We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a basic hotel for a business trip”
Review of Hotel du Congres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Congres
Ranked #104 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Good location and friendly staff - easy access to restaurants, European business quarter and city centre attractions. Basic, but perfectly adequate and well insulated rooms, with good free wifi. Downside was a room phone that didn't work, a very hard pillow (but, to be fair, I didn't ask for it to be changed) and a power point that was coming away from the wall and potentially unsafe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GilesP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

I recommend Hotel du Congres both for its professional staff and Its cosy position near cirque Royal, the Royal Museums and last but not least the underground station of Madou. Confortable beds, good breakfast and decent prices. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The entrance of the hotel was OK, maybe a tiny bit tired. However, I had a bit of a shock coming into the room...it is a while that I have stayed in such a small basic room. Also, luckily I am not too too big or I wouldn't have fit into the shower. When I saw the bed, I was dreading the night (I am a bit fussy with bed comfort) but I slept surprisingly well.
Breakfast was very adequate with a good choice. This was rather a good surprise.
So in conclusion: if you have a business meeting nearby this is an OK place to stay...just don't expect any luxury because there is none.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabgeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We visited our son and new grandson (12 days old) over the weekend, December 7th to 9th 2013, but felt that we ought to stay in a hotel rather than at their flat. We booked the Hotel du Congres as a package with Eurostar. The extra cost for the hotel, on top of the train fare, was 100 euros which meant 25 euros per person per night so our expectations were not high.

We arrived at the hotel and found that our room was really nice, a comfortable double-bed, a TV and a shower room along with storage for our clothes.

We didn't have breakfast as we went to our son's but on our last morning it made sense to have breakfast at the hotel and then to go straight to the station. I expected little more than tea/coffee and croissants but found tea or coffee, cereal, fruit juice, fruit salad, croissants, pastries, eggs, cheese, cold meats and toast at a cost if 12 euros per person inc taxes. The dining room was light and airy with a modern decor. Overall, a pleasant, no brilliant, surprise. We'll stay there again.

Why didn't I give five stars? There are no facilities for making tea or coffee in your room.

Geoff and Judith White, Wellow, Near Bath, Somerset, UK

Room Tip: We took pot luck and the room was absolutely fine - can't give any specific suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Geoffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

The room itself (single one) was very clean and staff friendly. Location was perfect for me. However, the room was very dark (only two small lights for the whole room) what made it difficult to work in the evenings. Only one socket in the room, so you can charge only one thing at once. The hotel itself is bit loud as you hear all noise from the corridor. Overall, an average hotel - there is space for improvements

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Aenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Small single room without air-condition so you have to open the window.
Lots of mosquitos in the room making sleep impossible.
Average breakfast.
No wireless conncetion in the room.
A bit far away from La Grand Place

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISMETCENGIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Location was ideal, close to Roe de la Loi. Quite a number of restaurants close by, including the Beer Circle which not only specialises in Belgian beers, but has a menu with food cooked in Belgian beer! However the room was horrendously small. The hotel is well kept though an online photo of the receptionist shows a background glass shattered. The room was clean.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the court yard are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royal Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Royale
Hotel Villa Royale
#7 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yadoya Hotel
Yadoya Hotel
#56 of 199 in Brussels
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#88 of 199 in Brussels
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#116 of 199 in Brussels
347 reviews
1.3 mi away
Floris Ustel Midi
Floris Ustel Midi
#3 of 6 in Anderlecht
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Congres

Address: Rue du Congres 42 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £53 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Congres 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Congres Hotel
Du Congres Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing