We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment hotel in quite area”
Review of MAS Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MAS Residence
Ranked #2 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The MAS or RAS is a good place to stay in Brussels. We were there for a short break, the two rooms we stayed in were both excellent. The first had a brilliant balcony and the second was a spacious apartment, perfect for a night in if you have a baby.

There is parking available at the hotel for a cost but as it was Easter we parked on the street for free just outside.

Not sure what the area would be like normally but during Easter weekend it was very quite. It's walkable to the old town and subway but they are not close by.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtb105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasRes, Manager at MAS Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.
We are glad to know that we contributed to make your stay more enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you in MAS Residence.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for 6days and 5 nights having made Brussels our base for our Belgian trip. My family of 5 - my husband, daughters aged 21-24, and I drove in from Paris and were driving to Amsterdam after. We knew we wanted to see Ghent, Brugge, and Antwerp and when I compared accomodations among these places I found Brussels still had the best deal. We got 2 suited for 965 euro for our entire stay. I got parking for 90euro for the 5 nights but was refunded this upon checkout as our rental van was too high to get into the garage. Anyway, parking from 6pm to 9am was free and we drove out everyday anyway.

The apartments are very big with a generous living space and a well-equipped kitchen. We didn't get the breakfast at the cafe but just got supplies from the grocery 200 meters away and made our own breakfast as my husband is a typical Filipino and needs to have rice to be satisfied.

Note though that the pillows are quite small. Unfortunately we'd be too rushed in the morning to point this out and too tired at night to care. There is also no lotion provided so don't forget to bring lots. The bathroom and the rest of the apartment were however cleaned everyday and would be spic and span every time we'd come back from our daily adventures.

We were also delighted to see that, as the apartment had no washing machine of its own, a laundromat was just down the street across the supermarket. If you're going on a 15 day trip, travelling light, and having 3 fashionista daughters, washing clothes is pretty essential.

You must go to La Delizia down the road. The next door La Mamma was the recommended one but as the place was full at 9:30pm on a Saturday night we decided to try the Italian next door instead. Serendipity! The place was cozy, the food was good and hearty, the recommended Bianco was superb and everything we ordered disappeared immediately!

There was also a nice Shoarma placwe further down across a Middle Eastern grocery where we got pita wraps for one dinner. Five orders -17euro and my daughters declared it an excellent dinner!

Stay here if you're going to Belgium. I research well. You cannot get a better deal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ManilaGingersnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasRes, Manager at MAS Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay at MAS Residence.
As you rightly point out, Brussels makes a very convienient place to explore Brussels. It offers a a range of cultural activities, excellent restaurants with world cuisine.
In this sense, MAS Residence is well located, close to all main attractions in Brussels and easily accessible by public transport.

We hope that you do not miss Brussels the next time you come to Europe.

Our best regards to the Philipines!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed 3 days and nights, in a standard suite. MAS is located near the EU at the top of the city but only a bracing walk into the old part. Very handy for the EU and Place Lux etc.. Easy to find and because of location easy to find way back to after exploring. Public transport good.

At the weekend it's a very quiet area although you wouldn't guess how nice the residence is on the inside from the outside (If you know what I mean) , nice spacious, clean rooms and very well run.

Our room (ground floor suite had windows that opened onto a nice garden so an airy and pleasant outlook) was modern, more stylish than us and was well equipped.

The bed was super comfy/firm (although you might ask for an extra pillow), really excellent shower and bathroom, good air con etc. The rooms are suites so you get a kitchenette, sofa, desk , chairs and would be ideal for staying to visit the city , working or meeting with friends as you could entertain in a small way if need be. All very nicely presented and passed the spousal clean test on arrival.

Minibar quite reasonably priced for an emergency bottle of wine or two and there are some small grocery shops are a short walk away or a very short drive. The fridge was useful to keep things cool but there were kettles, plates, cups etc if you want to bring and prepare your own food and drinks. Small amounts of tea and coffee provided.

Pictures on websites are pretty much how the rooms looked- no trick photography! Other reviews I read about MAS on this and other sites seemed by and large very accurate.

Parking at the weekend is free outside on the roads around the residence and there is lots of it. I think the hotel has a small amount of its own parking. Parking in Brussels seemed very easy and mostly free at the weekend. Pay and display machines took cash and cards and quite cheap after UK prices. Parking patrol did show up at 09:15 on working days though so its worth paying if you need to.

Any negatives? No not really. I was being very picky then, I found the Wifi was generally fast but sometimes a little flaky connecting with my iPad. However my laptop (Mac) was fine as was my Android phone . Hotel staff took this issue on board and undertook to investigate and say that this is a high priority because they understand how important this is for business travellers.

Very good contact and cordial relations before and after the stay from Ms Diaz. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lahDdah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasRes, Community Manager at MAS Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you took the time to write this excellent review. Our goal at MAS Residence is to offer a comfortable experience to each of our guest, and we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments encourage our team to keep the good work. We hope to welcome you again sometime soon. Thank you for staying at MAS Residence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at MAS Residence.

The apartment was clean, spacious and quiet with a brilliantly powerful shower which we appreciated after long days of exploring!

Great location too as the walk to the city centre is brief, but through a lovely park near the royal palace area.

Finally, the staff were particularly excellent - kind, happy, helpful and extremely polite.

Overall a fantastic stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasRes, Community Manager at MAS Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Lauren,
Thanks for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed walking from MAS Residence to the city center; strolling through the Royal Park is one of our favorites too! We hope to welcome you again at MAS Residence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The heading says it all. From the time we rang the doorbell to when we closed the door on departure the staff were very helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble. We were shown to our apartment in lower ground level upon arrival and I was a little worried about this however I was greater by a light airy room. The spacious lounge dining room opened onto a small private garden courtyard. Rooms were simply but tastefully decorated. Great cable or satellite TV with plenty of channels in English and other languages. Free wi fi that worked well. Comfortable bed!

Kitchenette had hotplates, microwave and basic cooking utensils, crockery and storage areas. No washing machine, No dishwasher ( didn't bother us) no convection or conventional oven and no toaster which is really the only fault we could find. I do understand some other larger apartments have additional equipment.

Close to two Metro's and a short walk to a train station. Several small grocery stores in the area.
the management should seriously consider opening in other locations in Europe we would definitely stay with them again.

Room Tip: For longer term stays where you want to shop and cook choose a room with more equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThailandKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasRes, Community Manager at MAS Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Kathy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. If you visit us another time, please feel free to ask for any additional kitchen equipment you might need. Our staff will gladly provide a toaster, a kettle, a coffee-maker, or any other kitchen utensil that might make your cooking easier.
We hope to welcome you again at MAS Residence!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We enjoyed a lovely 4 night stay here in April 2014. All of the staff are very helpful and friendly and the rooms themselves are spacious and well appointed. The Mas Residence is situated on a quiet street. Our apartment faced the garden so we heard absolutely nothing from outside so we slept fine on a lovely big bed but we could hear the people upstairs moving about quite clearly. Thick underlay and soft carpets would solve this problem.

The apartments are a good 15 minute walk from the Grand Place and about 10 minutes walk from the EU Parliament. The nearest metro stations are Arts Loi and Maelbeek. Both are about 5 minutes walk. We used Arts Loi as there is Carrefour at this metro station so you can make use of the self catering facilities.

All in all we had a good time in Brussels and when we return we would definitely stay at the Mas Residence again.

Room Tip: I should think all the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyandHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasRes, Community Manager at MAS Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Jimmy and Heather,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken note about the sound isolation of the room and we will try to fix this as soon as possible. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Brussels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This apartment was very nice and spacious. For the price this was great value. We stayed here as it offered parking but we actually just parked for free on the street all weekend. The room was well-equipped with everything we needed but was a little bland and lacked attention to detail (teabags had not been replenished, air-con remote missing, only 1 spare pillow, no "do not disturb sign" for door). Also we were now staying in the main apartment block and our lobby contained no tourist/information leaflets or brochures. The apartment is a good 15/20min walk away from the city centre but there is bicycle hire near by and it only cost e10 home in a taxi on the Saturday night. The only problem with the room was that the bed was rock hard and the pillows were barely there! We only had one spare pillow in the bedroom so I did have to go to reception quite late one night to get a spare. It was not a comfortable night sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AideenL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasRes, Community Manager at MAS Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Aideen,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We appreciate your comments, and we will pay more attention on the details you pointed out so we can offer our guest a more comfortable stay.
Thank you for choosing us for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,106 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,458 reviews
1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Brussels EU
Courtyard Brussels EU
#5 of 198 in Brussels
213 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#14 of 198 in Brussels
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MAS Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MAS Residence

Address: Rue de Spa 14 | Quartier Européen, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £63 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MAS Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAS Residence is a boutique hotel that offers a personalised service that allows business people and tourists to have a pleasant stay in Brussels. Located in a quiet area on the European quarter and only 15 minutes walking from Brussels' downtown and Grand Place, it is the best option for business or leisure. Its situation between Schuman and Arts-Loi metro stations allows reaching easily the international Airport, the international Expo in Heysel and Tour & Taxis, the Concert Noble and other touristic attractions in the Capital of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MAS Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing