We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in brussels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pillows Grand Hotel Place Rouppe
Ranked #4 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

for location, value for money, comfy beds and its quirky style the pillows is top class.
it is small and boutique style, yet it is ten minutes (slow ) walk to the grand place, on the the metro etc, i notice it is creeping up the the rankings!!
ill def be back soon

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DARACork_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

If you would like a cute, clean and professional hotel within a 10 minute walk of the train station, the Grand Place, the shops and restaurants then this is the hotel for you. Another advantage is that there is a metro stop just accross the road. We were in Brussels for a 3 day city break and staying in this hotel meant we had easy access to the train station for day trips to Bruges and Ghent but at the same time, we had easy access to Brussels itself. We never had to use the metro because we could walk everywhere from our hotel. The exterior of the hotel is very clean and modern so first impressions were really good. The same could be said for the reception area and the receptionists who were very professional and polite. The hotel is very tastefully decorated and the king size beds are a bonus along with the good quality matresses. The room was cleaned regulary, complimentary drinking water was provided every day, the TV has an excellent choice of channels to suit every nationality.
I only have 2 negatives but they are so insignificant that I would not hold it against the hotel : The pillows are too high and so high that I literally had to sleep with none and there was no shower gel provided, only shampoo and a bar of soap. I didnt have breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment on that. I would definately stay there again and would recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: we had an internal room, so looking onto an internal courtyard. No view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corazon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Location is good, not too far to walk to train stations and the city centre. No food at all available other than breakfast which I think is a bit shortsighted. The bar surely could offer some light snacks.
Check-in took some time and was clumsy as a trainee was processing everything under the guidance of an unwelcoming receptionist, and this certainly could have been handled better.
We had booked a royal deluxe and the room we were shown to was at the front of the hotel and the noise from the street was obvious. It was also quite a small room and we couldn't detect anything royal about it! We asked for another and the surly receptionist offered a room overlooking a quiet courtyard at the back of the hotel. Apparently this was just a deluxe room but was actually bigger and nicer decor so we couldn't work that one out. We had prepaid and were told we couldn't get a refund for the difference in room price but we could have a drink at the bar which we ended up not bothering with as there are so many great places to have a drink in Brussels.
Breakfast was decent although people who came down 10 minutes before close were told off!
On check-out the young receptionist was yawning and explained that she was having to work long hours - not exactly what the customers need to know.
Overall the attitude of the majority of staff left a lot to be desired - not sure what is going on here but there are definitely issues that need addressing by management.
We would return if we couldn't find a good deal elsewhere. It is a comfortable hotel with a reasonable location but it could be a good hotel if the staff were motivated to be more customer focused.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The staff are friendly, the rooms lovely, the beds huge and the location ideal....BUT the automated lights in the bathroom and toilet are either broken or useless. Now, granted, we haven't mentioned this to reception so it could be that ours are broken. The only way they'll stay on is if the door is open, not exactly ideal if you are in a room with another human (though you may be into hearing/watching each other on the loo, so this is the ideal hotel for you!)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Perfectly situated at just 10 minutes' walk from the Eurostar terminal and a short walk into the City Centre, it's ideal for an overnight business trip but lacks a few amenities that are probably more important for a longer stay or leisure trip. E.g. there is no restaurant or room service within the hotel, only a breakfast serving area and a bar downstairs; there was no bath (only a shower) in my room, although I don't know if baths are available in other rooms and no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The mini bar was also quite restricted, containing only soft drinks and beer, with no wine available, but there was a bottle of complimentary mineral water by the bed.

That said, the room was clean with modern decor throughout and the bed extremely comfortable. The individually controlled air-con unit made sure the temperature was to my liking, although it was quite cold when I arrived because the window had been left open (perhaps to air the room?). The TV also had a wide range of channels in a variety of languages including BBC1 and BBC2 for English speakers. The breakfast selection was also comprehensive, with Full English and Continental options and of good quality. I would definitely stay here again if I visit the city on business in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "2nd floor" are actually on a sub-floor, up a short flight of stairs from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle_Beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Very well positioned between the Midi Station (Eurostar) and the Grande Place, this is a comfortable business hotel.

The room was good and clean, the service very helpful and friendly.

We stayed at the weekend as part of a Eurostar offer - very good value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidblades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Spent three nights here in late January and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel - the rooms were large, very comfortable and spotless. The hotel is in the perfect spot to explore all that Brussels has to offer on foot. The service is clearly light touch, which is no bad thing, but at times it bordered on indifference and even rudeness. Other than that minor point, it is a great place to stay in a superb city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hodges89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,460 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,108 reviews
0.6 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#9 of 198 in Brussels
1,301 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#11 of 198 in Brussels
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pillows Grand Hotel Place Rouppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pillows Grand Hotel Place Rouppe

Address: Place Rouppe 17, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels)
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £137 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pillows Grand Hotel Place Rouppe 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pillows Grand Hotel Place Rouppe is a small and personal hotel in the historic city center of Brussels. Housed in a fully renovated, stately landmark, you will find this modern hotel. The hotel immediately imposes a great impression. Spending a night at the Pillows Grand Hotel Place Rouppe, one of the finest luxury boutique hotels in Brussel, is an experience to hold on to. The 43 comfortable and stylishly designed rooms are specifically catered to our guests' needs. A king size bed, the finest linens, a Nespresso coffee machine, a walk-in shower, a smart HD TV and wireless sound system are standard in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pillows Grand Hotel Place Rouppe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing