We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
Ranked #162 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pros and cons”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The best thing of this hotel surely is the location, in the center of the city and on a nice square of the town (but you have to know that if you have a room on that side of the building you may hear some noise at night, at least during summer). Also the breakfast is good, and the staff is very nice and kind. On the other side, the rooms are not so big, and some furnitures are a bit damaged: my bedside table and the curtains looked a bit old and they had some burnings, apparently from cigarettes. Also the bathroom looks a bit old, but it's clean (there also is shower gel, but not any soap or shower cap).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ariuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    126
    164
    75
    83
See reviews for
68
125
74
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
TN
Level Contributor
181 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed on 2 occasions on recent visit to Belgium. Location can't be beat nr central station and Grand Place. Also means it can be noisy. First night had room overlooking street=poor sleep. Asked for quiet room on return and got one at back of hotel. Breakfast ok; can stow luggage til rooms ready. Rooms, furnishings, adequate. Staff helpful when not harried. I was holding Rick Steves guidebook in my hand, and check out clerk said if I had booked directly and mentioned RS, my room would have been cheaper than what I paid through Booking.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back; 5th floor rear is definitely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatKTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Is this the newest hotel? No. Could it do with upgrades? Yes. BUT! The price of hotels within the historic center of Brussels is outrageous, and La Madeleine offers more than reasonable prices (with breakfast) with an unbeatable location! Honestly, everything you could want to see is right around the corner from this hotel. If you plan on spending your entire time in Brussels in your room and therefore need something more updated, then go somewhere else. But if you want to pay a reasonable price and still be in downtown then stay here. I went in to this hotel expecting the worst based on the reviews, but that may have helped because it wasn't nearly as bad as everyone says.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My experience was a friendly check-in and as good a room as a 2* hotel is likely to deliver. It's 5 mins walk from central station and suited my budget of around 100 euros per night. I was bitten all over in bed by something but only on the 2nd night. i did find mosquitos in my room in the morning and i'm particularly sensitive to their bites. I'm always too hot and sleep with the window open. The room was reasonably clean so I'm not blaming the hotel. If you want something low cost in a great location then stay and accept what comes with 2 stars. I'll use them again unless I find something better for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 94009007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Confirmed room was not available due to overbooking! Staff made it our problem, no assistance in switching rooms, no understanding it impacted our trip, no access to the room during the day, .., ..
Hotel is dirty and of low quality. Everything is hanging together.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great location in the heart of the city for such a low price. Just a few steps from Grand Place. Next to a number of small cafes and restaurants. St.Hubert Galleries are also around the corner of the street. Central rail station is 3 minutes walk from the hotel is case you want to travel to Brugge, Ghent, etc.
Staff is friendly and speak good English. There is a luggage storage in case you need to leave your bags after check-out. Breakfast is good enough.
I am returning to Brussels in December and booked this hotel once again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serval47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great location but
I am paying 381 euros for a double room for 3 nights and yet it is the worst hotel I have stayed in Brussells indeed the worst I have stayed at in any capital city !
After the first night it was so noisy we asked to change rooms
The manager wouldn't let us see the room so we had to take a chance because we had to go to work and couldn't wait til 12.00
The new room tonight is absolutely awful
The room can hardly fit a double bed
There is a just over a foot between the end of the bed and the wall-you have to walk sideways to edge passed
the bathroom door hits the bed as it opens
The wardrobe is a cupboard and has no room to hang our clothes
There is a bare wire exposed -It would be condemned in the UK
I would advise -Go next door to the IBIS or any of the other neghbouring hotels and definitely do not get hoodwinked like we did by the official photos
I will try and post a few of what we have found

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
The Moon Hotel
The Moon Hotel
#134 of 199 in Brussels
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#106 of 199 in Brussels
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#124 of 199 in Brussels
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels

Property: La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
Address: Rue de la Montagne 20 - 22, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place with a difference. La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels is a place with a difference. Our hotel offers you a warm welcome with a human dimension. Staying at La Madeleine Grand Place means staying in the historic heart of the Belgian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Madeleine Brussels
De La Madeleine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing