We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff but needs some sorting out” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mirabeau
Ranked #179 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,287 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Great staff but needs some sorting out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here near the end of our travels round Europe for the past month. Unfortunately the Hotel Mirabeau ranks as our worst hotel visited. On arrival you notice insulation where the ceiling is missing, Is it just falling down or being repaired? but over riding this was the strong smell of cat pee. The decor was old and tatty and chairs were on top of the tables so it looked a bit of a jumble. Not a good first impression.

The guy on reception wins the award for being the most helpful and informative. He really wanted us to enjoy our stay in Brussels , gave us a map and proceeded to point out the best places to go and how to get there. Genuinely helpful.

Now venturing upstairs via a small lift complete with graffetti to floor 4. At this stage I was wondering whether to leave and try and find somewhere else to stay. Open the door and it's new and freshly painted and no cat pee smell. We were in room 42 , all newly painted, 3 large windows overlooking the square. It was a bright airy room with on suite bathroom. The bed seemed clean and was comfortable but the room was not quite clean , looked like it had been cleaned but not properly. The bathroom had half a loo roll holder and the brackets of a shelf but no shelf and In the bedroom the wardrobe had a shelf but the brackets were missing so it sloped at about 45 degrees.

As the room was bearable we decided to stay, venturing down the stairs which were very narrow and looked like they were in the process of being decorated although no work occured while we were there.

Next morning breakfast was very limited and basic with the night reception guy asleep at his desk until the maid came in.

The hotel is located near to the old town, it is buget value but not good enough. The reception , breakfast area, lift and stairs needs completely refurbishing to bring it up to standard. The room needs finishing off and the catering and cleaning need to improve and of course the cat pee needs to go! You can get better hotels for the same or similar price I'd suggest going elswhere until this is upgraded.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    43
    69
    52
    69
See reviews for
22
87
21
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a great discovery for me.

It is not for fancy people; but people who want just a place to sleep close to the city center will appreciate the great value.

It is rather for the bagpackers who want the best price with only basics.

We paid 50 € for a small double room.
Internet is good, a small breakfast is included and the location Great - is within 5 min walk from the Grand Palace.

In Brussels it is hard to find a youth hostel for less than 26 €; so I don't want to hear anyone complaining that this hotel has small rooms or that the TV set is not a big plasma.

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

I spent one night in this hotel witih my girlfriend. Price was very affordable and hotel conviniently located. Our room was very small but was freshly renovated and we liked it. View from the window was awful ( just a wall) but room was nice and we didn't even spent much time there. Staff was friendly and there is a great sandwich bar just around the corner (seriously the best baguettes we ever had). For this price its a really good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Przemek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

The room stank of tobacco. We had reserved a room with toilet but got one without. The lamps had loose electrical wiring, the walls were dirty. The view from the window was to a garbage shaft that stank! The lock on the door was also not working properly and the key got stuck in the lock always when locking and unlocking, and we had to struggle to get it loose. When complaining about the room we were told it was all that was available. In the morning we were told that it was a mistake, and we were promised a refund but I have still not received it.

Room Tip: The rooms seems to differ in standard. If you have to go to this hotel, don't pay before you see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

I, Melachi ibn Amillar, did stay at the Mirabeau hotel, Brussels, in January 2013. The hotel is located in a sort of gay Arabic district on the grimy boulevard to the Gare Midi, though next to the tram stop; in all a location probably not recommended for those of nervous disposition. Presenting my booking, the clerk gave no signs of recognising it, and asked for payment in advance, though he did take a credit card. I climbed the steps to the fifth floor, rather a mistake since the intermediate floors seemed under construction with wires hanging from the walls and lights in the very narrow stairwells going on and off intermittently. The room itself was small but acceptable, and appeared recently refurbished, though the mirror had a long crack, and the flush required judicious fiddling with the cracked button-panel to stop it running continuously. There was no bath but the shower worked. The TV channels were all in foreign languages; the beer glasses were a thin plastic. The room was not very warm, though the heating was set to maximum; there was snow on the ground outside, which may explain this. I was woken at 4am by drunken people shouting from the street below, shortly followed by rubbish collecting vans, and did not get much more sleep. Descending for breakfast I found that the elevator did in fact work, it was just that the summoning light did not illuminate. For breakfast there was self-service with several pieces of not terribly fresh bread, one type of cheese and small packages of jam, with coffee and tea. There were no croissants or pain au chocolats. But for that, I, Melachi would stay again, at least during the financial crisis.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melachi-ibn-Amillar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Recently renovated including bathrooms. Charming decorations. Reasonable breakfast. Excellent location. The staff was friendly and helpful. Cute old time elevator. No inexpensive, but the cheapest hotel we could find and we really enjoyed our stay. Would recomend if you are looking for a clean, reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Location is perfect. The rest is not so perfect. Is an ok hotel, but for 90 euros per night still heavenly overpriced. I would pay max 45 euro for this kind of hotel. Very noisy room. Shower and toilet ok. Just the basics. Bed also ok. Interior crappy. Not broken, just ugly. But for even 90 euros still one of the cheapest hotels in the centre (again location is perfect). If you dont care about the room, its a good stay.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#71 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barry
Hotel Barry
#169 of 200 in Brussels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chantecler
Hotel Chantecler
#158 of 200 in Brussels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#127 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#55 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Property: Hotel Mirabeau
Address: Place Fontainas 18, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mirabeau 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabeau Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing