We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish a Chips with excellent sauces”
Review of Bia Mara

Bia Mara
Ranked #24 of 3,557 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fresh Sustainable Fish & Chips Concept. Fresh fish only at our beloved restaurant where we are trying to change the style of traditional Fish & Chips by using our very own 'street food' interpretation of the classic British dish. We are influenced by cuisines & cultures from all over the world and love the challenge of creating new styles regularly. We have a small restaurant so we cannot take reservations. With 30+ recipes, 20+ sauces & over 25 types of sustainable fish that change weekly we hope you find your style! EAT MORE FISH. Bia Mara
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fish a Chips with excellent sauces”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The fish and chips are fresh and good; and so are the sauces. Short and good drinking menu. What i miss is some desert and coffee options.You can't get anything sweet here after your meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victor r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    883
    522
    113
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
“Perfect fish and chips!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just perfect fish and chips, really good sauces and lovely mint peas! Really nice Belgium beers, from Brasserie de la Senne. Everything perfect! Only point, the size to the portions is not what you might be used to in UK. Much smaller, but absolutely delicious!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marco_150575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWPORT, UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“great fish and chips”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

it does what it says on the tin, excellent fish and chips, pity they don't take reservations but it is a small intimate place, best to sit outside as the "gout" inside can get a bit much... Price is very good for what they serve, amazing even by Brussles standards bearing in mind the location... Nice service and chatty staff - they will do well when they open in London

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeWNewport_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I went here whilst visiting some friends and I was not sure what to expect when they said it was Fish and Chips. I absolutely loved it, they had really good service along with great prices and the concept was amazing. We shared a fish dish as well as the vegetarian mozzarella arancini and my gosh they were both amazing.

I would definitely recommend this place to any that know Brussels and to everyone that doesn't!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharBryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips I've ever had, hands down!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After searching Brussels for 2 months for exceptional food and finding very little, I thought I'd finally give Bia Mara a go. It was beautiful tempura battered fish that greeted me, atop a serving of a twist on 'chips' - real sliced whole potatoes lightly battered and fried with an umami topping of salt and seaweed freshly served with a delicious garlic aioli. And a nice glass of white wine. And served by the most delightful staff I have ever met in Brussels. I wish Bia Mara was healthy enough for me to be a regular here, but... okay, I'll be back. It was just perfect. 10/10. May not be traditionally Belgian, but it's a treat! Enough said!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bia Mara also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Bia Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing