We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of La Legende Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Legende Hotel
Ranked #101 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Stayed at the La Legende in Nov 2009 for one night during our brief trip to Belgium.
We wanted a hotel near the center, yet were not overly impressed by the reviews of hotels near the Eurostar station. After looking for a hotel that would take a family of four, we decided on La Legende
Booking - Booked through the Booking.com- 155 Euros (all inclusive taxes etc) including breakfast.
Location - It's located very close to the Manneken Pis and the Grote Markt - we arrived at the central railway station which is an easy walk. We had small back packs and a stroller/buggy. The hotel is also located close to restaurants and shops.
Check-in - very efficient and friendly. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the apartment at the top of the hotel! It was large and airy as well as being fully equipped. It would be great for an extended stay in Brussels. The apartment was very clean. On check-in, the receptionist noticed our young child and suggested a baby cot - this was delivered to our room were quickly and efficiently (+ no charge!) As we were at the top of the hotel, we didn't get too much noise except for the tooting of car horns - apparently there was a football match and the local team won!
Breakfast - included in the price. Dining room was small, but there was a reasonable choice of cereals, fruit, cheese, cold meats Coffee was via an automated espresso machine
Check-out - very quick and all billed correctly.
It was about a 15 min walk to the Eurostar station and not too difficult at all - didn't need to take a taxi or subway.
we also saw that the hotel is probably going to be renovated at some point.
We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel (even with an upgrade) and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDXPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    134
    37
    10
    2
See reviews for
67
81
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montenegro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

I ve just came back yesterday from Brussels where I've been on a bussines trip. Well, the organizers had a chalinging task to find place for a large group in the center of the city. And, yes, they have to combine some room exchange during our stay. But, imagine a shock that I had - being not informed at all that I should be transfered to another room - when I find out that all my things (bussines papers, cosmetics, slippers, dirty underwear and some quite expensive clothes were just piled up in my suitcase and brought to the other room while I was at meetings. It made me absolutely mad. Hotel staff did not bother themselves to offer proper appologize or discount. Scandalous!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ohoo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in Sept. 2008. The best thing by far is the location -- literally a block from the Grande Place in one direction, a block from the Manekin Pis in the opposite direction, and within reasonable walking distance to loads of shops, restaurants, parks, street markets and the Musees Royaux des Beaux Arts.

Our room was clean and bright and overlooked the lovely courtyard. The room was also very small, which was fine with us because we didn't travel all the way from the States to spend our time cooped up in a hotel room. There was a flat-panel TV and two twin beds on rollers (odd), and considering the wood-laminate flooring, this made for some interesting slipping and sliding -- I don't recommend making a flying leap onto your bed; you'll go crashing into the wall.

The room had a private bath, which was small but clean. There's no shower curtain, so prepare make somewhat of a mess when you shower, but the water pressure was good and the water was hot.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. No complaints.

A continental breakfast is included with the price of the room, and it was good -- I've certainly had worse. This is a nice place to stay, but it's not a 5-star hotel, so don't expect fine dining. We had a good breakfast each morning that easily tided us over until lunch.

My only complaint was how thin the walls were. Prepare to hear your neighbor's TV and conversations; there's no getting around this. However, since we didn't spend a lot of time in our room, this wasn't too big a deal. At night, we were so exhausted that we were able to fall asleep despite noise sometimes from the next room. And for the price and location, I was willing to put up with this small inconvenience.

All in all, this hotel is a hidden gem. If you're on a budget, plan on spending most of your time out of the hotel, and want a great, central location, clean rooms, a private bath and a friendly staff, consider La Legende.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — thin walls
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelReviewer050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Absolutely love Brussells so wanted a hotel in a good location for the Grand Place and this hotel is ideally situated, a few minutes walk in fact.
Upon arrival the outside looks shabby and in need of a bit of a makeover but inside is very nice, welcoming and clean with helpful and friendly staff.
Our room was nice and clean also, if a little on the small side with a view onto a quaint little courtyard. The room had no drink making facilities so was pleased I packed the travel kettle!
Breakfast was the worst factor about our stay at La Legende, the dining room was very small so lots of guests all crowding round the food wasn't a pleasant experience. I don't particularly want to fight for the last coissant in the basket! The breakfast was continental which is what you would expect but not much choice on offer.
Overall our stay was pleasant and comfortable. The location is the best thing about this hotel and would stay there again purely because of that reason.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2008

My SO knew this hotel from previous trips to Brussels. The location is great - just a block from the Grand Place. It has a little courtyard off the main street, so it's quiet and you don't feel like you're in the middle of town. It was great to be able to go tour all over town, then easily pop back to the hotel in the afternoon for a break before going out for the evening. We could walk to the Central Station in about 10 minutes and the Zuid Station in about 25 to 30 minutes.

The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. At check-in they gave us maps and showed us where we were in relation to things we'd want to see. They use a system where you leave your key with them, so someone is always there and willing to answer questions for you.

The breakfast was great for a hotel with no restaurant. Of course they had breads, meats, cheese, and coffee, but they also served yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, jams, juice, and even hard boiled eggs. We certainly never started the day hungry.

We had a cheaper room way at the top, and it was small, but just fine for 2 people. It was clean and everything worked. The only odd thing was the lack of a shower curtain, meaning it was hard not to get the entire bathroom a bit wet when taking a shower. Perhaps you're meant to take a bath? A minor complaint, really. Plus, there was a towel warmer in the bathroom, which was a great addition.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who wants to be right in the middle of things in Brussels.

  • Liked — The location, the staff, the breakfast
  • Disliked — The lack of a shower curtain
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrispyRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarra
Level Contributor
112 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

This is a small hotel, placed very near the Grote Mark. There are a lot of places to eat around the hotel.
The streets around the hotel are quiet, and there is a small parking inside the hotel.

The room was clean, but a little small.

The breakfast was OK, not a lot of things to eat, but enough to begin the day.

The staff was very helpful, and they spoke french and english without problems.

  • Liked — The location it is wonderful
  • Disliked — The room was a little smaller
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViajeroNavarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2007

Hotel is very clean, location of it is fantastic, brekafast is good. The only problem i found was the thin walls between the rooms which made me able to hear every single noise in room next to me as well as disturbing noises from water pipes. Overall i do recomend this hotel as nice and clean place, just take your stoppers with you:)

  • Liked — Clean rooms and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Thin walls of rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duda102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#91 of 199 in Brussels
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alma Hotel
Alma Hotel
#100 of 199 in Brussels
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#106 of 199 in Brussels
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#124 of 199 in Brussels
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Legende Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Legende Hotel

Property: La Legende Hotel
Address: Rue du Lombard 35, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Legende Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Legende Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Legende

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing