We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but dark and basic”
Review of Hotel du Congres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Congres
Ranked #103 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean but dark and basic”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

The room itself (single one) was very clean and staff friendly. Location was perfect for me. However, the room was very dark (only two small lights for the whole room) what made it difficult to work in the evenings. Only one socket in the room, so you can charge only one thing at once. The hotel itself is bit loud as you hear all noise from the corridor. Overall, an average hotel - there is space for improvements

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    175
    130
    27
    24
See reviews for
55
91
64
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Small single room without air-condition so you have to open the window.
Lots of mosquitos in the room making sleep impossible.
Average breakfast.
No wireless conncetion in the room.
A bit far away from La Grand Place

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISMETCENGIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Location was ideal, close to Roe de la Loi. Quite a number of restaurants close by, including the Beer Circle which not only specialises in Belgian beers, but has a menu with food cooked in Belgian beer! However the room was horrendously small. The hotel is well kept though an online photo of the receptionist shows a background glass shattered. The room was clean.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the court yard are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Location of the hotel tempted me. It is 10 minutes walk to the central train station. Receptionist welcomed me in a very friendly and a professional way. Bedroom was a small one and decoration was a bit dull. However, room was very clean. Overall it was a nice experience for me. I would stay at Hotel du Congres next time as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serdar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

First the good news - centrally located close to a number of metro stations and to the offices of the EU. Small hotel with beautifully restored reception areas. Breakfast was good quality with plenty of choice. The bedrooms however are a bit dull and could benefit from a few pictures to fill the space. But they are clean. The bathroom was very tired looking with a desperate need to have the grouting repointed. The shower was not fixed to the wall which made using the shower interesting. But on the whole the stay was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFiVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

On arrival at hotel to Congres, I was greeted by a very friendly receptionist. I was given room number 305 and explained to that the breakfast was not included in the room rate. Breakfast is €7.50 per day which I understand needs to be reserved at the point of entry.

I took the somewhat slow lift to the third floor, where I can easily found my room at the end of the corridor.

Open the door to find a very small room. However as you can see from the photos whilst the room is very small it is perfectly adequate. There is a wardrobe with 12 coathangers, two single beds pushed together with side tables and lamps, a TV with over 100 channels - many of which were in English, and a small but adequate bathroom with shower and sink. Actually, the shower is very very good.

The hotel left two small shower gel bottles two apple scented soaps and a shoeshine in the bathroom.

There are also two reasonably sized shower or bath towels, 1 hand towel and the floor mat.

Heating is by means of a radiator in the corner of the room with an adjustable thermostat. I found that putting it on the top setting made it too hot so it is perfectly adequate to heat the space. The view from a large window is of a residential area and a few trees.

The bed was perfectly comfortable and I slept well.

Annoyingly there is only one spare power socket, which requires unplugging the table lamp to charge your phone or laptop.

The room is, however, clean and whilst basic it is functional.

One huge plus point is that throughout the hotel is a free, fast Wi-Fi connection. I managed to connect both my personal and work iPhones and also my laptop and it was equally as good or better than most of the hotel Wi-Fi.

On the downside there are no tea or coffee making facilities and no minibar in the room.

Breakfast was very basic, with the only hot food being the chance of a boiled egg. Continental style breads, some cheese and ham a few yoghurts/muesli etc but no fried breakfast which was very disappointing considering I was hungry!

Location for Hotel du Congress is right next to Madou Metro station so it is very easy to connect with any part of Brussels that you wish to visit. I would say this is a reasonable cheap hotel. Nothing special, but cheap.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pds_oxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

The venue is nice and practical for the work but try to avoid a room facing the main road. You can't rest and obliged to wake up very early.
The building is beautiful in its interior and exterior design. Room big but essential. The floor should be replaced... It smells. I think you can find something better at the same price.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nadiatumaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royal Centre
0.8 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#61 of 198 in Brussels
395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Queen Anne
Hotel Queen Anne
#101 of 198 in Brussels
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western City Centre
Best Western City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
0.9 mi away
Yadoya Hotel
Yadoya Hotel
#66 of 198 in Brussels
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Congres

Property: Hotel du Congres
Address: Rue du Congres 42 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Congres 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Congres Hotel
Du Congres Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing