We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel
Ranked #12 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Visited Pullman Midi with my wife during December 2013.

If you're looking for good customer service in hotels you stay in, rest assured that you will not find it here. While we found the rooms to be good and nice (because I believe this hotel is newly built/renovated), there are numerous short comings.

Check-in was slow as the check-in counter was a small round table with laptops attached. There were only 2 staff present and with 3 groups of guests waiting to be checked-in, one of the staff decided to walk away from her counter. We waited for a good 20mins to even speak to a member of staff regarding check in. The process of checking in was also slow, with the staff having to click through many pages of confirmation and payment of security deposit taking forever. When we were finally given a room, we were not offered to have our bags delivered to our rooms or even showed the way to the elevator.

The room itself was great. The layout was good and there were complimentary movies for guests in the room. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was also large. We had enough space to open up two large suitcases and do our packing in the room. Breakfast was also decent. Though variety was an issue (we stayed 6 nights), the food quality was good. There is a non-spoken live eggs station where you have to ask the chef to make eggs of your choice.

The housekeeping for the hotel though efficient, was not consistent. On some days we'd get a replenish of the shower gels, shampoo etc, on some days we'd get two shampoos and no shower gels, and on some days we'd get none. Some days we'd get 2 towels and some days we'd get 1. Also, calls (three to be exact) to request for toothpaste (hotel didn't provide any) went ignored. All in all, housekeeping was poor for us.

Location of the hotel was also not ideal. Though near to Midi train station, you will need to always purchase a tram ticket to get into the city centre. There is a convenience store right opposite the hotel entrance and some restaurants located across the road but that's all. For attractions and to visit Brussels, you will need to get to the city centre.

Finally, what made our stay really unpleasant was the lack of customer service in the hotel. The staff do not smile at you nor do they proactively approach you to see if you need help. There was once where we approached the front desk to ask for directions and we were brushed off by saying "take a taxi". Thinking that it could be just that particular staff, the same question posed to another staff was answered with "I don't know". I can understand if the staff does not know everything, but I cannot accept that a hotel chain like Pullman do not even try to find out the answers to questions from their guests. In the end, I googled for everything myself, from where to dine near the hotel to what time trains arrive at Midi to how much would a taxi cost. I guess you just don't feel welcomed or warm in this hotel from my experience. It might have been ok if we were here for maybe 1 or 2 nights, but being here for 6 nights and experiencing this everyday took its toll.

I've stayed in a few Pullman properties, both in Europe and in Asia, and the experience at this particular Pullman hotel is probably the worst.

In sum, would I recommend this hotel to a friend? No. Would I stay here again? No.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emile_Lannoy, General Manager at Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear David,

Thank you very much for sharing your most valued feedback on TripAdvisor, although I am disappointed to read that we did not succeed in offering the service you so rightfully expected.

Allow me to ensure you that your experience is not at all living up to the standards that we strive for.
Please rest assured that you feedback is taken seriously and that your comments have been shared amongst the entire Management Team and a follow up is at place.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Brussels, so that my team and I can prove ourselves a better host to you.

Yours Sincerely,

Emile Lannoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emile_Lannoy, Directeur général at Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank KetToh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emile_Lannoy, Directeur général at Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Direct access from Midi train/Eurostar station. Hotel as only been open 6 months so everything still looks new and clean. Classic room is of adequate size and was cheap during this quiet period between Christmas and New Year. Safe in room. Free wifi throughout the hotel. Limited restaurant menu with average prices (2 main courses + 2 dessert + 1 bottle of wine was €117). Bar prices are average for 4 star hotel (50cl beer = €7.95, Gin & tonic =€10). Breakfast is overpriced (as in most hotels) at €19 for continental. Plenty of snack food outlets and some café/bars in and around the station, but no good class restaurants were evident in the immediate area and difficult to find anything after 21.00 hours.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmw37a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emile_Lannoy, Directeur général at Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear guest,

We are delighted to read that your had a nice expericence at Pulllman Brussels Midi and that you appreciates the location of our hotel.

We hope to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards,

Emile Lannoy,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Brilliantly located, when we checked in the concierge couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Telling us exactly where to go and some local knowledge. The room was clean, stylish and had a great in room entertainment system for when you get back to your room. Fantastic service and value for money

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ThomasHolloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emile_Lannoy, Directeur général at Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor.

I am very delighted to read that you appreciated the amenities of our rooms; our guests' comfort of is our priority.

I will be pleased to share your appreciations with our team as they are a great source of motivation.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon,

Kind regards,

Emile Lannoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is a very nicely designed and modern hotel. The area where the hotel is located is not so nice but we didn't care about that very much as we have just stayed over night on our way to Italy. Also, the hotel do not have their own car park and you have to use the public one just next door.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdalena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emile_Lannoy, Directeur général at Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Magdalena,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.
I am delighted that you appreciated the design and comfort of the hotel.
We are committed to the satisfaction of our customers and I took good note of your comment regarding the public parking next to the hotel.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emile Lannoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a romantic getaway between Christmas and New Years. The hotel is probably one of the nicest designed hotels I ever stayed in. That said I must say that the area around the hotel is kinda shabby with a lot of hoodlums. Avoid going around alone at night.

The room is what you expect for a hotel of this standard and immaculate . The bed is quite tough, but I like it that way, the pillows are a different story. There are 2 provided, 1 is very big and fluffy 1 is very small and hard like a brick, both very uncomfortable.

Breakfast is 23 euro which is too much for what was provided. The breakfast logistics needs a makeover too. Queue-ing for the coffee machine where everyone has to pass is very inefficient. On Sunday at 10 they were nearly out of all items including bread. Free tip to the manager: connect the coffee machine to a watersupply and install a quooker for making tea.

Also I was a little disappointed my room had no nespresso machine, by the look from the website it looked like every room had one

Parking in the garage next door is a steep 34 euro, I parked at hallepoort which is 10 minutes away (or one stop by metro) which is 3 euro per day in weekends or 15 on weekdays.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave_utrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emile_Lannoy, Directeur général at Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Dave,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Pullman Brussels Midi during your romantic getaway and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are very delighted that you appreciated the design and comfort of our rooms, as well as the service provided by our teams.

In your comment, you highlighted certain insufficiencies in the service that was provided to you. We are truly sorry for the unsatisfactory experience you witnessed during breakfast time; please accept our sincerest apologies.

Please rest assured that we attach considerable importance to our guests' satisfaction, therefore we have taken immediate action further to your advices.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Emile Lannoy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
1.1 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#15 of 199 in Brussels
4,930 reviews
2 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#9 of 199 in Brussels
1,839 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#72 of 199 in Brussels
2,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel

Address: Place Victor Horta 1, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £82 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pullman Brussels Centre Midi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing