We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment, but bright and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Opera Residence
Ranked #12 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Rottenburg am Neckar, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice apartment, but bright and noisy”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The Opera Residence has large and well furnished apartments in a central location next to the Opera. The Anspach shopping mall with a Paul bakery is next door, supermarkets are nearby. Metro station (De Brouckere) is underneath. Check-in is in another apartment building which has a rather shabby entrance. Note that check-in facilities moved two years ago but at least my travel company still had the old details and send me to another place about one km away. The main downside is the window arrangement. Windows are anything but soundproofed, so in this location you need to bring earplugs. And as many others have pointed out, the curtains may prevent others from seeing you dress but they hardly prevent any light from shining through - with tge streetlights just outside, it's bright the whole night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    33
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
49
12
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Spacious two bedroom apartment, which was very comfortable, well equipped and warm.
Great location convenient to Grand Place and transport links (Brussels Central less than 10 minute walk, close to the Cathedral; and the metro station is just around the corner) and a good view over the Opera Theatre Square.

Saturday night revellers might keep light sleepers awake!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat20102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

A one night stay at the opera residence, thankfully we figured out before hand that the keys are collected from a different address which is a 3 minute walk away and the staff in the office were excellent and most helpful, the apartment itself was very spacious and overlooked the opera house. For those that want to be picky then you can pick fault in the apartment like a bit of peeling paint on the walls etc but for the price we paid (85 euros through booking.com) I really cannot complain.
The location is excellent with the xmas market a 5 minute walk away, the shops a 1 minute walk and the grand square a 5 minute walk away
For those with cars we used a car park just down the road (parking 59) which at 18 euros for 24 hours is really affordable and is a 4 minute walk with luggage from the apartments.
There are comments previously about the curtains being thin and this is the case but did not bother either us or our children.

If we come to Brussels again we will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here for one night only, and wished we had stayed for more. Fantastic spacious apartment which is well appointed and in a great location - only a couple of streets away from the Grand Place. We also got a really good deal on it.

If I had to give a couple of slight negatives - the curtains are very thin and don't cut out a lot of light, and the arrangement to check in and collect keys is a little convoluted as you have to go to another office first - but really they are very minor things and the positives massively outweigh them.

If I am ever back in Brussels I will definitely staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Great location, but you realky need to bring along eye mits. The curtains in the rooms let all the light through. They have omitted to install block out curtains and so you will get no sleep!!! Avoid this place abd rather find a place which has block out curtains.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I visited Brussels on business and stayed at a one bedroom apartment in the Opera Residence, which my secretary had booked for me in advance.I did not know what to expect, but soon found out that the flat was very well arranged and had modern interior. It was beautifully furnished and had a full set of facilities – basically everything that a traveler might need or think of. The place was very clean, the bathroom was absolutely spotless with its shower and bathtub! I had two bedrooms for myself (though I obviously did not use the second one) and I had a spacious living room, a modern kitchen equipped with various kitchen utensils and electric appliances, as well as a nice dining table with chairs. I also enjoyed good internet connection (which I used a lot) and a cable television. A great touch was the underground parking, which I used and the access for wheelchairs which could be quite useful to some people and is not available at many other places.

The location of this apartment was a great asset too. It was set in the historical center of Brussels city, very close to almost all places of interest including historical sites, cultural landmarks, also various art galleries and museums. Besides that, my apartment was also close to the Grande Place and was surrounded by many lovely restaurants, small cafes and busy pubs. Of course, I was also near the business buildings and the offices of several banks that I needed.I really appreciated this comfortable apartment and its great location. I think this is an excellent value for the money paid. Thus, I will definitely recommend the Opera Apartments to all my partners and colleagues, who plan to visit Brussels on business or on a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Th0mas74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duiven, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Great location: walking distance to the central train station, square meeting centre, grand market square, etcetera. However, for a good nights sleep I'd recommend to bring your ear-plugs as it can be very noisy on a Friday night.
We had access to 7 appartments, which were all very spacious and clean. The appartments were equipped with all the necessary kitchenware. The two bedroom appartments had two bathrooms (one with a bath the other with a shower) and two separate toilets. So, you can easily use the two bedroom appartments for 4 to 5 adults.
I would happily recommend these appartments to anyone who wants value for money!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinnie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#19 of 199 in Brussels
2,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#8 of 199 in Brussels
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opera Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opera Residence

Property: The Opera Residence
Address: Rue de l'Eveque 21, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Opera Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Opera Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing