We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's Not to Like?”
Review of 9HOTEL CENTRAL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
9HOTEL CENTRAL
Ranked #9 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What's Not to Like?”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Great location within one block of waffle-scented train station, quiet a/c room with sleek design and comfy bed. Small but modern bathroom with nice toiletries, a hair dryer, AND a magnifying mirror, thank you. Free wifi, flat screen tv on wall. Lift holds 8 people, staff is nice and friendly. Delicious breakfast spread in sunny brick wall room and way cool Swiss coffee machine gives lattes with push of button. Can walk down to shop/restaurants around Grand Platz; walk over a block to cathedral, and up a block to Grand Palace grounds. Reasonable rates and good value return for the $. We would definitely stay at 9Hotel Central again. Not sure why anyone (unless very spoiled) would need anything more!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miriam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    371
    62
    10
    15
See reviews for
96
521
66
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Was staying 1 night at the hotel. Booked the clubroom, however got a free upgrade to suite. I love the design of the hotel, those brick walls and clean minimalistic interiors. The rooms look the same as on the hotels webpage.
The room was very spacious, large king-size bed, clean, with complimentary refreshments (2 bottles of water) and some tea and coffee. Wi-Fi connection is fast and stable. Although next to a frequent road, the night was quiet.
The hotels location is superb, as you are close to the main railway station (Centraal) and a few steps from the Royal shopping gallery (Saint-Hubert) and the center of Brussels (Townhall). There is also a metro station next to the hotel.
The hotel has no restaurant, but there are many other options in the close vicinity. It serves only breakfast, which was good, nothing special, but also nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanPrilesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A few minutes walk from the Central Railway station. Greeted by friendly staff who went out of their way to advise and orientate us to the area. And what an area it is. Everything is in walking distance to all of the main attractions.
Our room was clean and groovy with open wardrobe...an exposed pipe with hangars and shallow crates as drawers.
(Do miss tea/coffee making facilities like we have in Australia)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here during the second week in July. We could not have been more impressed with all aspects of this hotel. We booked online and had contacted the hotel a couple times via email and they wrote back quickly with all the answers!

We arrived by train and the hotel told us to look for the exit with the street Colonies. We did and literally came out of the train station next to the hotel! It was only a couple minutes to the cathedral and just 5 minutes to the main square. Note that the walk back to the hotel is uphill but we had no problem at all and it really is so close the the main attractions. And it is a small city so it is not tiring at all to walk all around.

When we arrived they told us we had been upgraded and had a balcony! The man who checked us in ( and who was there each day) could not have been more friendly, he was all smiles and offered as much information about the area as we needed. The encounters we had with the other staff could not have been nicer. Each time we walked by the front desk they always looked up and gave a huge warm smile and a big hello and something like have a wonderful day, etc.

The hotel could not have been cleaner. It was spotless! It is very modern and white and has simple lines. When we walked into our room for the first time, we thought it was so cool we almost didn't want to go out. A clock would have been nice but no hotel we stayed in in Europe had one.

Overall it is easy to see how this hotel maintains such high ratings. Thank you 9Hotel for a wonderful stay.

The only thing we wished that there was coffee for every hotel room, not just club and suite. It is a lot more money to have one of those rooms to get coffee (we know those rooms have more amenities but coffee was all we wanted). Really it was no big deal.

There are always great specials on their website so check directly with the hotel to book instead of a third party.

Room Tip: The superior room was great. Lots of room. We had a room on the back and it was so nice and quiet. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Right across from the Central station, a quick walk to the Grand Place, the park, and more than a few museums. Room was small for most American visitors, but pretty standard size for a European city. Everything was clean, nice windows opened and also good air conditioning. We enjoyed our stay, though there was often noise from the bar next door. I had no trouble sleeping through it, but if you need a quiet room, this might not be ideal for you. Also, the wifi signal was very weak. If you need a good wifi connection, this could be a problem.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ncprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Great location. We took the train from the airport and could easily walk to the hotel from the central station and the main square. We could then take the train from the same station onwards to Bruges. The room was clean, chic, modern but not over done. Also fairly quiet, considering the location. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had breakfast there one morning and it was a good spread of hot, cold items, juice, coffees, etc. Would stay here again and recommend to friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tamala214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Having decided to have a weekend in Brussels we looked through the many hotels and decided 9Hotel looked perfect for what we wanted.

The hotel is modern and well thought out. The check in process went without mishap. The rooms were of a decent size and well decorated. We were on the 2nd floor looking over the main road and having the adjoining wall to a bar.

The hotel is located a few hundred yards from Brussels Central train station. It's also a 5 minute walk to the Grand Place, shopping areas, restaurants & nightlife.

We found the breakfast expensive for a continental offering, so we choose to go to one of the many cafés instead.

The only negative point is the noise. With the hotel situated with a bar either side of it, that play extremely loud music on Saturday nights. Meaning unless you can sleep through an earth quake you are likely to be awake until the early hours of the morning whether you want to be or not.

Such a shame that the noise created from the neighbouring bars ruins what would be a perfect modern hotel in a great location.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosfandango07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.2 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
991 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#6 of 199 in Brussels
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#19 of 199 in Brussels
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9HOTEL CENTRAL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9HOTEL CENTRAL

Property: 9HOTEL CENTRAL
Address: Rue des Colonies 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Centrale Hotel)
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 9HOTEL CENTRAL 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your 9HOTEL CENTRAL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing