We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alma Hotel
Ranked #98 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great value for money, the hotel reception staff were nothing but friendly, helpful and welcoming.

The room (103) was quite small but it was very comfortable and incredibly clean and did the job for our stay. The shower was fantastic, good temperature and pressure which was great after a long car journey to Belgium.

The hotel has a 24 hour buffet of snacks and drinks which was fantastic for us when we just wanted to grab a quick snack.

The location of the hotel could not be more perfect, it's just off the Grand Place so is a bit quieter but still very central and only a seconds walk to get back in the hassle and bustle of bars, restaurants and cafes.

Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Brussels.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Rebecca,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your views and experience regarding your stay at the Alma Grand Place.

We thank you for your comments and I am pleased to read you enjoyed the quality of the hospitality, the service provided as well as our professional staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mathieu JACOB
S&M Deparment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    241
    114
    40
    26
See reviews for
50
200
68
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long branch, NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Although this hotel is a good dollar value and is in a terrific location....it was the wrong place for us to be at the end of a two week trip. Where to start...We had tewo rooms...one had TV with CNN the other had TV but no CNN, the directions to use the phone were wrong...when we complained about not being able to call each others rooms we were told "it is a good thing your rooms are close...you can go knock on their door" then they told us to enter a "3" in before we called...still didn't work, on the last day they said they made a mistake it was dial a 4 to get the other rooms. We were out of tissues and when we asked at the front desk if she could get us some she said that she didn't have a key to the supply closet and we would have to wait till morning...I wonder what would have happened if I needed toilet paper!!!..There was no breakfast but you could puchase breakfast items for 1,2, 3 or 4 euros...nothuing looked the least bit appetizing. In my room the shower was not in a tub a basin...The shower had a circlular curtian and you stood on a grate for the water to drain through...needless to say the whole bathroom floor was covered with water after each shower. Temperature in the rooms is controlled by the main desk ...little odd. Tjis hotel is one of three owned by the same company in Brussels....I am sure they do business the same way in each....not worth it. WiFi is available in the lobby but if you want it in the rooms...5euros for an hour...tried it signal was too weak to get anything done! PS. The hotel receptionist was terrific...I felt bad for her trying to dodge the bullets.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I do apologize if your stay at the Hotel Alma did not meet your expectations.

I am very sorry to read the issues in relation with our televisions and with our staff, please do accept our apologize for this matter.

Please rest assured that I have shared your comments with the department head concerned, and the necessary actions have been taken to avoid reoccurrence.

Very best regards,

Mathieu JACOB
S&M Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Location doesn't really get much better than this! This is a quaint hotel just off one of the main side streets leading to the Grand Place. The rooms are nicely sized, if traveling alone or sharing for two singles. I had a room on the third floor overlooking the street, and yes, it is a bit noisy if you are staying on the weekend but it didn't make me stay awake all night. If you are looking for some good, clean, affordable accommodations, then this is the right place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, i would like to thank you for your comment.

It's always a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay at Alma Hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Yous Sincerely,

Mathieu Jacob
Sales&Marketing Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williston Park, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed here in December by myself. I booked a special rate through their website but was unaware that meant I would a dark dingy little room. I was on the first floor in room 103 but the way the room was decorated made me feel like I was in the basement. The brown theme of the rooms looks like its from the 70's. I was also given a single bed after requesting a double bed (I am 6'5) and they would not change my room unless I paid more money. The walls were very thin and every time someone walked by in the hall it made my door move which made me think someone was trying to get in. Also the heat is only controlled by the front desk so if you want it on of off or adjusted you can to call them every time. The wifi is 5 euros a day which is absurd in 2013 especially since it is free in the lobby and you can pick it up from your room if you are on a low floor. I also had a friend come visit me (at 3 in the afternoon) and he was questioned by the front desk and asked repeatedly if he was spending the night and what was the purpose of his visit. They then demanded a copy of his ID to make a copy for their records. That made me really angry. I would never even consider staying here again, there are better places that give you more for the "low price".

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rcmc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Rcmc85,

Thank you for sharing your concern while staying at Alma Hotel Grand Place.

We do regret the hotel doesn’t meet your expectation, especially regarding the our room.

Rest assured that your comments have been taken into consideration and has already been forwarded to the department head concerned for a corrective action.

Sincerely yours,

Mathieu JACOB
Sales & Marketing Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in December. Location is fantastic - closes proximity to Centraal Station, just 5 minute walk. Is right next to Grand Place, which was great to visiting the Christmas markets. Negatives were that you have to pay for internet, and breakfast, and the room was extremely hot (not heating control in room - you need to call the front desk). Also did not like he requirement to hand in key when going out for the day, with no ID checks before returning key. Worried me from a security perspective. Would stay again, and recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Helief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Helief,

I thank you for your comment.

It is always a pleasure to read a comment like your.

Please note that we'll take into consideration your remarks in order to improve us in the future.

We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Mathieu JACOB
Sales & Marketing Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
322 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Room at street side 2 nd floor. Desk staff at time of check in not friendly Clean and nice hotel, but bars all around. Loud people ALL night long including drunks and police until after 7 AM going up and down the street

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jaybirdrcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed at the Alma for two nights whilst on a business trip It was clean and friendly hotel with a unique way of purchasing drinks and snacks which was to have a card stamped when you bought something this was then totted up on check out, a very trusting style!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Alma Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your review. it's so pleasant to read comments like yours ! The Alma Hotel Team thank you for your stay !

See you soon in Brussels !

Mathieu JACOB
Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#102 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Dixseptieme
Le Dixseptieme
#83 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#90 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#146 of 200 in Brussels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Hotel

Property: Alma Hotel
Address: Rue des Eperonniers 42-44 | Spoormakersstraat 42-44, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Brussels! Situated in the historic centre of Brussels, Hotel Alma is 5 minutes' walk away from the Gare Centrale and public transport (tram, bus, metro). This makes it very easy for you to get to the heart of the European quarter or to the Atomium. Just leave Hotel Alma to find your happiness, whatever it may be: a nice little café or a Michelin starred restaurant, trendy bars and old bistros, Belgian beers, exhibitions, stately homes and quarters. Even if you're on a tight schedule, you'll have time to see all the sights that can't be missed: our Grand Place, so beautiful it will take your breath away (+/- 200m away), Manneken Pis (+/- 500m), Brussels' most international "Kets" and the superb Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert (+/- 500m away). Just a few steps away there is also the museum quarter and the Sablon, a square full of trendy bars, exclusive boutiques and experts in everything from chocolate to antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Grand Palace Brussels
Hotel Alma Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing