We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and clean hotel”
Review of Alma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alma Hotel
Ranked #99 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Charming hotel just the Gran Place.
The check in was pretty late at 15:00 but there were plenty of places nearby to grab a coffee, bite to eat or a glass of something stronger.
The staff were lovely, Linda in particular (the Spanish receptionist) deserves a special mention. Had a smile for everyone and was a real joy to chat with.

My only real criticism would be of the shower/bathrooms.

Our shower was literally over a wooden grill which meant that the water got everywhere. As we were constantly mopping up, this meant there was a lack of towels.

Ideal location for wandering all over this marvellous city. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeverleyRainford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for Alma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

The location is excelent, 3 minutes' walk to Grand place, 5 minutes' walk to Central station.
The rooms are just OK, beds are quite old and some rooms have inappropriate bathrooms. The rooms overloking the street are very loud.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking for the courtyard. It will be quiter.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dafyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hotel Alma is located just a very short walk from the Grand Place. A very convenient base from where to discover Brussels. Given this location it's hard to reach by car: count on it that you will have to walk a bit to reach the hotel. Rooms are clean and up to date. The hotel doesn't serve breakfast: there's a strange system with prefab food and drinks, but surely when in Brussels you can do better than that. Wifi has to be payed for, 5 euros for 24 hours. It's free on the ground floor.
All in all: a convenient base for discovering Brussels, just a pity that breakfast and wifi is so difficult.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

As other reviews have said, the location, about 200 metres from the Grand Place is excellent. However, there was only one person on reception when we arrived at 6 pm on a Thursday evening and the process of booking in guests took an age. As a result we had to wait about 20 minutes to check in which is unacceptable.
The rooms look pretty funky but are about the same standard as a Jurys Inn. The spiral staircase looks good but if you aren't using the adjoining room upstairs they are pretty pointless as they go nowhere.
We were offered the opportunity to have breakfast and 'pay for what we eat' but it sounded very like a motorway service station so we opted to eat just off the Grand Place instead.
The Alma tries to sell itself as a boutique hotel but if this is the case it is a bit like New Look, coming in at the lower end of the market while pretending it is exclusive. On the other hand that location is worth a lot...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wallace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at hotel Alma in Brussels. The first thing we noticed when we arrived was that it is in a great location. It is literally a one minute walk from the grand place - just around the corner!

We had no problems checking in. I was asked for my passport details and when I asked what it would be used for, the lady behind the desk was quite abrupt with me. However the rest of the staff were lovely.

The rooms were nice and spacious, just enough amenities for a short city break. The only problem was that the heating cannot be controlled in the room so we awoke during one night absolutely roasting and there was nothing we could do to cool the room. There was also a little noise from an emptying nearby bar, however this is to be expected when in a city (it also only happened once and for a short time, though it did wake me up).

Another thing is that you are not allowed to leave the hotel with your key - a little odd, but not really a problem.

All in all, a clean, spacious hotel in a brilliant location. As long as you go with realistic expectations of a city centre accommodation, then I recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Emma_S_1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Was fantastic location 2 mins to Grand Place, all restaurant, public transport very close by.
Only negative thing is that Internet is 5 Eur for 24 hrs in room but free in lounge but even the paying one is not good connection.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located right in the middle of Brussels, quite close to the station Bruxelles Central. The rooms are spacious and furnished in a practical, but not cosy, stylish or modern way. They are clean and the beds are comfortable. As for amenities, there are toiletries and a hairdryer in the bathroom. However, wifi is only available in the lobby and also restricted to a certain download limit. Breakfast is not included: there is a self-service area on the ground floor, where you can buy drinks and snacks as well as breakfast items, but I felt that it was overpriced. It's nicer to go to one of the cafés which are located nearby. The staff at the reception were friendly, but on one of my stays, I wanted to check in early - that would have cost me 35 Euros extra, which I don't fnd particularly customer-minded. All in all, the hotel is of average quality to me.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank mw-turi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#115 of 198 in Brussels
724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Dixseptieme
Le Dixseptieme
#80 of 198 in Brussels
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agora Brussels
Hotel Agora Brussels
#19 of 198 in Brussels
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#90 of 198 in Brussels
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Hotel

Address: Rue des Eperonniers 42-44 | Spoormakersstraat 42-44, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: £60 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Brussels! Situated in the historic centre of Brussels, Hotel Alma is 5 minutes' walk away from the Gare Centrale and public transport (tram, bus, metro). This makes it very easy for you to get to the heart of the European quarter or to the Atomium. Just leave Hotel Alma to find your happiness, whatever it may be: a nice little café or a Michelin starred restaurant, trendy bars and old bistros, Belgian beers, exhibitions, stately homes and quarters. Even if you're on a tight schedule, you'll have time to see all the sights that can't be missed: our Grand Place, so beautiful it will take your breath away (+/- 200m away), Manneken Pis (+/- 500m), Brussels' most international "Kets" and the superb Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert (+/- 500m away). Just a few steps away there is also the museum quarter and the Sablon, a square full of trendy bars, exclusive boutiques and experts in everything from chocolate to antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Grand Palace Brussels
Hotel Alma Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing