We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very sleek but not ideal for light sleepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel - Brussels
Ranked #17 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Hotel has a stunning decor and the room was exceptional, not to mention the view. Staff were also very friendly. As a light sleeper and frequent traveller, I was surprised at how much noise there was in the corridor. The banging of neighbours' doors woke me up at 5.30 and it sounded like the neighbour was showering IN my room.I was on the 23rd floor, not sure if this is the case for all other floors.
Given all the other qualities, I will try it one more time and hope that I was just unlucky.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBrusselsManager, DotCom Manager at The Hotel - Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Kay,

I'm a light sleeper myself as well so I understand how important silence is for a good night sleep. My apologies that you were bothered due to noise. We recently received similar remarks for the mentioned floor, and took action to solve this.

Please don't hesitate to get in touch with me via kelly.wouters@thehotel.be for your next stay, so I can make it a memorable one.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Wouters
DotCom Manager
The Hotel. Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,729)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel - Brussels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,615 - 2,621 of 4,729 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Well renovated, well located hotel, room was quiet BUT I find it pathtic to have to pay the parking (24 Eur for 4 hours) with a 270 Eur non standard room and a complimentary bar. Was the first time and will be the last time I book this hotel. There are other ones offering more value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBrusselsManager, DotCom Manager at The Hotel - Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Philippe,

To be honest I'm very disappointed to read that you think that The Hotel is well renovated, offers quiet rooms and is well located but still rate us with a 1 star because of the price of the parking. Especially since we are very transparent and clearly communicate the price of the parking on our website (> facilities > parking), as well as at the entrance of the parking itself. I notice you mention you paid € 24 for 4 hours parking. This must be a mistake since the price is € 19 for 4 hours, and € 24 for 6 hours. I will personally get in touch with you to look into this.

To clarify for future guests: room rates vary depending on the day of the week and the hotel's occupancy levels. Parking is never included in a room rate, except for special 'packages' like The Urban Spa Package. For every room type guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi, a complimentary minibar, and access to The Urban Spa & Fitness. The non standard room categories Deluxe Panorama (Corner) Room, Panorama Suite and Splendour Suite offer some extra advantages on top of that: breakfast is included in the rate, as well as access to the Panorama Lounge for complimentary drinks & snacks with a touch of sky-high glamour.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Wouters
DotCom Manager
The Hotel. Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have just return from a business trip in Brussels and I stayed in the Hotel for a first time. The Hotel is very elegant including both the lobby, bar and the rooms. In the rooms the beds are very comfortable with quality bed linen and in the bathroom you will also find good quality towels (after an excellent shower). The only thing which might be improved are missing vegetables in the breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Henrich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBrusselsManager, DotCom Manager at The Hotel - Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Henrich K,

I'm delighed to read that you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts with other travelers.

I truly hope you will stay with us again during your next business trip in Brussels!

Warm Regards,

Kelly Wouters
DotCom Manager
The Hotel. Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed at The Hotel a few weeks ago for a conference held at the hotel. This is a very nice, hotel particularly for the business traveler. The location is relatively convenient to the main historical sites and old part of the city and there are metro stops nearby. Boulevard Waterloo is a busy main thoroughfare through the southern part of the city and has many of the high end shops. If you want a more quaint, quiet locale this is not the place for you. But if you walk out the backside of the hotel there is a beautiful park and beyond that you can start walking downhill to the Grand Place (about 20 minutes).

I had a room on the 18th floor and the view is spectacular and really makes the hotel what it is (besides the style). I was upgraded upon check-in as my room had been given away and I was so glad for this as the suite was spacious, comfortable and made for a great place to relax and take in the city. The bathroom was great and also very spacious. For me personally the modern styling is great especially in a city like Brussels, it just fits.

The hotel conference areas were fantastic, a lot of windows made for meeting rooms you were not trying to escape from. The service in the conference areas was subtle but very attentive to detail. I was not the conference organizer, but if you are planning something in Brussels I would certainly consider The Hotel.

I do think the breakfast buffet was fine and fulfilled its purpose, could have been better to match the rest of the hotel (or cheaper).

I would recommend this hotel to the business traveler. It would be fine for a vacation if cost is not so much a consideration and you don't mind a sizable hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBrusselsManager, DotCom Manager at The Hotel - Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Jon,

Thank you so much for the kind recommendation. I'm delighted to read that you really enjoyed our conference areas, and I hope you had fruitful meetings there!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Wouters
DotCom Manager
The Hotel. Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The room was lovely; both bedroom and bathroom were well laid out. Luckily for the hotel, I feel the quality of the room is the most important consideration in the rating. The front desk service was absolutely terrible. When I arrived around 11:30 one day, there was exactly one person working at the front desk, and a very large group trying to check in. When I finally got to the front of the line, the receptionist left the front desk to go talk to someone who appeared to be a vendor from outside of the hotel. Absolutely atrocious service. Checking out was no better; the divided front desk (into two groups of two computers, although even during a busy check out time only two people were working) means that you don't actually get served in the order you get there; it depends on which line you end up in. The lobby is also very dark. Breakfast was okay; only one machine for coffee makes it very difficult in the morning when the restaurant is crowded. I gave a "Very good" rating because the room itself was lovely and comfortable with a great view of the city. However, the hotel has a lot of work to do to bring its staff up to the level of the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moroccanexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBrusselsManager, DotCom Manager at The Hotel - Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Moroccanexpat

Thank you very much for providing feedback following your recent stay at The Hotel. I am glad to read you enjoyed the comfort of our modern rooms, but of course I am disappointed that we were not able to provide you a smooth check-in and check-out. We've noticed similar reviews recently and we will definitely be working on this.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Wouters
DotCom Manager
The Hotel. Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I have just stayed at the Hotel once again, this time together with my wife, and enjoyed it once again. The rooms are very comfortable with lots of daylight, the bed and the duvets make you sleep like a baby and the shower reminds you of a waterfall in the Southamerican jungle....

But I still miss being able to open the windows in order to be able to listen to the city and breathe some fresh air. And you might consider equipping some of the rooms with a proper desk. It's very difficult to find a comfortable working position in the sofa with your laptop on the pivoting table.

Staying with you next week as well and already looking forward to it.... :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Poul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBrusselsManager, DotCom Manager at The Hotel - Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Poul,

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your second visit as much as your first!
Thanks for the comments, I will definitely share them with our management.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel next week!

Warm Regards,

Kelly Wouters
DotCom Manager
The Hotel. Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

It's a well renovated hotel next to the Brussels fashion area. Large, well equipped and clean room with all the goodies (Nespresso coffe machine, I-Pod dock, etc.) you might need for a quiet and confortable stay.

Don't miss it, if you can afford it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Francesco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBrusselsManager, DotCom Manager at The Hotel - Brussels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Francesco,

Thank you so much for your kind recommendation. I appreciate this very much, and hope we may welcome you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Kelly Wouters
DotCom Manager
The Hotel. Brussels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.7 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#2 of 198 in Brussels
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,025 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#18 of 198 in Brussels
2,207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel - Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel - Brussels

Address: Boulevard de Waterloo 38, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £90 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel - Brussels 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is changing Brussels. One of the most exclusive and fashionable addresses in Brussels. A superb combination of city views and excellent accessibility. The Hotel changes the way you stay in Brussels. Enjoy relaxed luxury and sophisticated services on every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel - Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing