We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Vieille Lanterne
Ranked #49 of 208 Brussels B&B and Inns
Argentina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

I´ve stayed at the hotel for only one night, for I was moving to another city the following day. It is a very small family hotel, which has less than 10 rooms. It has no elevator, only an 80 cm wide staircases, so if you are taking a big suitcase with you or have a bone fracture, discard it with no doubt at all. It is a couple of blocks away from the Grand-Place and places of interest. However, it is also near the central train station, which is not a very safe place if you are travelling on your own. Getting to the hotel is rather complicated because it is not worth taking a taxi and walking in that direction you can get lost. In fact, many people have never heard of the street before! The only reference you can give to them is the Manekken Pis statue location. It is expensive for it is not much what if offers. The landlady was rude, her daughter very helpful. Consider another options.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica_faga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    25
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
24
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chambly, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Spent 2 nights here, sept 9th and 10th and it was perfect for us! we had no intention of staying in while in Brussels so the fact that the rooms are smaller than here in Canada didn't bother us a bit. Breakfast was filling, fresh pastries, jams, juice and good coffee. Served at your door! bathroom was clean and more spacious then others we've encountered. Plenty of hot water. We were close to many things, across from Manneken Pis and 5 minutes from La Grand Place. and 20 minutes walk from the Central Station. Definately good value for your money.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ask 1st floor. other than that enjoy your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights(wish we could have stayed more) it was a 20minute walk from train station to here and was easy to find, The staff were great and helpful. Location very close to everything on foot, Staircase is narrow and a little steep but was ok. The room was big with a big Either double or small king size bed not sure what it was. Tv had english speaking channels, Breakfast was served to your room anytime after 8:30 we got it at 8:30 and the pastries were fresh straight from the bakery still warm. also a selection of jams/spreads, Juice, Coffe or tea.
Everything was clean. Would recommend had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

The room was a good size but was at the top of 3 flights of narrow stair so hard to get your suitcases up, so if you have mobility issues ask for a room in advance on the 1st floor. The breakfast (served in the room) was average. Good location, walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevenswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

This place is reviewed as good value for money, and it is. Cleanliness in the bathroom was great, bedroom was just ok (curtains and bedspread could have used a wash). Other reviewers have mentioned noise, but I didn't find it a problem on the 3rd floor with the windows closed. The space is adequate and my room was reasonably laid out with a good-sized closet, a desk and a couple of chairs and admittedly, a slightly saggy bed. I did enjoy looking out the hotel window to see the crowds and crowds of tourists taking pictures of the Manneken Pis. Stairs are indeed very steep and winding. A good choice for solo travel or energetic types who don't spend much time in and are looking for basic accommodation. Breakfast was not included in my web booking, but was easy to find nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_hills_are_alive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

The room was big but very basic. Looks like a mom-and-pop establishment and the staff were a little difficult to get hold of when trying to check in, and out, but once found they were very helpful!
The hotel is in the perfect location though, overlooking the Mannekin Pis and subsequently all the tourists having their photos taken. It provided a lot of entertainment! The greatest site-seeing in Brussels is also walking distance from here. It's definitely not the most luxurious hotel but if this is not something you're hung up about the location is perfect!

Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TheRoomCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2008

Of all the places we went in Netherlands, Belgium, and Luxembourg, this place was the one we enjoyed the least. It was acceptable but no more. The writeups we saw in the guidebooks led us to believe that it was more special than it was. Okay value for the money but a real let down for a honeymoon. We didn't enjoy Brussels very much partly because of the hotel.

  • Liked — Value for money, closeness to waffle standsaking photos of the mannequin pis, danger in taking luggage up steep winding stairs
  • Disliked — swarmng hordes of tourists taking photos of the mannequin pis, danger in taking luggage up steep winding stairs
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LiveLaughLove_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
La Legende Hotel
La Legende Hotel
#101 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#73 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Taptoe
Bed and Breakfast Taptoe
#9 of 208 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Carmelites Guesthouse
Carmelites Guesthouse
#12 of 208 in Brussels
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Epicentre
L'Epicentre
#83 of 208 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Petite Eclipse
La Petite Eclipse
#80 of 208 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vieille Lanterne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vieille Lanterne

Property: La Vieille Lanterne
Address: 29 rue des Grands Carmes, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — La Vieille Lanterne 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 2009, double glazing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Vieille Lanterne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing