We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great History, Great Beer.”
Review of Cantillon Brewery

Cantillon Brewery
Ranked #18 of 400 things to do in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Discover the fabulous family brewery of the Cantillon Brewery, where Lambic, Gueuze and Kriek have been made since 1900. Also home to the Brussels museum of the Gueuze. Open from Monday till Saturday, except on Wednesday, from 10:00AM. Last entrance at 04:00PM (we close at 05:00PM)
Monterey, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great History, Great Beer.”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

You should definitely make time for this during your trip to Brussels. For 6 euro, you get a tour of the brewery and an education on the brewing and history of lambic beer. The building itself is historic and the beer could be likened more to wine than a commercial/large scale brew. The fourth generation of brewers is now running Cantillon, I hope they continue the tradition! Oh, and after the tour, you get to try both the Lambic and a fruit version of the beer, lambic mixed with either strawberries, cherries, or rasberries. It's really quite a unique experience for your trip to Belgium. (TIP: We had our stroller, but with the stairs it's quite impossible to take the stroller around the brewery, so they owners watch it for us as we walked around with the baby. So my Tip is: go when it's not nap time since you'll have to carry your baby. Also not really handicap accessible, except where you buy/sample the beer, so if you want to experience Lambic and see some limited parts of the brewery, I'd say it's still worth it.)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    203
    68
    16
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paramaribo
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a Belgian treasure”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Love, love, love this place! What's not to love about the last family-run brewery in Brussels using the traditional open-air fermentation process? Gueze is definitely an acquired taste, so as our guide said, you really have to forget everything you know about beer before you try it. My favorite is the sour cherry, but the raspberry is also really good and I also happen to like the plain gueze. It is really fun to visit during Open Brewery Day held across Belgium annually and Cantillon has its own open house days when it is in full production, which is quite festive and interesting to see everyone in action. Great value too - only 7 euro for the tour and two tastes. You can also purchase more beer and sit and drink in the small table area and they have cheese for sale too, perfect match to the beer. Enjoy!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank TrulyGlobalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“True Belgian Beer”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

A nicely hidden away brewery with friendly and helpful staff. This brewery/Museum is hidden away down a side street behind an unassuming front door. A brief explanation was availble in many languages of the history and processes of the place and a guide book was handed to us, also presumably in the appropriate language, mine was in conveniently in English. We then set off around the site on our own. There were several guided tours happening in larger groups but I like to explore and was free to do so. Having finished looking around, 15-20 miinutes, we ended up where we had started for our inclusive beers. There was little choice available, but the idea was to show the wares. We had our 2 and bought several more, the staff were more than happy to open and pour one for us while packaging the others very nicely to take away. There was a wide range of merchandise availble, beers, clothing etc, but this was not pushed, just there. A very pleasant way to spend an hour or 2. for 7 Euros.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bindavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tour good but beer only so-so”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The tour was interesting but beer was only so-so. Beer is brewed from mid-Nov to mid-April, the rest of the year is for guided tours and visits. So not too much action...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yrjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Public brewing was a gas”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Intro to real Brussels beers. free tasting with the entry fee

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantillon Brewery also viewed

 
Schaerbeek, Brussels
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Cantillon Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing