We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smelly chinese friture, friendly but inflexible staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Maison Du Dragon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maison Du Dragon
Ranked #183 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smelly chinese friture, friendly but inflexible staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

Most unbearable is the heavy fatty chinese friture smell!!
The smell is all over the building incl. the rooms, other than that the hotel is based accross a sex shop, parking is not nearby the lobby looks fine, the rooms are very old, bed is more of a hammock and the cleanliness is so, so; marks in the toilet, greasy shower curtain, no toilet paper, brown spots, from previous leakages on the ceiling, carpet...
(I really like chinese food but being in such a smell for the whole night distroyed my appetite)
- Tip: don't book in advance there is space enough but leaving early they try to make you pay for the full period booked, with the argument they could have accepted other guests; what other guests I've not noticed a single other guest!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilfried17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    18
    14
    7
    23
See reviews for
2
2
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

a little high de prices but it's near Metro station, good location and nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

I stayed here with my mates and shared a triple room at this hotel and absolutely enjoyed the stay. The hotel's location is ideal. It's within a 10 minute walking distance from Gare du Nord, which is easily accessible from the airport or the Eurostar. You are also within reach of Brussel's main shopping district, Chinatown and Grand Place.

The hotel has been renovated recently and is in very good condition. It has the Chinese motif throughout the hotel. You get this sense when you walk in to the large lobby area, the breakfast room area, the bar and restaurant. Very well maintained throughout and clean.

The rooms themselves are quite spacious. Very spacious by European standards. The bathroom is equally large. The rooms are well insulated from the noise on the main street. So a good night's rest is easily achieved. The room has plenty of channels available in many languages. Every basic necessity is provided.

The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable about Brussels. They speak several languages as well. You will find checking in and checking out a breeze.

The food served at this hotel is great. The breakfast is your standard European continental breakfast, with some congee and noodles as well. The food is good enough to get your day started. The restaurant at the front of the hotel is quite good. The selection available is a bit overwhelming, but once you decide then you won't be disappointed.

This hotel deserves its 4 stars. This is definitely worth a look as your next hotel for Brussels.

  • Liked — Chinese decor throughout the hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind. It was fine.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

When you walk in you smell the mix of old chinese food and smoke combined. It is expecially bad in the upstairs hallways and rooms above the restaraunt. Also at the front desk there was only one person who knew english, and couldn't be found most of the time. I guest I was with had a problem and the front desk was very nasty with them about solving the problem, cause this guest to leave the hotel. Also rooms and decorating kind of old, although thought it was neat to have chinese style lobby. Walls are paper thin and you can hear every person walk by your room all night long. Also all TV shows were for chinese people. Hotel is also sorrounded by many adult video shops and shows. For the price you can do much much better any where in the area. Advise to stay away from this hotel unless last one left.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jonnyt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2007

Neighbours can see you whilst you are having a bath since the curtains in the bathroom did not cover the window. I had to wash myself in the dark without switching on the lights!
The curtains in the bedroom where also falling off and thefore I could not chnage my clothes neither in the bathroom nor in the bedroom as it showed from the outside.
There were other chinese residents in the hotel and they were allowed to smoke everywhere and no one stopped them. My room like a smoking area especially at night.
I only stayed there for 2 nights for business but I was not expecting these things as the price per night was quite high compared to other hotels I stayed in the same area this year!

  • Liked — THe hotel is oriental so it's different from the others
  • Disliked — Front office need to be more English speakers
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Filomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa,Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2006

First off all, we would like to thank the kind ladies from the reception desk at the Pand Hotel for recommending Maison du Dragon.
Our stay at the Maison du Dragon was excellent. The place itself was romantic with a bit of history with it. The rooms that we saw and was offered to us at that point - the Blue Room and the Red Room - have its own personality. The finishing touches, and the details of the rooms were incredible. (You just have to be there to appreciate it)
Lasty, Emmanuel treated us so well. His hospitality made our stay extra special. We also had the pleasure of meeting his mother and sister (also hotel operators in Brugges). They were all very nice.

Our stay there included a breakfast. Did we mention that breakfast there was also an experience?

We highly recommend this place - A+++

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank chicco12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2005

This is a Chinese run hotel, and therefore has a Chinese restaurant. I didn't eat in it though. Breakfast was a normal contiental buffet style affair, however with some Chinese dishes available, which was a nice twist.

The staff were polite and helpfull.

The room was large, with a large en-suite (with hairdryer), and multi channel tv (including BBC1 & BBC2 (BBC2 not working on mine though)). Decor was slightly on the faded side, but not worryingly so. Overall, could be better, but perfectly acceptable. Strangely my room had a kettle with 2 cups, but no tea or coffe, so that was a bit pointless. Maybe they'd forgotten?

Around the hotel are several sex shops and similiar establishments, so maybe not ideal for those with children.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
Thon Hotel Brussels City Centre
#3 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Dome Hotel
Le Dome Hotel
#171 of 199 in Brussels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Progress Hotel
Progress Hotel
#5 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels City
Hilton Brussels City
#4 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#57 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Siru
Hotel Siru
#7 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Du Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Du Dragon

Property: Maison Du Dragon
Address: Bd. Adolphe Maxlaan 146-160 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maison Du Dragon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison Du Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Dragon Hotel Brussels
Maison Du Dragon Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing