We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Budget hotel”
Review of Alma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alma Hotel
Ranked #100 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Williston Park, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Low Budget hotel”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed here in December by myself. I booked a special rate through their website but was unaware that meant I would a dark dingy little room. I was on the first floor in room 103 but the way the room was decorated made me feel like I was in the basement. The brown theme of the rooms looks like its from the 70's. I was also given a single bed after requesting a double bed (I am 6'5) and they would not change my room unless I paid more money. The walls were very thin and every time someone walked by in the hall it made my door move which made me think someone was trying to get in. Also the heat is only controlled by the front desk so if you want it on of off or adjusted you can to call them every time. The wifi is 5 euros a day which is absurd in 2013 especially since it is free in the lobby and you can pick it up from your room if you are on a low floor. I also had a friend come visit me (at 3 in the afternoon) and he was questioned by the front desk and asked repeatedly if he was spending the night and what was the purpose of his visit. They then demanded a copy of his ID to make a copy for their records. That made me really angry. I would never even consider staying here again, there are better places that give you more for the "low price".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rcmc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Rcmc85,

Thank you for sharing your concern while staying at Alma Hotel Grand Place.

We do regret the hotel doesn’t meet your expectation, especially regarding the our room.

Rest assured that your comments have been taken into consideration and has already been forwarded to the department head concerned for a corrective action.

Sincerely yours,

Mathieu JACOB
Sales & Marketing Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    243
    117
    42
    26
See reviews for
52
202
69
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in December. Location is fantastic - closes proximity to Centraal Station, just 5 minute walk. Is right next to Grand Place, which was great to visiting the Christmas markets. Negatives were that you have to pay for internet, and breakfast, and the room was extremely hot (not heating control in room - you need to call the front desk). Also did not like he requirement to hand in key when going out for the day, with no ID checks before returning key. Worried me from a security perspective. Would stay again, and recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Helief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Helief,

I thank you for your comment.

It is always a pleasure to read a comment like your.

Please note that we'll take into consideration your remarks in order to improve us in the future.

We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Mathieu JACOB
Sales & Marketing Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
330 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Room at street side 2 nd floor. Desk staff at time of check in not friendly Clean and nice hotel, but bars all around. Loud people ALL night long including drunks and police until after 7 AM going up and down the street

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jaybirdrcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Staffordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed at the Alma for two nights whilst on a business trip It was clean and friendly hotel with a unique way of purchasing drinks and snacks which was to have a card stamped when you bought something this was then totted up on check out, a very trusting style!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your review. it's so pleasant to read comments like yours ! The Alma Hotel Team thank you for your stay !

See you soon in Brussels !

Mathieu JACOB
Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I was in Brussels for 3 days and this time needed to stay very central. I had read the reviews and felt this hotel would suffice for my requirements. I arrived early and was able to leave my bag in storage until check-in. The receptionists throughout my visit were excellent and helpful. When I checked in I was pleasantly surprised by the room. It was large, clean and very, very functional. The bed was comfortable and the en-suite was spotless. For the price and location I cannot fault this hotel. As my return flight wasn't until the evening they kindly stored my bag until it was time for me to go to the airport. I thought I had found the best in Brussels for service and value but this hotel ranks just as good. Room internet access is available at €5 per day and is well worth paying for.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are probably quieter. I was in room 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JG H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Traveller,

We thank you very much for this beautiful review! We will share your message with the team, its the best encouragement they can have !

See you !

Mathieu JACOB
Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

It's billed as a budget hotel but it is by no means basic. My room was spacious and the bathroom was excellent. The decor was fresh and modern and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The self-service cafe is inexpensive with good coffee for just €1.
The location is perfect. Less than a minute walk from Grand-Place/Grote Markt and only 5 mins walk from Central Station. There are lots of bars, restaurants and shops only a few steps from the hotel. I can't recommend this hotel enough. Book and pay early to get the best deals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiedevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ALMA HOTEL. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely.

Mathieu JACOB
Marketing Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia Antipolis, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Alma appears to be well located, in the center of Brussels, only a short walk from the main square or the Manneken - pis. Charming receptionist in the afternoon and the room, if not great, is comfortable and clean. So what's the problem? The problem is that I come to a hotel to sleep and that street noise of drunken youths, yelling or fighting prevented me from resting and sleeping. Following the first night, I came down to reception and asked to switch to a room on the back side of the hotel. To no avail! the stubborn morning receptionnist refused repeatedly despite the fact that numerous guests were checking out that morning. On the second night, same story. I called repeatedly the receptionist. "the police is coming" . . . but it did not. And the receptionist "feared for his safety" and did not want to step out and ask people to quiet down. Too bad. I can't recommand this hotel and I won't be back here.

Room Tip: back side of the hotel if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SundayNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#106 of 199 in Brussels
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Dixseptieme
Le Dixseptieme
#83 of 199 in Brussels
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#91 of 199 in Brussels
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Hotel

Property: Alma Hotel
Address: Rue des Eperonniers 42-44 | Spoormakersstraat 42-44, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Brussels! Situated in the historic centre of Brussels, Hotel Alma is 5 minutes' walk away from the Gare Centrale and public transport (tram, bus, metro). This makes it very easy for you to get to the heart of the European quarter or to the Atomium. Just leave Hotel Alma to find your happiness, whatever it may be: a nice little café or a Michelin starred restaurant, trendy bars and old bistros, Belgian beers, exhibitions, stately homes and quarters. Even if you're on a tight schedule, you'll have time to see all the sights that can't be missed: our Grand Place, so beautiful it will take your breath away (+/- 200m away), Manneken Pis (+/- 500m), Brussels' most international "Kets" and the superb Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert (+/- 500m away). Just a few steps away there is also the museum quarter and the Sablon, a square full of trendy bars, exclusive boutiques and experts in everything from chocolate to antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Grand Palace Brussels
Hotel Alma Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing