We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect apartment in a perfect central location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brussels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Maison de la Poupee
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect apartment in a perfect central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The two of us and our 6 month old daughter had a wonderful two night stay in one of the apartments in Rue des Eperonniers. After having to cancel a pre-Xmas trip at the last minute due to the early birth of our daughter, Valerie kindly rearranged the booking with no fuss or complaint.

The apartment is located just off the Grand Place yet despite the crowds and vibrancy from the many restaurants and bars in the area, the apartment is set back well enough from the street that it was surprisingly quiet and we experienced no disturbance.

The apartment itself is very spacious and clean with a lounge kitchen area completely separate from the bedroom. Valerie even provided a cot for our daughter at no extra charge.

Extremely good value considering its location, I would not hesitate to recommend a stay with Valerie should you wish to visit Brussels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    15
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
43
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My family and I stayed at l'Impasse de la poupée in June 2014. This flat is very well located, only one street corner from la Grande Place, and perfect for family vacation. Despite the street activity near the apartment, there is absolutely no noise when you were inside. The apartment is renovated and very clean but there is no conditioning air. Restaurants, supermarkets, train stations and metro stations are at a walking distance from the apartment. Considering quality and price, this apartment should be really considered for your next holiday in Brussels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syl&Nath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed at the duplex off de la Poupee; a two story, 70 square meter lodging just 50 meters from the Grand Place at an affordable price. Fantastic. We loved it here as you can tell from the rating. However, I cannot help but think that this property is not for everyone and I'll list some reasons for me thinking that way.
First, are the often mentioned stairs. A circular staircase which is very steep and narrow will have you winded by the time you climb the four stories to your bedroom with your luggage. There are two beds which together with the well appointed kitchen suggest to me a great base for a family vacation. Again, I advise this guardedly as the street outside is party central. Yes, the alley to the apartment buffers much of craziness, but for our stay, drunkards spilled-over into the alley to much load effect. The result in the morning was not pretty. The apartment is lovely, a great oasis from the hordes. It could have used an alarm clock (stolen?) and a mat for the shower floor (watch it!). Finally there is something to be said for booking a hotel on the internet and being done with it. With this property it was necessary for a constant flow of communication. First, to find availability and secure a reservation. Second, because Valerie does not take credit cards, sending her 50% of the funds beforehand. (I followed her instructions and was subsequently hosed by the banks.) Third, to get directions. (Note, a car is useless here.) Good news, you are steps from Gare Centrale. Bad news, it is all cobblestone and in the medieval part where streets change name every block. Use the Mozart Hotel as a signpost. (BTW, understand that the main station in and out of Brussels is actually Gare Midi. Don't get confused and find yourself on the slow train to Bruges and Amsterdam because you tried too hard to tie-in Gare Centrale.) Fourth, because there is no 'office' you need to coordinate how and when to meet in order to pick-up your key.
Again, these are tabulated here, just so you will not be surprised. If you have even the smallest sense of adventure, you will love it here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at La Maison de la Poupee in February 2014 and I have to say that it was the best holiday apartment we have ever stayed in. And we have stayed in many, in various European cities. The way that the apartments have been renovated shows excellent craftsmanship and many details have clearly been very well thought out both style wise and with practicality in mind. Everything is spotless, truly, from kitchen items to surfaces. We were not left missing any equipment and e.g. the wifi worked very well and without interruptions. To us the beds felt comfortable (regular bed and sofabed). The kitchen is big enough to cook in, and we made a few dinners ourselves. And one detail that made us especially happy was the espresso type machine equipped with coffee pouches, sugar and chocolates. So if you arrive late and you want to have coffee first thing in the morning, you don't have to deal with finding the grocery store first. It is details like this that make the place the best one we have ever been to.

The location is also really good as it is in the middle of Brussels, near the Grand Place. You have easy access to the Central Railway Station (maybe 4-5 min walk) and the metro. A few small grocery stores are in the area and one proper one near Pizza Hut on a kind of main street. Also worth visiting nearby within walking distance is the Sablon area with lovely interior shops and cafe's. If you like vintage clothes there is a quaint little shop just on the next block, towards Sablon. For kids there is the playground in the nearby big park. Our six year old was fascinated by the beautiful town hall tower visible from our window (kings palace in his view ;)

And Valerie, everyone has said in the reviews that she is the best host, and that is really true. She was very helpful both before and during the stay, friendly, gave clear instructions. She clearly has her heart in the providing of the holiday experience and that shows!

Are there any downsides, maybe for some the stairs can be challenging or if you are a light sleeper you might hear a bit of faint music, but it did not bother us and we come from a place where night time is totally silent. I think the so called downsides are really rather non existent and we can recommend the apartment to any of our friends with no hesitation. I think we will be back in Brussels for another holiday and I will not look elsewhere for an apartment, that is for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THfromFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited Brussels and booked this apartment. We could not have made a better choice. From the minute we met Valerie who could not do enough and saw the charm of the apartment we knew this was a special place. The location is right next to Grand Place but there is absolutely no noise at all.
We both travel a lot and would have no hesitation in revisiting Brussels or staying in this apartment. 10/10.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottFGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTown : South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Comfortable and very accessible accommodation in the Centre of Brussels , close to the Gare Central (5-8min) and Grand Place (also 5min) yet once in the apartment it feels like you are away from the tourist crowds.
We had the Loft apartment (and our son & girlfriend the one below) - the apartments are well appointed and (relatively) quiet (for a city) - everything worked 100% with the owner ,Valerie she is a lovely person to deal with - displaying utmost intergrity and very accommodating - she really cares for her Clients interests without being overbearing.
The access is a bit of a non descript passage between a couple of greek restauarnts and the Hotel Mozart - it would be good if the neighbours contributed in keeping the passage clean and well lit (Valerie battles to get support from her fellow property owners) - I hope she succeeds, notwithstanding this , once in the building things are transformed .

We stayed 4 nights and really enjoyed Brussels and Valeries hospitality, we certainly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveturquoisewater
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This has got to be the best place to stay around Grand Place. Valerie is the nicest, most welcoming hostess. The location is convenient from the Central train station, even lugging bags. It's also super convenient to the main tourist sites around Grand Place. Tasty liege waffles aren't far either! The two room apartment is spacious, clean and modern. I love how the inside feels modern but the outside is historical and has so much character. This was our favorite place we stayed out of our 14 day vacation. The bed and pillows are very comfortable, the location is close to everything, but quiet for sleeping, and the kitchen amenities are perfect for morning coffee or a snack. We didn't cook, but the equipment is all there if you want to. I wish we live closer and could visit this place more often. Loved the process of getting the key, the little hidden doorways, etc. That type of setup doesn't exist in the US and it is fun to experience. I only hope we visit again someday. Otherwise, anyone who is looking for a great place to stay should stay here! Thanks again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveturquoisewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.5 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#75 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Grand Place
Catalonia Grand Place
#61 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison de la Poupee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de la Poupee

Property: La Maison de la Poupee
Address: Impasse de la Poupee, 4, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Brussels
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing