We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal”
Review of Le Dixseptieme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Dixseptieme
Ranked #45 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We stayed in the Courtens suite in the antique section of the hotel. It was absolutely ideal for our family (two adults and three children). The two floor suite was beautiful, spacious, clean and full of character. The weekend summer rates cannot be beat and the location is perfect for touring Brussels on foot. We highly recommend this stunning small hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadelineSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2009

We recently stayed at Le Dixseptieme in a junior suite and have only good things to say about our stay. The hotel is calm, elegant, comfortable and convenient to many tourist and business sights. It is only two minutes away from both Midi Station and the Grand Place. Our suite was spacious and very well appointed, the bed very comfortable. The overall sense that one gets upon entering the hotel is of serenity and class. Management and staff are to complimented on maintaining a top notch property. We would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rightboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I stayed here with 2 friends on a girl's 'get away from husbands and kids' weekend. The location was perfect - a short walk from shops, sights and the fabulous Muusee des Beaux Arts. Our suite (van Eyck) was ample for 3 girls - a twin bedroom and a very comfy sofa bed in the huge dining/sitting area.

The downstairs lounge was a tranquil place for an afternoon cup of tea and to curl up with a book for an hour between sightseeing and going out to dinner. Breakfasts were faultless - a great hot/cold buffet, plus excellent coffee and fresh juice.

The staff were superb - polite, friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Other reviews have not been as favourable on this front, but we had a faultless experience.

My only gripe would be it would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Despite that I cannot wait to return - ideal for a city break or romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Ideal location in the centre of Brussels but once through the door all is peace and quiet. Our room was clean, comfortable and - once we had worked out how to turn off the radiator - perfect. The combination of the 17thC elegance and decor with the modern bedrooms with all facilities was just what we needed on our 3 night break. I have never eaten breakfast in such a stunning room. Service at reception was good and the waitresses serving breakfast were charming. We got a good deal as we booked online, however we were not tempted to drink anything from the fridge as the prices were very high. Great for a short break in a central location.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

This is a smallish hotel well located near the train station in Brussels. Each room has a name not a number and each offers a different layout (ours had a sunken living room). The included breakfast was a good one.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

This Hotel is another fine example how a good product (i.e. quite a nice hotel with unique ambience and great location) can be ruined by poor staff service and attitude and poor service offered.
Examples:
---Front-desk service is rude and unfriendly ("if you wish a newspaper, you can walk to the nearby train station kiosk")
---no assistance offered for luggage handling
---wireless and LAN cable internet not working in room
---electronic key to be replaced because of nun-functioning.
I was looking forward to returning to this hotel where I had stayed some time ago, but found it to be deteriorated. Also the room (jr suite) was below-par.
Another problem with this hotel is the fact that you can not park your car there while you check-in. Very cumbersome, since you have to carry your luggage inside by yourself since no doorman.
That was definetly my last visit to this unfriendly place where you don't feel welcome. Next time, I'll be back at the Amigo Hotel nearby. Although a little more expensive, where you get great service, car parking, valet, newspapers, working internet and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank DrWJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

We booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. As others have said, the location is perfect (we were there for tourism only), the room we had in the old wing was just fine, and the cost was reasonable. Our experience was consistent with other reviews with one exception – the staff.

We travel a lot, but have never run into a front desk person with less enthusiasm than the guy who greeted us on our arrival. We don’t expect welcome banners and fireworks, but we also don’t expect our check-in to seem to be an imposition. He muttered directions to the elevator and our room, which can be confusing in these older buildings, and a less-than-half-hearted offer for help with our bags, which we ended up lugging up the stairs ourselves. That all would have been sufferable under normal circumstances and maybe not even have warranted a comment.

But the most egregious behavior came from his nighttime replacement. We had a very early train departure and when I asked if I could settle our account the evening before, was told that the bill would not be ready until 2 am and not to come down then. I returned a bit after 6 am. There was no one at the desk, and I suspect he was sleeping somewhere when I buzzed. He was absolutely surely, and even raised his voice to me, because I could not remember the name of the Belgium artist after whom our room was named, although he also had an alphabetical list of guests that he reluctantly consulted. I was absolutely stunned. I could imagine him saying, “Oh, that’s ok, we have a list of room names here.” But no, he was just nasty and yelled at me.

And, finally, when we came down with our luggage around 6:30 am to leave, the iron gate at the front door of the building was padlocked! We had to rouse the gentleman again to let us out. The padlocked entrance is a disaster waiting to happen.

Anyway, it was a pretty bizarre staff experience overall. Someone ought to remind the staff that making people feel welcome and appreciated is a good thing in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Hamilton6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#13 of 199 in Brussels
387 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manos Premier Hotel
Manos Premier Hotel
#10 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#54 of 199 in Brussels
2,709 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#19 of 199 in Brussels
2,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Dixseptieme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dixseptieme

Address: Rue de la Madeleine 25, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Brussels
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#32 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £100 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Dixseptieme 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Dixseptieme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dixseptieme Brussels
Le Dixseptieme Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing