We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a hostel with hotel-like facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised when I got here because it's not your regular hostel. The place is newly renovated and room facilities almost look like a budget hotel's. The room was very spacious, bathroom was big with hot and cold water, wi-fi was strong even in the rooms. Breakfast was delightful as they had a wide range of choices from salads and fruits, to cold cuts and sausages, to bread and cereal. The location was also very good -- parallel to the shopping district and a 10-15 walk to Grand Place/Grote Markt.

Because it's like a budget hotel, I think most tour packages book the place. During my stay, I saw many old tourists in groups. Again, this is not your regular hostel where you go to the lobby or common area to hang out. There's none of that here unless you're traveling with your own friends.

If you're looking for great comfort, value and location, this place doesn't disappoint. If you're looking for the chill hostel atmosphere, I believe this isn't the place for you.

Reminder: The hostel's street becomes deserted at night. For female solo travelers, it is best to avoid walking alone at night.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krukruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

I went there with my mum. She is 60 and loves to complain. But honestly she had no complain for this place. We were in a double room on the 3rd floor. There is a lift, so it won't be a problem even if you have heavy, big luggage. The room is big, clean, and neat with wooden floor. It also has a very nice balcony. Big windows allowing plenty of sunshine into the rooms. Wi-Fi was free and available in the room.

The breakfast was excellent. Wide range of food: bread, ham, cheese, butter, jam, fresh salad, melons, yoghurt, orange juice, tea and coffee. And on the morning of the second day we stayed there, somehow they also serve rice, pasta and drumstick.

The location is good.It's not too far to walk from 2 train station (Central and Nord). And 2 minutes from here, there is a long shopping street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0nd0nKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Located conveniently in the centre of Brussels (close to the Botanic Gardens), the Sleep Well Youth Hostel is one of the most popular places to stay for travellers. The one great aspect about the hostel was the map made available by the hostel. This particular map was drawn up by the Brussels locals and it showed you all the great local hotspots. Without it, I think that my stay in the Belgian capital would have been rather bland (if you don't know where to go, Brussels can be quite an uninteresting place to visit).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepWellBXL, The Sleep Well Team at Sleep Well Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Hello, thanks for your comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The maps your talking about are made by the USE-IT association. They do an incredible job and we thanks them for that ! They exist for 6 different cities in Belgium and are always available at Sleep Well reception. Regards, The Sleep Well Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Right in the center of Brussels, close to the Grand place, and shopping streets. Nice and new beds, all rooms have bathrooms and showers inside, breakfast included. Very affordable comparing to other expensive rooms in Brussels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kadoka55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepWellBXL, The Sleep Well Team at Sleep Well Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you. We do our best to provide the best services to the travellers and are happy that you liked it ! Regards, The Sleep Well Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

When we stayed there, part of it was recently reopened after renovations due to fire. So the rooms were new and very clean. Location is A plus, walkable from the main train station North, trams and shopping centre. Will stay again. Reasonable price range.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Althought its near a parking, the hostel is well situaded near tram and metro station and on a short walk (15-20 minutes) from the Grand Place.
It has shared facilities ensuited which are very handy, linen is included but not towels.
The hostel is clean but lacks a little bit of athmosphere.
Reception is open 24hours and breakfast is included in the price. There is wifi but is not free.
Overall I would recomend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miguel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

June 2010. It was a short but nice trip. The room was small but enough for 2 people, who were to explore the city. Good security, clean bathroom facilities, tasty breakfasts. didn't find any place to cook, though didn't need to. friendly stuff. though the lockery is not that secured and a bit dirty.
Located in the city center, near the botanical garden and tourist attractions.
An overall imression is positive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elenka1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.9 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,958 reviews
2 mi away
Train Hostel
Train Hostel
#3 of 145 in Brussels
162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
#4 of 145 in Brussels
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Brussels Hello Hostel
Brussels Hello Hostel
#1 of 2 in Koekelberg
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
#9 of 145 in Brussels
336 reviews
1 mi away
Generation Europe Youth Hostel Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Well Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Well Youth Hostel

Address: Rue du Damier 23, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 145 Speciality Lodging in Brussels
Price Range: £24 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Well Youth Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our advantages: Ideal location - Complimentary breakfast - Maximum comfort - Excellent price / quality ratio - free wifi Located in the heart of Brussels, 10 minutes' walk from Grand Place and Gare du Nord and 100m from the Rogier Metro Station and a shopping center, Sleep Well is the ideal starting point to explore the European capital. All rooms are fully renovated and equipped with bathroom and private toilet. Bed linens are provided. Several options are available: dorm beds from 1 to 6 beds (lockout between 11am and 15pm), private superior twin or triple room (flat screen TV + fridge, no lockout), family duplex. The building and rooms are suitable for wheelchair users. The complimentary breakfast is varied and abundant. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hostel. Sleep well has a bar, a ping-pong table, a foosball table, board games, book swap, .... The hostel has a great interest in ecology and was rewarded for his efforts concerning the environment by the green Key and the Eco-dynamic label. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Sleep Well Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Well Youth Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing