We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent! great view, big room, great location!”
Review of Alma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alma Hotel
Ranked #98 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent! great view, big room, great location!”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Well i loved this place and i would ask for 406! the view from there overlooking the grand palace was beautiful!! the room was really big especially for european standards... the fact that walking to the grand place is just over a block is fantastic not much else i could have asked for!
i would go back here in a heart beat! it was quite cheap, great location, amazing views if on the top floors... and very comfortable recently updated i think...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yngtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    243
    117
    42
    26
See reviews for
52
203
69
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We got stuck in Brussels on our way to Amsterdam. The trains were cancelled because of the snow and we needed a place to stay for one night somewhere near the railway station. Hotel Alma met our need perfectly: just couple of minutes walk from the station, good walk-in rate (68 euros for one night) and very close to restaurants and attractions like La Grande Place and Manneken Pis.

The lady at the reception didn’t speak much of English but was kind and helpful. Our large twin room had high ceiling, tasteful decoration and comfortable beds. The bathroom was big and clean. The room was a bit cold, but the heating was turned up as soon as we called the reception. There was some noise outside, but we stayed in the 4th floor and I’m not sensitive to noise, so that didn’t bother me at all.

Actually the only minus was the Internet – there was only one (rather crappy) computer with (rather slow) Internet, and you had to pay 2,50 for 30 minutes. Otherwise we were very satisfied and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neitsytmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

I stayed 1 night at Alma Hotel. The room rate is pretty cheap 63 Euro, while another hotels in Brussels Central were expensive. Internet is not included in the price, and we had to pay 10 Euro for one day. Also breakfast not included. But, for backpacker like us, we did not need breakfast, because we had some bread and cookies. The location is right near Grand Place and 1 minute walking to Brussel Central Station and it's easy to get food as well. The staff were also nice and helpful. LOCATION is one of consideration to choose Alma Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I stayed in this hotel as a single woman, meeting up with some old colleagues in Brussels. I booked this hotel through Booking.com and thought everything would be alright. Except the fact that one of the male staff was 'over friendly' the stay was ok. However, a few days after leaving I discover that the overfriendly member of staff who had checked me in, had stolen my details and used for private use.

This is extremely distressing and unnerving!!! Knowing that some crazy man has all my details to do whatever he wants to do with!

After discovering this I tried to get hold of management which proved to be a challenge. Management did everything in order not to talk to me and got their sales staff to call me instead. After numerous calls I finally got to speak to the manager who apologised and said he would give me all the details of the member of staff should I want to report this to the police. Except that, there was nothing he could do as his member of staff was using my details in his own private time and not when working in the hotel???!!!!

In the meantime, Booking.com informs me that they will handle this issue. After not hearing from them for several days I contact them only to get a standard letter of reply that 'they understand my frustration but will not tale this matter further'. Which, is breach of every data policy they have on their website.

So the cheap prices of this hotel chain in Brussels (Hotel Alma, Hotel Astrid, Hotel Max, Hotel Aris) is definitely not worth having your details stolen. In addition, Booking.com will never help you should anything happen.

For both the hotel and booking service it is an absolute nightmare to get any response from them if you do not keep on asking.

Simply do not use any of them!!!

WARNING!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moi77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We got stuck in Brussels due to the fact that our train was cancelled because of a snowstorm and we had to find accommodation quickly. Hotel Alma was within 5 min walking distance of the Brussels Centraal and Grand Place. We got a great walk-in rate of 68€ for a twin room. Breakfast was offered for a price of 12€ per person, but we didn't take it, so I cannot comment on its quality. There are many places nearby to have breakfast in.

The room was large and had a large bathroom. Everything was spotless and there was a selection of toiletries in the bathroom (shampoo, shower gel, comb, shower cap). You cannot adjust the heating yourself, but you have to call or visit the reception and ask them to do it. We called and the heating was turned up immediately. Extra blankets and pillows were also available in the reception.

There was some noise outside as could be expected from a central location, but not excessively so. You also had to pay to use wi-fi as well if you wanted to use the internet at the only computer in the lobby.

All in all we found this hotel to be perfectly good for the price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postikortti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I recently stayed in this hotel on business. For a hotel that dedicates part of its (rather slick) website to corporate travel and meetings, it was surprisingly poor at dealing with business travellers. When I called the day before to confirm my booking and request an invoice or to pay by the company credit card, the lady on reception thought it over and then said 'nah, I'm too busy'.

My colleague was greeted with a toilet that had not been cleaned (or flushed) from the last guest's use and my bathroom had left over (by which I mean, opened and crusty) toiletries in the shower. Nice.

The hotel website says: "all rooms are equipped with air conditioning system and a Wi-Fi." Funny they would mention that as:

The rooms were too hot and there was no temperature control within them. I asked at reception for the temperature to be lowered, but it was never done. I had to leave the window open all night, and was woken up about once an hour thanks to the noises you would expecct from a city centre.

Wifi is not free in the hotel. It actually very, very expensive. 2.50euros for 30 minutes?

The breakfast consisted of breadrolls you could use as door knockers and the average ham, cheese, cereal etc. All very meagre and disappointing. We overheard a staff member berating another guest for having a cup of coffee and a breadroll, the price of which 'was not included in the price of his room'. So that price is, what exactly? Could not have topped 1euro. Frankly, she should have been flattered he was drinking the stuff.

All in all, we found the staff rude and the rooms (though quite large) fairly uncomfortable and, in our experience, unclean.

The location is very central, but then so are all the other hotels in the centre! Beware.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldieJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2010

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we were very pleased with the location and the very close proximity to the Grand Place. The rooms are clean and much larger than hotel rooms in most cities. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the city. I found the staff to be pleasant.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank abela2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#103 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Dixseptieme
Le Dixseptieme
#84 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#90 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agora Brussels
Hotel Agora Brussels
#37 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Hotel

Property: Alma Hotel
Address: Rue des Eperonniers 42-44 | Spoormakersstraat 42-44, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Brussels! Situated in the historic centre of Brussels, Hotel Alma is 5 minutes' walk away from the Gare Centrale and public transport (tram, bus, metro). This makes it very easy for you to get to the heart of the European quarter or to the Atomium. Just leave Hotel Alma to find your happiness, whatever it may be: a nice little café or a Michelin starred restaurant, trendy bars and old bistros, Belgian beers, exhibitions, stately homes and quarters. Even if you're on a tight schedule, you'll have time to see all the sights that can't be missed: our Grand Place, so beautiful it will take your breath away (+/- 200m away), Manneken Pis (+/- 500m), Brussels' most international "Kets" and the superb Galeries Royales Saint-Hubert (+/- 500m away). Just a few steps away there is also the museum quarter and the Sablon, a square full of trendy bars, exclusive boutiques and experts in everything from chocolate to antiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Grand Palace Brussels
Hotel Alma Grand Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing