We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“atrocious”
Review of Anderlecht

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Anderlecht
Ranked #286 of 403 things to do in Brussels
Attraction details
Beauvechain, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“atrocious”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

wow I never thought so many people could be so aggressive at once. I didn't feel safe for even one single moment!!! and I live in belgium so it's not like I'm afraid of the country

Helpful?
1 Thank Alec W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    6
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BELGIUM
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Insecurity”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Not a place where you feel comfortable... Insecurity, tags, squats. Another example of the multiculturality in Brussel.

Helpful?
2 Thank nofx134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A hostile place to visit”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Really not a place to be a visitor at all. Eevery city has it's bad neighbourhoods - this is Brussels' worst. Go there at your peril. There are parts of this neighbourhood that even the armed Belgian police avoid. I have had reason to go their twice and on both occasion it was very intimidating and on one we were spat at by one of the locals.... if you come out of there with your wallet and unscathed you have earned yourself a medal!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank GS_Gecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Big and diverse”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Rue Wayez is open on Sundays (all types of stores). Westland Shopping is open until 7:30pm with a lot of ships and a grocery store too. Erasmus museum and gardens are beautiful. Bike riding along the canal. Walks around the Pede area ponds. A working windmill. Restaurants like: La Brouette, Chez Rene, La Tribune, Chalet de la Pede, Alain Cornelis and La Tavola.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not as bad as people make it out to be”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

As an Anderlecht local, I agree that the city has it's rough spots. However, it has a few hidden gems that are worth while. The locals are friendly and I feel safer walking around in my neighbourhood Cureghem than I do when I walk around in the city centre of Brussels.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank VisitSeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anderlecht also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Saint-Gilles, Brussels
 

Been to Anderlecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing