We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best museum in Bruxelles by far”

Musee du Cinquantenaire
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.38*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #55 of 396 things to do in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
362 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“The best museum in Bruxelles by far”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have visited this place several times, everytime I go I discovered something new. The place is huge but definitively needs restoration. Here you will find amazing pieces such as big statue from the Easter Island, a shrunken head, an amazing collection of native american art, an outstanding collection of art from South east Asia (Thailand, Laos, Vietnam), Greek, Roman Egiptian, Sumerian, Persian Art. Chinese, Nepalese and Indian Art. To find something like this you need to go to Paris (Louvre) or the British Museum in London. Problems: the museum is outdated, there are parts that remain in the seventies, it is not English-friendly. But you know a little bit of history, you definitively would spend at least 4 hours amazed by these huge collection.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Beto79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    91
    25
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The descriptions are in Dutch and French (and why wouldn't they be seeing as these are the languages spoken there!) but this did not mar our visit to this wonderful museum. It was very good price to get in and the people on the desk are charming.
There is so much to see that we did not get to see everything. And it is so quiet that it is a pleasure to walk around and get a chance to get close to things. Such beautiful things.
We initially went because our daughter is a massive Tintin fan and we wanted to see the original of the Broken Ear statute. Which we did.
And then the rest of the museum invited us to share its glories. So we did.
And then we had the best cup of coffee in the cafe.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Skilovingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not worth €5”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Having some of the world's most famous and beautiful museums for free in London, paying five Euros to this semi-closed, nothing exciting, more-of-a-gallery place is worthless. And the unacceptable part is, no English explanation on any of the pieces! Only French and Dutch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ydilmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
499 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“If you only speak English get the audioguide”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Amazing exhibits and very well presented but descriptions are only in French and Dutch. So with my 'O' level French from 40 year ago we weren't able to understand too much and regret not getting the audioguide. Hardly anyone there, so very quiet and a pleasure to walk round.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
203 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Underrated”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Fantastic museum. Very large. We left after 3 hours and hadn’t seen it all. The Egypt section was my highlight but there was plenty more that was memorable. It was nice seeing unusual things you don’t normally get to see too, for instance the Easter Island statue. At twice the price it would still have been good value. What wasn’t good value though was the ghastly tea in the Café at about 3 euros. Undrinkable!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ooo-boogar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee du Cinquantenaire also viewed

Etterbeek, Brussels
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Musee du Cinquantenaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing