We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel packs a punch”
Review of Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #192 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“hotel packs a punch”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel as I had to catch an early morning train after a late arrival the night before. So I only stayed for four hours in this dirty grubby hotel.The receptionist told me when I checked in that the breakfast was not good.When I tried to leave to catch my train the door was locked with no receptionist in site. After ten minutes I banged hard on the desk and finally the receptionist appeared. He punched me and told me not to be noisy! After some argument he let me out and told me not to come back. As if i would want to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ericandrewpandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    15
    32
    39
    86
See reviews for
11
32
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangui, Central African Republic
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The hotel location is just perfect, since it is in the city center. I would assume that in 80's this would have been one of the best hotels. You can tell by the room design that the furniture was very old, the carpets had the weird smell, and the bed was not comfortable. The price was too expensive for the service offered. Internet is provided only in the lobby (too small for 5 people) and charged 5 Euro per day. The staff was very polite, though! All in all, ok for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

When I booked a room to stay here for three nights in June 2013 I was told the hotel had 65 rooms and free wi-fi throughout. False and false. I thought that because it had so few rooms it would be well kept. We were awoken in the middle of the night by the dripping of our bathroom ceiling which resulted in a flooded bathroom. When we asked reception to change our room they didn't think it was necessary. Internet was only available on the ground floor and cost 5 Euros/day. We quickly learned this hotel was located in a bad area based on confrontations with random strangers and the various sex shops directly outside of the hotel. Needless to say we were in before dark each night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ars1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oppland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Manhattan Hotel is not the best hotel in Brussels, but it is a ok and clean hotel in the city centre.
The rooms are ok and the breakfast i simple and Continental, no more than that.

The service is polite and all in all it is a ok hotell for a small citybreak, if you don't spend to mutch time in the hotelroom...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights in group of young people visiting Brussels in April 2013.
We really appreciated location that was very near to almost everything. Room had simple
furniture but our was quite large so we had enough space. Also bathroom was quite nice.
Even though breakfast was also simple I would recommend this hotel especially to young travellers who want to stay in heart of Brussel for good money and do not care about every stupid thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed here for just one night, the location is what makes this palce really awesome. I must admit that it wasnt the cleanest or nicest looking but we partied for most of the night so not a huge priority to us. I dont think I would want to stay here if I had kids but for young adults and people wanting to experience the part and be close to the town, this is a prime establishment.
SO if you looking for a cheapish place that is central and wont be spending too much time there, this is a good deal

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

It's not that you couldn't stay at this place,it's just that you rather wouldn't wanna.

Pro:
- distance to the city center
- price

Contra:
- dirty rooms
- smells like smoke
- breakfast is disappointing
- linen were dirty and old (also were the towels)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HB626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#58 of 198 in Brussels
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#66 of 198 in Brussels
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Queen Anne
Hotel Queen Anne
#101 of 198 in Brussels
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Phenix
Hotel Phenix
#157 of 198 in Brussels
57 reviews
2.6 mi away
hotel prince de liege
hotel prince de liege
#3 of 6 in Anderlecht
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Hotel

Property: Manhattan Hotel
Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 132-140 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Manhattan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing