We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location location & great value for money”
Review of The Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Moon Hotel
Ranked #139 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 12 February 2014

If you are looking for a clean and best located room, don't want to spend too much and do not expect luxury or great comfort, this is just your place. Clean rooms, nice bath with hot water. 1m walking to the Grand Place, 5 min walking from the Gare Centrale, just next to the Galeries Royales St Hubert. Better located is hard to find. Very friendly personnel, basic small rooms, clean and quiet (I took a room to the backyard). Steep stairs. The breakfast room is tiny, the breakfast can be improved but OK. Very recommended. I will visit again with pleasure!

Room Tip: Better you ask for a room on the back side. On the weekends there can be a lot of noise until late n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panioann77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Made a booking via an on line site to stay here 2 nights the night before arrival.

The following afternoon I made a call to confirm the boking due to the poor reviews for this hotel and was greeted with "No, No booking" and the boss isn't here and that he only checks bookings in the morning , was gone for the day. So I tried to cancel and was informed it would cost me and the whole experience was nothing short of rude,, then to add insult to injury I receives some very rude emails from the owner the following day .. best avoided if they cant get booking together !!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gcadogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheMoon, Manager at The Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

This is a totally false. Wow!!

You made a booking via Hostelworld.com on the 4th of February. The booking was confirmed.and you received a confirmation by mail. A confirmation email is sent after each booking.

You called us on the day of arrival, mid afternoon, to CANCEL and not to confirm the booking as you are claiming here. ( I have emails to prove it that I can happily share with tripadvisor!) We told you that you will be charged for one night as you are canceling late! You read and accepted the cancellation policy before making the booking so why all the fuss?

At no point during the phone call, we said anything rude to you. We had no reason to be.

It is you who got 'pissed' because you had to pay for late cancellation. It seems that you have never traveled abroad Ireland. It is also you that threatened us in emails to take the issue further (or is that it? your mighty review?), it is also you who recorded our phone conversation (illegally mind you) and you are not using the recording to back you up because it is all made up lies.

The hotel has poor reviews? So why did you book it? 81% overall score on Hostelworld.com is hardly poor.

Nothing more to add. You wasted my time but I had to respond

M
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is loctaed in the best location : 1 step from the Grand Place, 2 steps from Gare Central, couldn't be better. It is a small - actually, tiny - hotel, very warm welcoming.
All we were looking for was a reasonably priced hotel at the center, since we left the hotel at 8 am every morning and got back at 10 pm.

ROOMS - clean and basic, clean and tidy. Towels are changed every day, hot water in the shower, lots of strage room. Although our room faced the front we had no noise troubles.

BREAKFAST - included coofe, tea, croissants and other freash pastries, bread (white and whole), butter and jam, cerials. Just enought to hang on until your first Waffle ;-)

RECEPTION - actually it is a dest located at the stairway, very helpful staff with warm atmosphere.

WiFi - best signal is in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Place Agora have a typical european view, loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dundun0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for one night and wouldn't ever consider it again. Wifi doesnt work at all. Fan broken in room. Entire window/door came out of the wall. NO LOCK ON DOOR and must turn in your key every time you leave. Service was scarce and not helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

If you are looking for a clean and best located room, dont want to spend too much and do not expect luxury or great comfort - this is your place.

1 minute to the Grand Place, 5 min from the Gare Centrale, just beside the Galeries Royales St Hubert. Better located is hard to find.

Very friendly personnel, basic small rooms, clean and quiet (I always take a room to the backyard). Steep stairs. The breakfast room is tiny, the breakfast improvable but ok.

I always come back with pleasure!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

For the price of this hotel, I could not ask for too much more. There was a bed, a heater, tv and a bathroom. It was small but clean. I wish there was a lift as my luggage was heavy and there was no porter to help carry it up stairs. Live and learn. Breakfast was small but I was satisfied. Location was great! Only a short walk to the Grand Plaza.

Room Tip: Request lower floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrldtravelorAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

stayed there with a group of friends. booked two nights initially but had to book a nearby hotel because of exceptionally rude, unprofessional and sexist staff. on the first night the receptionist pushed back past a girl without giving ANY reason. he proceeded to the window, looked down then went back to the door saying in an aggressive manner that he will be back. when confronted, we were escorted to the restaurant beneath where we were told to speak to the waiters. they finally filled us on the details. it turned out some water was dripped on the guests and waiters assumed it could have come from one of the rooms above. they talked to the receptionists who then proceeded to "sort it out" in his very unique way. waiters understandably had no complaints to us. the receptionist STILL did not think he had done anything wrong. after the incident we felt our privacy was violated and did not feel safe. unfortunately hotels nearby did not have any rooms available. we were ready to pay for another room to avoid having to stay the night in The Moon

Room Tip: best look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darragh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheMoon, Manager at The Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

This is totally untrue but expected from these clients.

The guests had initially booked for one night through Hostelworld.com. When they arrived, they requested for one more night. We had a room available the next day so there was no problem.

During the night, however, problems started. There is a restaurant below the hotel where people are able to sit outside. A couple were having their dinner, when water, cigarette buds and toilet papers were thrown at them and at other tables. The dining couple and 2 waiters clearly saw the 3 girls throwing from their room window. A total of 7 witnesses.
In fact, when that happened, they were the only clients on the 2nd floor in their rooms!!

The restaurant staff came to the hotel to complain and our staff went to their room and knocked - did not force !! - and asked them to come downstairs to explain. The staff was not rude at any moment.

When they arrived downstairs, it was them who were shouting right, left and center. The next door's waiters were not happy with them and neither were the dining couple but they realized that the girls were either drunk or high on drugs and left the issue. No sensible discussion was possible with them.

We told them to leave the hotel by morning despite them wanting to stay one more night.

On top of that, they messed up the room when they checked out, lost the room key and were rude to the cleaning lady.

Their rating and opinion about the hotel should be removed as it is completely false!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#122 of 199 in Brussels
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#89 of 199 in Brussels
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#113 of 199 in Brussels
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.0 mi away
Hotel Agora Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Hotel

Address: Rue de la Montagne 4/bis | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £51 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Moon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing