We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normally ok, one of the better in Brussels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman
Ranked #78 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Normally ok, one of the better in Brussels”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I stay here a lot with work as well as in many other hotels in Brussels and generally this one is one of the better in the city. But overall Brussels hotels are generally very poor so don't expect anything exceptional here.

I'm writing the review today because of something very poor but the hotel has never really made me think of writing one before good or bad it's aways just been ok.


On the main it's clean, reasonably well presented, with a great location. TV is very very limited, internet costs and is very slow if it works and the beds aren't overly comfy. But breakfast is good and most of the staff are very nice and helpful.

Today my room did not have a duvet cover on either bed. Just a sheet folded over the duvet to make it look like a cover. I find that pretty unacceptable but fortunately it was warm in the room and just a sheet was sufficient. The actual bedding sheet was not big enough to cover the bed the top and bottom had exposed mattress. Clearly a very bad cleaner today but not very common here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie_hwrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Laurie_hwrd,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is nice to hear that you are a regular visitor to the hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and found the staff helpful. We do have an excellent Housekeeping team that keeps guest rooms sparkling, however, I do apologize for the oversight on the bedding this particular day. We appreciate your feedback as this enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    260
    102
    28
    13
See reviews for
73
130
41
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern CA
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

In a city packed with hordes of tourists due to the Easter holiday weekend, we found this hotel, a bit further out from the city center and geared for business travelers, to be an oasis of calm and comfort. Conveniently located 10 minutes from the airport bus 12/21 line, and 5 minutes to Schuman Metro stop. Central, Midi, and north train stations just 4 to 6 metro stops away. Even more importantly, 10 minutes walk from one of the most famous frites vendors, Maison Antoine, on the Place de Jourdan! But be prepared to stand in line, rain or shine, LOL.

Even with only one staff member on duty at a time, checkin and response to requests were prompt and efficient. Rooms were spotless, with windows that opened for fresh air, and large bathrooms, IMO. I love soaking in bathrubs rather than a shower and this American brand hotel provides them. Free coffee in the room, which is nice because the breakfast can be pricey.

Got a great weekend rate and had dinner one night, a bit pricey but very good. Would recommend this hotel on weekends to travelers and during the week to business people.

Thanks, HI Schuman!

Room Tip: I was a Priority Gold Elite member so request the club level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cklonowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My room (504) was really nice. A kingsize bed, clean and very comfy. I didn't have breakfast as I thought €24 was extortionate! There is a lovely patisserie at the bottom of the road called Paul where you can get a pastry and a coffee for under €5. There are lots of places to eat at for lunch and dinner too (though I didn't feel it was the safest area to walk around on my own at night.) Go left from the hotel and right at the bottom of the street - it takes you to a square where there are bars and restaurants. I ate at Shimla - nice indian. There was a nice looking italian place too.

The staff were lovely at the hotel and printed out my boarding card for me free of charge. Wifi was free but only in the hotel lobby. The basic film package was €9 and there was a good choice. The night doorman took a long time to open the door for me (they're locked at night) and I felt unsafe waiting outside for so long as it was about 3am.

The hotel's a very quick 4 stops on the metro to the centre so well located.

In the centre Mirante is fantastic for pizza and pasta (it's on Platensteen...not sure of the spelling.) There's also a nice bar/pub just up the road from Mannenkinpis - I recommend the St.Feiullion, very nice drinkable beer! The puppets everywhere are a bit unsettling though!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here on a number of occasions each stay was at best acceptable. However on my last visit the Holiday Inn failed miserably. The only rooms that I have ever been given are in dire need of an uplift and on this occasion it was the same. The TV was broken and reception could not get it to work. The "free wifi" was also not working and I could not log into it despite again contacting reception. I asked for an iron and was given one that was like something out of a kids toy set...absolutely useless. The linen on the bed was also stained. Overall very poor and will not be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank P16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear P16,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We have sent you a private message to discuss your concern further.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We went as a group of 12 on a dive club trip to nearby Nemo 33. We wanted somewhere with easy access to the city centre for sight seeing the next day. We booked early so got a good rate and were very pleased with our stay. The reception staff were excellent and in particular Mark who gave us a great restaurant recommendation and even booked the tables for us. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were very friendly and helpful. As with other Holiday Inns I have stayed at, you get a good standard of accommodation and rooms were clean and comfortable. The metro is a short walk away and you can be in the centre in about 10 mins from there. There are also restaurants nearby (and the staff can recommend for you depending on what you are looking for). There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby and they offer a free left luggage service so you can leave your bags while you explore the city. Very much enjoyed our stay here and the warm welcome from the staff, would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FayeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Schuman for a very quick weekend visit and were greeted by Mark on reception who was wonderful, so friendly and helpful and even upgraded us to a king bed when he heard it was our anniversary! The room was lovely, bed was big and comfortable and the hotel is a short walk to the nearest Metro which gets you into town within minutes. The breakfast was quite pricey €15 for a buffet breakfast but was still nice! All in all we had a great stay, thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The location is good for EU-related business. At €125 per night I shouldn't complain but for a glorified B&B its a bit steep. Staff are friendly, the place is clean and the food is fine. The walls however are paper thin so bring some ear plugs. For a single night its fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmhibs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Paulmcs

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman and for your high ratings on cleanliness, location, rooms and service.

Based on your comments we are able to improve our product and services. We are very sorry for any discomfort about your stay, please never hesitate to contact our Manager on Duty. They are always available and will assist you immediately.

Our second renovation of our bedrooms is scheduled in August 2014. 3 extra floors will be renovated meaning that 3/4 will be more hip and trendy. Furthermore we will replace our elevator completely during this renovation.

We still hope to welcome you again in Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman during your next visit to Brussels. Keep well.

Yours sincerely



Mr. Dominique Verniers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Chelton Hotel
Chelton Hotel
#86 of 198 in Brussels
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Brussels EU
Courtyard Brussels EU
#7 of 198 in Brussels
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#13 of 198 in Brussels
1,497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martin's Brussels EU
Martin's Brussels EU
#30 of 198 in Brussels
671 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Euroflat Hotel
First Euroflat Hotel
#114 of 198 in Brussels
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman

Property: Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman
Address: Rue Breydel 20-24, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the EU district at the intimate Holiday Inn Brussels-Schuman hotel. With just 59 rooms our modern hotel, 12km from Brussels Airport, offers you personalised service and a friendly home-from-home. The hotel's bright blue facade stands out among Brussels' gleaming European Commission buildings, and our marble Lobby is hung with vibrant Picasso prints. Metro services speed you around the city from Metro Schuman, 500 metres from Holiday Inn Brussels-Schuman.Invite up to 8 people to an informal catch-up in Holiday Inn Brussels-Schuman's naturally lit meeting room and feel free to use the PC in the Lobby. It's a short stroll to meetings in the numerous European Parliament institutions surrounding the hotel.It's just 8 minutes from nearby Metro Schuman to Brussels city centre and sights like historic Grand-Place square. Ask our helpful staff about Brussels' Villo bike rental scheme if you'd prefer to explore the city on 2 wheels. Jubelpark's Autoworld museum, housing an impressive collection of classic cars, is a short walk from the hotel.Hot American breakfasts and light meals are served in garden-facing Pablo's Restaurant at Holiday Inn Brussels-Schuman. Cool off with complimentary soft drinks after a leisurely workout in our MiniGym, and sample local fruit beers in open-plan Pablo's Bar. Wireless Internet in your Guest room keeps you connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brussels - Schuman Hotel Brussels
Brussels Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing