We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Poechenellekelder

Poechenellekelder
Ranked #3 of 94 Nightlife in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very nice bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We came here on our recent trip to Brussels for a few drinks one evening. There is a great atmosphere and the staff are very nice and helpful. Drinks are reasonably priced and is in a great location, just a few minutes walk outside Grand-Place. Definitely worth a visit to, even if just for one drink.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank amandamandypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    136
    21
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant Belgian bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Can only echo the previous reviews, a must if visiting Brussels. A great example of a Belgian bar, spoilt for choice with selection of beers, a great atmosphere and quirky decor

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Totally brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

No need to wax lyrical about this fantastic bar. It's everything you could ever wish for in a city bar/bistro.
Beer is great, service is great, food is great... very busy so don't leave it too late.
A 'must see' in Brussels.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
440 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice cosy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

I'm living in Brussels and this is one of my (many) favourites in town, surely when you are in the city-centre.The only "minus" is that this place is mostly full or you have to look out for a table.
You're of course very close the "grand-place" so...Lots of differents beer and their spaghetti is very good.Interior is special and authentic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KristinVanCauteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“English speakers: avoid at all costs! ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I don't know where to start from with that place.. From the moment we sat and had to ask for the waiter's attention to order, our night was ruined. We had a plastic bottle of water on the table (a must for every traveller) and when we asked to order he said in a snobbish way half English half French "not unless you take the bottle away". We should have left at that point but unfortunately we didn't. There are countless beers on the menu with no description whatsoever as to their differences, and the waiter would not even try to help us at all even though we asked for help. He didn't care and he made it evident.
We ordered 2 beers and we asked whether they have French fries. The waiter almost turned red with anger and without even looking at us said in half English half French again "there are no fries that are French, they are from Belgium" leaving fast, immediately as he finished his sentence.
At this point the other waiters started coming to our table to make fun of us. One of them came in front of us and was staring at us without saying a word. I said "we have already ordered" and he said "I know" while trying not to laugh, keeping on standing right in front of us, staring us in the eyes. I said it 4 times, and 4 times he replied "I know" while doing exactly the same, until he left.
About 20 minutes had passed and the beers were not there (a steak would have arrived by that time, let alone beer!). As we would miss the last bus by the time we got them and drank them, we stood up and said that we're leaving, reassuring them that it's only because of the time and that there was no other problem (!). And then as we said that, the waiter starts shouting at us "there's no problem for you but there's a problem for me!".
Avoid, avoid, avoid, unless you enjoy being treated like another worthless customer and an object to mess around with.

Helpful?
3 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poechenellekelder also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Poechenellekelder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing