We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but nothing else”
Review of Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Windsor
Ranked #171 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
181 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good location, but nothing else”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Conveniently located right between the city center and the Brussels-Midi rail station, this hotel serves as a good place to be if you plan to visit Brussels by train or plan to make day-trips to other near locations. Both the rail station and city center are at walking distance (10-15 min at most). Room are quite basic, with somewhat old furniture and bed linens. Do not count on accessing wi-fi in your room (most of the time, it will simply not work). Pillows are awfully thin, which may be problematic for some. Other than that, avoid the fifth floor if you plan on taking the elevator up (yes, the elevator goes only up to the forth floor, then you have to climb a set of steps. Staff was friendly enough with all my requests to print train tickets everyday.

Room Tip: Avoid fifth floor if you plan on taking the elevator (it only goes up to the fourth floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    34
    60
    45
    47
See reviews for
22
70
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Thought our room would be nice seeing as the reception is very clean and modern but the room was dirty and the paint on the walls was blistering. The tv was the size of my phone and there is no air conditioning at all which we needed because it was over 30 degrees celsius this summer in brussels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngtraveller113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Malta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel is located in a good location. 10-15 mins walk to both train station and to central. Room was not of the nicest I've been, but considering the price I've paid I was pretty satisfied. Staff was all very friendly and cooperated with us. I recommend this hotel for whoever's travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odessa-31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel has had some unfair reviews, I found it a great budget hotel in a brilliant location, only 5 min walk from grand place (centre).the 1 slight problem I had was the mattress was to hard and was quite uncomfortable but It wouldn't put me off coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan
Level Contributor
215 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The first year we were prepared to put up with the place: the second year it was the same price but a small mortgage for the breakfast. The room in which we stayed still had exactly the same faults: the door into the shower didn't fit the frame, and the toilet door just kept swinging open. There was still the same old TV with a broken support on the wall.
The staff pleaded that Booking.com were charging so much in commission that they couldn't afford to include breakfast any more(?). The breakfast was its only redeeming feature. They also could only speak English if it suited them. When asked if the manager was present I was told 'he wasn't there' but there was someone behind the scenes watching us: spooky! The lift has no door or cage covering the entrance and if you're unlucky you can count/touch the doors as they pass. The shower was unusable because it had no shower door and there was nowhere to had the shower attachment. There was also no holder for the soap. In my opinion this 'hotel' would receive no custom were it not for its location and the lift is a health and safety risk.

Room Tip: Don't go too high in the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frohlix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vichy, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Although small and modest it has a very very convenient location. It is normally clean, not as much as I like but just enough, and the heater worked well. Not anything luxury but good for sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
580 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Although the hotel has a decent location in Brussels terms, our one night stay was ruined by the ugly bite marks on our legs, which was most probably due to a bed bug colony in the mattress. Revolting.. never again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPwayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#75 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barry
Hotel Barry
#168 of 199 in Brussels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.6 mi away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#120 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chantecler
Hotel Chantecler
#157 of 199 in Brussels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor

Property: Hotel Windsor
Address: Place Rouppe 13, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Windsor 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing