We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but noisy location.”
Review of The Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Moon Hotel
Ranked #137 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The location is great. You are just upstairs from plenty on cafés and only a minute from the centre. Our room overlooked a lovely square which unfortunately was full of drunk people making noise until nearly 4am, the fact our fan was broken didn't help as we had to leave the French doors open.
The bathroom is decent, but the toilet rather noisy. The bed could have been better for the price. Next time i would stay in one of the chain hotels that are on the same square as I expect they would be nicer, for a very similar price.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very good location, near the train station, tourist spots, shopping malls and restaurants. Staff were accommodating and friendly. Room has a good space and very clean. Worth the price. Highly recommended to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Imelda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

As with many economy hotels, this is a 2+ story walk-up: one flight to the desk, at least another to the rooms. Rooms are completely adequate for a visit of a few days when you seek a place to stay rather than to lounge, though the lighting is poor. Bathroom is small, but they change the linens daily. Our room had a view across a broad air shaft to the kitchen of a restaurant on the next block, so we had to keep the curtains closed. Simple but adequate breakfast buffet included in the price of the room.
Location is excellent: half a block from the underground entrance to the Central Station, a short blocks to the Grand Place. Helpful staff: we arrived early AM from an overnight flight and asked to leave our bags in their luggage room until check-in time; when we returned later they had put the bags in the room.
Negatives? Thin doors. When visitors knocked on the door across the hall from our room it sounded as though they were knocking on our door.
When in Brussels on business I stay at considerably higher-standard hotels, but for personal tourism this is completely adequate, comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AfricaAsiaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is in a good location and for what it is, it wasn't terrible. However, I have 2 main complaints: first off, there was no AC which I didn't not know when I was booking (could've sworn it said there was AC) and the days we were there it was hot so the room got a little uncomfortable. Also, the safe in our room was locked still (from the previous guest I think) and when we asked the front desk about it they just told us that they could not do anything about. That coupled with the fact that someone came in everyday to clean up made me a little bit uneasy. Otherwise, 3 night stay was ok. Bed was clean and comfortable (aside from being hot) and the room was spacious enough for 2 people. I would not stay here again because of the lack of AC and non-working safe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Make no mistake with the rating, this is a fine economy choice. Very basic with a great location and a great price. But economy hotels cannot rate higher than a 3 overall. Barebones efficient and a great value. Everything else in town is at least 70 Euros more expensive pet night. Easy check in. Great choice of you want location and savings.

1  Thank MarcT555
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Brussel is one capital with small town atmosphere, this hotel was one nice surprise, okay it have only bedroom that is permitted to smoke, small private wc, so simple breakfast but it has more benefits than bad things, first of all it is near to the central train station, the best restaurants, beer stores, the sightseeing places and Pubs with wonderful draft and bottled beer. Ah! The chocolate stores, squares and museum too are not more far than 6-7 blocks. And for my last surprise, the megabus to london was 2 blocks from the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guizeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Perfect location, right next to main city train station and city metro service. Light breakfast included! Wifi included, good service! Few complaints given the low rate, but bathroom could definitely be cleaner.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Bryan233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#121 of 199 in Brussels
347 reviews
0 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#109 of 199 in Brussels
749 reviews
0 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.3 mi away
Hotel Orts
Hotel Orts
#126 of 199 in Brussels
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#152 of 199 in Brussels
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Hotel

Address: Rue de la Montagne 4/bis | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £51 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Moon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing