We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living on the railway line.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Autrichienne
Ranked #198 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 20 September 2008

The hotel is located near Gard du Midi(train station), on Rue de Stalingrad. Fore me it was ideal to live close to the railway station, but that does not mean that I want to live ON the railway lines. As you can see on the photo, the railway lines are right under my window. The staff on the the hotel was not very polite, and when I came up to my room, the maid was sitting there reading a magazine. Not a very good first impression. The room was not so bad, but you don't get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EivindO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2007

They speak English but there is nothing to recommend this rather dirty hotel. Right next to the train tracks. Never acknowledged the reservation we booked through Venere website and we checked in only by "luck" you might say. Spend a few Euro extra and get a nice hotel like the Agenda Midi nearby at 114euro a night, truly a good hotel. Auberge not recommended for anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank lizzie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We booked this hotel through a third party website. After seeing the photos, this hotel looked like a simple, clean business hotel. Boy, could this have been further from the truth!

We called ahead to confirm a late arrival, which we were told was not a problem and they confimed our reservation at that time. When we arrived late that night, the desk clerk could not find a record of our reservation and the only reason we got our room was that we had printed off our confirmation, which guaranteed our room and the price. We were supposed to stay for 2 nights and after seeing just the lobby and experiencing the confused, discourteous demeanour of the desk clerk, we refused to pay for more than one night. We would have gone somewhere else that night but it was late, we were tired and we would not have found another place to stay.

Upon entering the room, before we even had a chance to turn the lights on, we were greeted by the unpleasant serenade of four tracks of trains rolling through to Gare du Midi (see picture). Add to that the smokey hall smell, stained carpets (stains were dark and plentiful - blood?), mildewed bathroom and you get an extremely unpleasant experience. Need we say that the beds were uncomfortable? The only good thing about our room is that the sheets were clean (but remember that the sheets are generally supposed to be clean in a hotel!)

We had a hard time falling asleep so we turned the tv on only to find a oozy mark across the screen.

The breakfast was respectable although we did not get to fully appreciate it as once we had informed the desk clerk that we would not be staying a second night, we were given the bum's rush.

In closing, if you do eventually get to sleep at this hotel, you are so close to the train tracks that you are woken up every fifteen minutes only to find that you are still within the nightmare that is l'Auberge Autrichienne.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Butters_and_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2007

This place is a total dive! The carpets are filthy, the furniture falling apart, the bed completely sagging and lumpy, the bedspread has a cigarette burn on it, the sheets are stained with blood--basically, you get the idea. This is the epitomy of a flea bag hotel.
Close to Gar du Midi, but not worth the 55 Euro/night. I will never stay here again. Ever!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank rdstephe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2007

This hotel is a disgrace. It was dirty, one of our rooms was double booked and it is slap bang next to a major railway line ( it shook as the trains went by ). Some of the rooms don't even have their own toilets or showers. The general area is not safe - we were told to avoid all side roads! We booked out after the first night and went somewhere habitable.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank jethroxUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2007

My husband and I booked rooms with friends for one night during the weekend - the carpets were badly stained/worn, mildew all over the bathroom - expecially on the ceiling, rooms and the hall smelled like cigarette smoke. The hotel sit next to the rail tracks, so our friends awoke to the sound of the train going by their room. The hotel isn't in the greatest parts of town either...It's not a good sign when you have to get buzzed into the lobby from the road. On a good note, the staff were very nice....that's about the only nice thing I can say about the place.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank AK_Happy_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2006

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone unless all the hotels in the city are all booked out. Or perhaps you tend towards dirty rooms with dim lights. We booked for two nights, but stayed for only 1 night. There was another guest who insisted on his money back after checking in. And another couple who stayed at their friends' after seeing the room. The hotel professes to offer a double bed with bathroom and toilet attached. But we got a single-sized bed, and a miniscule swiss shower strangely placed in the corner of the room. The toilet is shared, the TV offers a few channels in static, so if you dig lapsing into epileptic fits, this should be for you. The door doesn't work, so be prepared to get the kitchen assistent and receptionist to fiddle with it till it unlocks. And oh, wake up to bird chirpings drowned in a symphony of car horns, police sirens and traffic cacophony.

Stayed: September 2006
6  Thank kimwillrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Nekotel Concept Art Hotel
Nekotel Concept Art Hotel
#160 of 199 in Brussels
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Midi-Zuid
Hotel Midi-Zuid
#19 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stalingrad
Hotel Stalingrad
#142 of 199 in Brussels
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Euro Capital
Euro Capital
#16 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
214 reviews
1.9 mi away
hotel prince de liege
hotel prince de liege
#5 of 6 in Anderlecht
8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Van Belle Hotel
Van Belle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Anderlecht
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Autrichienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Autrichienne

Address: Avenue de Stalingrad 122, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £52 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge Autrichienne 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Auberge Autrichienne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Autrichienne Brussels
Auberge Autrichienne Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing