We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Marriott, but still good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Ranked #34 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not the best Marriott, but still good!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

You couldn't ask for a better location and the restaurant selection in this area is enormous (especially if you're into Asian foods). However, my biggest issue was the very small workout facility, which is by far the worse that I've seen at any Marriott, but if you do not care about working out, this this should be your first consideration for lodging.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    833
    888
    256
    77
    38
See reviews for
368
794
135
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed couple times over last few months in this hotel. Best thing about this hotel is its location - short walk to the old town area, railway station and a good range of various restaurants. The property itself is a bit below the usual Marriott standards, which is not unusual when the hotel is being retrofitted in an old building. The rooms feel a bit small. As a Marriott Platinum member, i was upgraded into a decent room, which made a lot of difference. The last trip coincided with the World Cup which was a lot iof fun, considering relative success fo Belgian team. The night of their vicroy over USA in quarter finals, the square infront of the hotel was a place of night-long celebration. Completely impossible to sleep due to noice all night long, but quite fun experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights at this Marriott Hotel in Brussels. I was upgraded as a platinum member to a fifth floor room which was very spacious. There was no view as courtyard facing, but this meant no traffic noise as described in other reviews. The Executive Lounge was basic but comfortable. It is located on the ground floor by the street and reception, so was not very private.

The location is amazing, within walking distance of many great sights. If I return to Brussels, I would stay here again with no hesitation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Austind88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 Nights .
Stayed at many Marriott’s ,this Marriott is more like a cross between a Marriott and a Courtyard by Marriott. It is not at the level of a typical Marriott .
Check in is efficient ,carry your own bags to the room.
Rooms are comfortable, very small but quiet .The Mini bar in the room is empty ,only found this out at 2am in the morning when looking for a cold drink. If you want a cold drink you need to buy downstairs and put in the fridge yourself. More like a courtyard.
The breakfast is excellent, note the breakfast area is on the ground floor and is the only restaurant in the hotel .
Security is good as at night returning to the hotel you need to use your room card to enter the hotel.
Would I stay at the Marriott again ??
I think for the money there are better hotels with better facilities in Brussels .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TBGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanosZer, Front Desk Manager at Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear TBGH,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback!

Kindly be informed that indeed in some room categories, the minibar is empty. Our guests can buy their preferred items at reasonable prices from our Market next to the Reception, or call the Room Service which is available 24 hours. All our Premium Rooms and Suites have a stocked minibar included in the rate.

Please accept my apologies for not offering you help with your luggage, rest assured that we are following up in order to ensure that something like this will not happen again. The Brussels Marriott Hotel offers luggage service 24/7.

On the other hand, we were pleased to see that you enjoyed the breakfast and the secure, comfortable environment in the hotel.

Best Regards,

Panos Zeritis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
200 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Clean, professional and friendly staff, good location for sightseeing. No free wifi (unless you are gold or above). Lots of good restaurants within walking distance. Access to the executive lounge made this visit tolerable. The room was nice, but small.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanosZer, Front Desk Manager at Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Bill,

Thank you for comments!

I am glad you enjoyed the service from our staff and the central location of the hotel.

Please be informed that we offer free wi-fi in our lobby, while in the rooms internet is free for the Marriott Rewards Gold and Platinum members and for all the room categories apart from the Standard Deluxe rooms.

I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again the next time you decide to visit Brussels.

Best Regards,

Panos Zeritis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We are gold card holders so we get free wifi, breakfast and club access. The location is very close to the Grand-Place. But it's has a grimy feeling around the main street in front of it. There is a McDonald's on the ground floor in front of the hotel....gross!!! We checked into two tiny rooms with no view and we asked nicer rooms which they did take care of for us. My kids could not sleep through the yelling and hollering due to a Brazil win in a world cup match. I would not stay at this Marriott again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie2314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanosZer, Front Desk Manager at Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Stephanie,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Marriott Hotel for your recent visit to Brussels and for giving us your feedback!

As we are located in the heart of Brussels, in special events like World Cup the surrounding area can get very busy, as in any center of a big city. For our guests that are more sensitive to noise, we also have rooms facing a quiet courtyard!

We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again at the Brussels Marriott Hotel.

Best Regards,

Panos Zeritis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Overall good. Marriot Hotels are good hotels and I have stayed at them before. I always love the style of the rooms and the comfortable beds. There are no complaints about the room. The breakfast was also nice, the make your own waffle station was a good addition and the open kitchen and nice staff and chefs makes a for a very nice atmosphere. Now for the bad. Although what was at the breakfast was nice, I have had a much bigger variety in other hotels. There was not a lot of healthy choices and the fruit that was there was just not so great. They need a much bigger variety for a 4 star hotel. The service. On the day we arrived we realized that you could either give your credit card or 50 euro per night as a deposit in case of any charges which you then would get back at the end. Now luckily we had a credit card, but my mind was going out to maybe the young couples that could have come here, maybe without a credit card and would not have 50 euro per night. I have never seen that at any other hotel, including other Marriot Hotels for example in Marriot Instanbul. As a hotel I can understand some security measures but this seems like too much. Also we did not know of this until we got to the hotel. There was wifi in the lobby, you could pay to get it in the rooms. Maybe cheaper wifi in the rooms would be great. However I do have to say that the tvs were also great and the first 20 channels or so were in English, and English channels (Such as BBC etc.) so that was great experience to get english commentary on a world cup game. Great choice from the hotel. Lastly, I understand that concierge are also people and can have good days and bad days but they need to be careful. The first concierge we met was according to me having a very bad day and therefore not very good. He was joking and it was kind of funny in the start but you should have your limits when it is with strangers which have just had a long flight and woke up early in the morning so their minds might not be ready for the fun and games the concierge wants to play. Also sometimes I was unsure if the concierge was actually making fun or was actually angry. But he made a lot of mistakes. Firstly he forgot what day it was, then he could not understand the meaning of a sentence in English because of the grammar then I made a miscalculation on my phone calculator and I told him the number I got and then in his anger he took his calculator did the calculation and smashed the calculator hard on the table separating us. That is VERY wrong for a concierge to behave with his guests. I would like the head concierge to just talk to this concierge about manners. I honest to god did not think he was a real concierge. He also cost us 40 euro. The 3 trips we booked, we later found out were also in a combi packet which the concierge should have known. 40 euro is a lot of money we could have saved.

However what saved the experience was the other concierge, who I think was brilliant and nice. However I forgot his name but I think he might have been Belgian. He was the one who saved the service reputation of the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the fifth floor are nice, but no great view as this is in the city center. Also you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#6 of 199 in Brussels
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#19 of 199 in Brussels
2,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place

Property: Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Address: Rue Auguste Orts 3-7 / Grand Place, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Brussels Marriott Hotel)
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Brussels
#16 Business Hotel in Brussels
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#19 Family Hotel in Brussels
#25 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Brussels
Brussels Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing