We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located, ok for business trips” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alma Hotel
Ranked #98 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
B
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Centrally located, ok for business trips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located right in the middle of Brussels, quite close to the station Bruxelles Central. The rooms are spacious and furnished in a practical, but not cosy, stylish or modern way. They are clean and the beds are comfortable. As for amenities, there are toiletries and a hairdryer in the bathroom. However, wifi is only available in the lobby and also restricted to a certain download limit. Breakfast is not included: there is a self-service area on the ground floor, where you can buy drinks and snacks as well as breakfast items, but I felt that it was overpriced. It's nicer to go to one of the cafés which are located nearby. The staff at the reception were friendly, but on one of my stays, I wanted to check in early - that would have cost me 35 Euros extra, which I don't fnd particularly customer-minded. All in all, the hotel is of average quality to me.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mw-turi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    241
    114
    40
    26
See reviews for
50
200
68
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights - Fri through Sun. Centrally located hotel, 3 min walk from the Grand Place and close to the Central railway station (20 min journey to the airport). The room was exceptionally quiet - courtyard facing, spacious, functional, with all standard amenities, great beds, safe deposit box, etc. Wi Fi in the room at additional cost and it was the only disappointment. Breakfast was optional, so I can't comment. I got a great deal on weekend stay so I would stay there again at this price. Not at the rack rate circa EUR 200 advertised at the reception desk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed 4 nights in March 2014. It is a standard inner Brussels hotel. Location of this hotel is great: one minute from Grand Place; less than five minutes from central station. Staff are OK: they seem reserved, maybe a bit off-hand, as all hotel staff I have met in Brussels. Room was a reasonable size with reasonable bathroom ensuite. Occasional noise from outside (people yelling to each other as they walked along the street below) overnight woke me up most nights: it should have better sound-proofing. Breakfast is provided, but it is not up to the standard of the usual buffet provided in other Brussels hotels I have stayed in. It is like getting breakfast from a vending machine, with limited choices. The only cereal was Coco Pops. No toast. Croissants but no butter or jam. A coffee machine which was good but no milk to put in tea.
Wifi at a cost in rooms but free in lounge, which was good, but a bit slow to connect.
Overall, it is average but with very limited breakfast. Breakfast is important to me, so I won’t be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Excellent location just round the corner from the main square. Rooms ok. Clean and functional but nothing special. No real views from your room because it us up a side street off the square. Top tip is a bar round the corner called delirium cafe. 30 beers on tap great rock music staff were really helpful. And the place itself is quirky and original. Worth a look :) main neg about the hotel is 5euro for 24 hours Internet access. When u can only check in after 3 and have to check out for 11! Pay for 24 get 20! Most decent hotels now u get Internet for free!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redqueeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed there for one night in February. It's functional but very basic. Walls between rooms are very thin hence it's quite noisy. Well located, good sized room.

Wifi is not free and is very very slow which for most people on business is huge no-no. Although the check-in staff were super helpful the whole experience felt very budget.

If you're staying for one night, on a budget and will likely spend only a small amount of time then it's fine otherwise I wouldn't bother.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidJBLevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here for a weekend on a last minute trip, they put us in a basement room (but it did have a window) but being in the basement was weird. In addition, they didn't let us take our room keys with us outside of the hotel, they made us drop them off at the front desk every time we left. Given there were sales at other nearby hotels I'd probably spend the few extra bucks next time and stay elsewhere.

There also was no temperature control in our room so the heat was blasting the entire time. I was fine with it since it was pretty cold outside, but I could imagine this being an issue for some.

Room Tip: Stay out of the basement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel since it was centrally located (near grand place and the central station). The room was clean and large. The room heater would go on and off and made the room really hot and unbearable but you cannot control this your self, you need ask the reception to turn it off/on. There is no free WiFi in the rooms (you have to pay 5 EUR/24 hours) however there is free WiFi in the lounge. The breakfast, which is not included in the room rate is self service. I would say that the staff were not very friendly, however they were helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#102 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Dixseptieme
Le Dixseptieme
#82 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#89 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#146 of 200 in Brussels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Hotel

Property: Alma Hotel
Address: Rue des Eperonniers 42-44 | Spoormakersstraat 42-44, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Brussels! Situated in the historic centre of Brussels, Hotel Alma is 5 minutes' walk away from the Gare Centrale and public transport (tram, bus, metro). This makes it very easy for you to get to the heart of the European quarter or to the Atomium. Just leave Hotel Alma to find your happiness, whatever it may be: a nice little café or a Michelin starred restaurant, trendy bars and old bistros, Belgian beers, exhibitions, stately homes and quarters. Even if you're on a tight schedule, you'll have time to see all the sights that can't be missed: our Grand Place, so beautiful it will take your breath away (+/- 200m away), Manneken Pis (+/- 500m), Brussels' most international "Kets" and the superb Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert (+/- 500m away). Just a few steps away there is also the museum quarter and the Sablon, a square full of trendy bars, exclusive boutiques and experts in everything from chocolate to antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Grand Palace Brussels
Hotel Alma Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing