 years, an extensive renovation and enlargment of the property has been established, counting today 125 Standard or Classic and Superior rooms, Suites and Apartments, as well as extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanhope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing