We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed”
Review of Hotel du Congres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Congres
Ranked #103 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just what I needed”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

There are many disadvantages of this hotel, but in the most important issues this is the hotel one just needs while in Brussels.
The location is perfect, less than 15 minutes walk from the central train station (not 5, as stated on the hotel's website), and same distance from the historical city centre.
The rooms are clean, but very small, equipped just with bed, small table, small place for clothes and a plasma TV. No minibar, no space to stretch your legs, not even pictures on the walls.
It's the same with the bathroom: just small shower tub, basic necessities like hair dryer, shower gels and shampoos, few towels and that's it.
But, for a business or quick leisure trip actually you don't need too much more for the price offered (truly budget hotel).
The wi fi is good (and free), even for video Skype.
The real problems are noise (it's extremely noisy street in front), poor wall isolation between rooms, and poor, poor breakfast (actually I skipped it every day, the choice was so uninspiring). The shower tubs apparently in most of the rooms are in poor condition, so don't be surprised if the tub door stays in your hands.
The staff are helpful but not very enthusiastic (again, who actually cares?). Nearby there are lot of bistros, bars, and restaurants, which only add to the hotel's experience. The small garden in the back is simply lovely.
Generally, I think it's worth of the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkoPopovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    175
    130
    27
    24
See reviews for
55
91
64
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights and it satisfied all of our needs. The decoration is basic but everything is clean and at this value it's hardly an issue. Great location, places to eat and drink near and only a fifteen minute walk to Grand Place and 2 minute walk to Madou metro which allows easy access to Brussels Midi station.

The only negative point is the wi-fi connection was pretty unreliable, a pain if you're relying on google maps as your guide of the city.

Overall though, a good hotel and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loreeeeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just back at the Hotel du Congres for another stay.
This charming hotel continues to delight. The low price at weekends is amazing value.
The courtyard garden is such a delight.
Service is extremely friendly and helpful. I asked to stay on in my room till the evening (check out time is normally 1100) and for a reasonable 30 euros extra, my wish was granted.
Excellent continental breakfast.
Excellent complimentary wifi (which works well in the courtyard garden too!)
Very clean, comfortable room, furnishing is basic but perfectly adequate.
Less than 5 minute walk from the metro, which has a direct service to the Eurostar station.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Rue du Congres risk being a little less quiet than others, but with the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perpetuatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Before traveling to Brussels I read many reviews of hotels from budget to luxury. It seems
there is always something to complain about for some people and so my expectations were not very high. However ,I must say that I found Hotel Du Congress a very nice hotel and the staff top professionals. The location is a short tram ride from the railway station (Centraal) and the heart of Brussels.Actually , I was glad to be staying a little way out in that nice neighborhood away from the other tourists ! The decor is sedate ,minimal and tasteful. I was looking into the cost of breakfasts and this Hotel is a bargain with the seven Euro buffet- boiled eggs, sliced meats, cereals fruit sliced and artisan breads etc. Food elsewhere seemed otherwise more expensive compared to New York.
Room was clean , simple decor with high molded ceilings.
They had the cab ready and waiting for us when we left- as requested
I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickM238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Note that some of the rooms are in an annex which you get to by going out into the street and letting yourself in through a door. There are 5 rooms with the top two on the third floor up narrow stairs with no lift. Didn’t worry me as I only had a small light suitcase, but it could be a real problem with large luggage.
The room (805) had high ceilings and was light and airy with good thick curtains and double glazing, so virtually no outside noise. There were 3 single beds – mine was soft and comfortable with an extra blanket if needed. The bathroom was also a decent size – the down side was that the towels, though clean, were grey and worn with much washing.
A good size desk/table to work at (though the light didn’t work). However the WiFi hardly worked at all and when it did was slow.
Never saw any staff except to check in and out so cannot comment – those I saw were pleasant. Also I did not have breakfast so cannot comment on that either.
Convenient for Madou metro which has a direct connection to Midi station - there's a also a bus to Midi that goes from very near the hotel.

Room Tip: Note that some of the rooms in the annex (numbers 800 upwards) can be up several flights of steep na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Theale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I went to Brussels on the 2014 New Year's eve. Of course, prices were quite high at this time. This hotel offered me a fair price close to underground station, tram stop, and within 15-20 min. walk to the city center. It was very quiet and clean place with good wifi connection and breakfast. I can recommend it to everyone who visit Brussels!
Note: if you visit this hotel at the holiday time, there may be no open eateries nearby, so it is good idea to order a breakfast in the hotel, which is very good btw.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonmoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Good location and friendly staff - easy access to restaurants, European business quarter and city centre attractions. Basic, but perfectly adequate and well insulated rooms, with good free wifi. Downside was a room phone that didn't work, a very hard pillow (but, to be fair, I didn't ask for it to be changed) and a power point that was coming away from the wall and potentially unsafe.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GilesP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royal Centre
0.8 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#58 of 198 in Brussels
395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Queen Anne
Hotel Queen Anne
#101 of 198 in Brussels
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western City Centre
Best Western City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
324 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
0.9 mi away
Yadoya Hotel
Yadoya Hotel
#70 of 198 in Brussels
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Congres

Property: Hotel du Congres
Address: Rue du Congres 42 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Congres 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Congres Hotel
Du Congres Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing