We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible breakfast, small rooms”
Review of Le Dixseptieme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Dixseptieme
Ranked #79 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

I just paid 200 euros for a very small junior suite, with only CNN and BBC in the telly. The mini bar was really mini, but the breakfast was the most dissapointing: even before 9, the eggs look tired, the bread was dry and the selection quite small. This hotel is not worth the price, even if the location is super.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank sidset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Le Dixseptieme
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

An ideal location, just 5 minutes from both the Grand Place and Central station, itself accessible by train from Bruxelles Midi every 3 minutes. The building is elegant and stylish and our room was large, comfortable and well appointed. We had a suite, although we only paid 110 euros a night through Trip Advisor/booking.com. Reception staff could not have been more welcoming. We did not partake of breakfast at 20 euros, but there are many good cafes closeby. Would definitely stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomtomsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The hotel is a very nice 4-star hotel, high quality from staff, room service to facility. We stayed at the new wing of the building, facing the courtyard, very quiet. The hotel itself is quite close to the central station and the grand palace. Our room is 'junior suite' which has another sitting room. The sitting room is so cosy with its sofa and audio system. We enjoyed it so much.

We'd like to give it a 4.5-star which can't be set in the rating. So we set it as 5-star.

Facility (5) :
The heater was working well which we had worried since there are complaints on the forum. There is no tea facility, but we get a full set of tea makers once asked.

Room Service (5) :
Very good. Sometime we left a note to ask refilling the sugar. They just did what we asked.

Quietness (4):
The first several nights were quite good. But when closing to the Xmas, it's obvious there were more guests moving in. We found the door was not quite sound-proof. We can hear clearly the lift, door opening and closing, footsteps in the corridor, etc. It's a little bit annoying specifically in the morning.

Sleep Quality (4):
The bed is actually quite good. We slept very well in the first several days, but in the last 2 or 3 days, got waken up early sometime when more guests moved in.

Shower Quality (5):
Very nice. The bathroom is not quite big so is kept very warm. The shower head is decent. It's one of our highlights at Brussels, after a comfortable shower, then enjoy a tea time in the cosy sofa at the sitting room.

Like :
Cosy time in the sitting room; bathroom; elegant hotel lounge room.

Dislike:
The dirty keyboard at the PC room; the sound-penetrating-easily door; dust on the speakers at the sitting room

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YY Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Le Dixseptieme on two separate occasions in November, The hotel is very elegant; and the common area most pleasant. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, and the bathrooms commodious. It is centrally located, very close to the Grand Place and to the central railway station. The staff are courteous and pleasant, We found the breakfast too highly priced; so chose to have our morning coffee elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

It is only 5 mins away from the central station. The reasons of we determined to stay this hotel is location since we wanted to take train to visit other cities as well. The hotel has great decor and warm atmosphere. Our room has lovely wooden floor and free wifi connection in the room. Also, there are plenty of electric power source in the room. So, if you have many mobile items, it wont be a problem. The staff were really friendly and gave us great advise where to eat and we enjoyed the suggested restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoppingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in December as an Anniversary trip and to visit the Christmas markets. Arriving by Eurostar, we walked from the Gare du Midi which is only about 25 minutes once you work out the directions. Later found that you can go for free to the Gare Central, which is right next to the hotel, on the train. The hotel is located in a quiet side street by a church and you would hardly know that you were in the centre of a capital city. Check in was quick and efficient and the receptionist showed us to our room which was in the new part of the hotel across a small courtyard. Our room was a junior suite which was large and comfortable with a separate seating area. This is not a chain hotel so don't expect everything to be the same as each room has its own character, it is also fairly old so floors creak but not enough to be a problem. The bar was closed for refurbishment so we didn't use that but the breakfast the next morning was good quality continental style with different bread, croissants, meat and cheese etc with plenty of choice. It is located in a cosy room just off reception which was tastefully decorated for Christmas.
The huge plus for this hotel is its location. On leaving the hotel turning left takes you to a small square. passing good class shops (EXK does very nice food for lunch). There were a few Christmas stall there but if you continue for no more than 50 yards a left turn takes you straight into Grand Place, the medieval heart of the city, which is lit up at night for Christmas. The nearby Bourse has a small Christmas market and 10 minutes walk takes you to St Catherines where the main market (240+ stalls) is located. To explore further, a right turn from the hotel entrance takes you to the Gare Central where you can go the the Metro station and buy various passes giving use of the metro, tram and bus systems. once you work out where these run you can get anywhere quickly and efficiently.
On our last day we had a late afternoon Eurostar so the hotel were happy for us to leave our bags with them for us to collect later.

All in all a great stay in a great hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new part are very quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAC157_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at Le Dixseptieme for just one night in November 2013 and wish our stay had been longer. After arriving early following an overnight flight from the U.S. We expected to have to wait all day to check in. We were happily surprised that they were able to check us into our room mid-morning. Our room, the Rubens in the old part of the hotel, was billed as a junior suite but was substantially larger than many apartments I've lived in in NY and DC. It was beautifully appointed, had a great soaking tub, and was - most importantly - quiet. We got good restaurant recommendations from the staff, who while rather reserved by American standards were happy to assist when asked, and found the location extremely convenient to center city sights. We will stay there again when we find ourselves in Brussels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#8 of 198 in Brussels
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#19 of 198 in Brussels
2,208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#50 of 198 in Brussels
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Dixseptieme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dixseptieme

Address: Rue de la Madeleine 25, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brussels
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#46 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £103 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Dixseptieme 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Dixseptieme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dixseptieme Brussels
Le Dixseptieme Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing