We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Opera Residence
Ranked #11 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, there were four of us and what a lovely spacious place this was. On the sixth floor. Staff were very helpful once we found reception which is not located at the actual apartment. Great location everything was within minutes walk, train station supermarket, shops. Apartment had two bedrooms, two separate toilets, bathroom. Everthing was there except for a washing machine which would have been great since we had been travelling for a few days before hand, some extra linen would also have been handy, neither of the toilets, which had handbasins, had hand towels. But overall a lovely apartment and would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucearmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Lovely apartment situated in the heart of Brussels, located a five minute walk from Grand Place, Town Hall and maximum 10 minute walk of Central station and many other attractions.
Also the metro station is round the corner of the building. The bus station is in front of the house.
If you want to eat in the town, the restaurants area is near the Town hall, and I recommend a nice one called Rafael, next to Agora place.
The apartment is very clean, spacious and comfortable, with a huge living and a well equipped kitchen.
Everything you need is there. And your vacation house is hundred per cent secure.
You will receive a map of the town and the information about how to reach wherever you want. The reception staff are very friendly.
The malls are close to the apartment, and The Rue Neuve is right there for a shopping break.
We will return there for sure.
Congratulations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doaga c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here last weekend (Valentines Weekend 2014). There was four females in the group and the location was brilliant we could not have asked for a better located area we were so close to everything and the apartment itself was one of the nicest I have seen in a long while. Great facilities and everything you should hope for. I would strongly recommend people to check out this location before going however. We arrived at nine at night and walked around the city for an hour and 40 minutes looking for the location. We went into other hotels, shops, asked the police and even carried a map however were unable to find the place. Finally we were advised that the reception area was not located with the apartments but were a small black door beside the subway about four blocks from the street the apartments were on. We arrived at 10.40pm and reception was closed. We rang the office and got in contact with an extremely rude individual who proceeded to lecture us about the late hour and that we were meant to ring 50 minutes before hand. This was NEVER said to us. We apologised and explained that were walked past the area numerous times. This man did not want to hear our excuses. He waited 20 minutes before opening the reception area fro us. When we went in we were informed that there was a fee for late check in. We asked how much and were informed that it would be 30euro. When we asked how he came to that amount he just shrugged and said it was his decision to charge whatever amount he saw fit. He did not want to hear any excuses and when we explained that we even had a map he told us it was our own fault and got slightly aggressive, He was NOT helpful or anyway nice to us. This influenced our opinion of the city as a whole. I would recommend being very familiar with the location of the office before hand and be ready for alot of extra charges that are not included in the first fee you pay. Workers are NOT nice by any means and EXTREMELY rude.

Room Tip: Corner apartments are bigger and have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Read all the great reviews for this apartment and thought it may be too good to be true, but its not.. this place was amazing!

Its located in the centre, a close walk to Grand 'Place.
Due to its central location there tends to be a lot of nightlife activity not in the area but around it, so throughout the night you could hear people who have come from having a good night and choosing the area near the building to rest and socialise. It didn't bother me too much, but I did wake often due to this.

A few reviews wrote about the light curtains and needing a night eye mask, I was on the 5th floor so I didn't experience any street lights flooding in and felt the curtains (although light yellow) were thick enough for the early morning sunrise.

The apartment itself was such a pleasant surprise, very clean, really large, 2 bedrooms, 2 separate toilets, shower room, bathroom and all the amenities you could need for your stay.
incl: Dish washer, hob with extractor, fridge, freezer, kettle etc literally everything
and also complimentary tea/coffee sachets, except no sugar is provided.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Just_Being_ME29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed there for a couple of night just before Christmas 2013 and we were not disappointed. The place is huge, very large living, dinning and kitchen area. 2 Toilets, 1 huge bathroom plus 2 bedrooms which are quite small but you only sleep in them. I would recommend this place to anyone, there is a Paul patisserie just around the corner so you van get yourself some croissants int the morning and a coffee if you wish. We will definitely use this place again. Wifi can be bought for 4 Euros a day if required.

Room Tip: All the apartments are the same, it can be a bit noisy in the evenings as the apartments face a busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ivac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulKalkus, Front Office Manager at The Opera Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Hello,
thank you for your comments! We really appreciate it. We hope to hear from you next time you are in Brussels.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The Opera Residence has large and well furnished apartments in a central location next to the Opera. The Anspach shopping mall with a Paul bakery is next door, supermarkets are nearby. Metro station (De Brouckere) is underneath. Check-in is in another apartment building which has a rather shabby entrance. Note that check-in facilities moved two years ago but at least my travel company still had the old details and send me to another place about one km away. The main downside is the window arrangement. Windows are anything but soundproofed, so in this location you need to bring earplugs. And as many others have pointed out, the curtains may prevent others from seeing you dress but they hardly prevent any light from shining through - with tge streetlights just outside, it's bright the whole night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Spacious two bedroom apartment, which was very comfortable, well equipped and warm.
Great location convenient to Grand Place and transport links (Brussels Central less than 10 minute walk, close to the Cathedral; and the metro station is just around the corner) and a good view over the Opera Theatre Square.

Saturday night revellers might keep light sleepers awake!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat20102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#119 of 198 in Brussels
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adagio Access Brussels Europe
0.1 mi away
Apartment Chez Esmara et Philippe
0.1 mi away
B-aparthotel Grand Place
B-aparthotel Grand Place
#6 of 149 in Brussels
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opera Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opera Residence

Address: Rue de l'Eveque 21, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Brussels
Price Range: £82 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Opera Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Opera Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing