We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy lobby - decent small rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel One
Ranked #22 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
295 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Trendy lobby - decent small rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have been traveling through Bruxelles on and off for most of my life and when showing around guests, I feel it is always more convenient to stay near the city centre, which is why I thought I would give Motel One a go for a change.

The results were fairly mixed I must admit because while the initial impression is quite strong with the impressive trendily designed lobby and warm helpful staff, I thought the rooms were rather basic and overpriced by comparison.

To put things in perspective, it feels as though this was once a more basic hotel chain whose rooms were remodeled, but which at heart are still the same basic rooms. We loved the remodeled bath as the shower was great and the bed and down comforter were quite comfy. On the down side, despite asking repeatedly for a queen sized mattress we received two twins pushed together and (while likely not an issue for most of the year) it became rather difficult to get the fan or AC working effectively during the night which left us a tad steamed.

Otherwise, there is a good internet connection throughout the hotel, the staff performed quite well, and the lobby is very comfortable to lounge around before hitting town. An added bonus was surprisingly the breakfast that does not come included in most cases. For a reasonable price by local standards, we had a well stocked selection of bread and coldcuts, plus a few other nice choices. Better yet however, the breakfast area is well designed and hip, and if you have the good luck to have some nice weather then you can enjoy your morning coffee outside around the garden in the stylish modern seating area. A great way to start the day no doubt.

Aside from that, guests will find the location convenient as it is about 5 minutes walk away from the Parc Metro stop, around 10 minutes away from the Royal Parc and Art Galleries, or around 15 minutes away from Gare Central (albeit too far uphill as my wife grumbled;).

All in all, this is a great option for business travelers and tour groups I believe though some firs time tourists to Bruxelles might enjoy something different in the area depending on their tastes.

Room Tip: The room selection is a bit hard to sort through at times as there are about 4 classes of rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Confused_ExpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    639
    111
    21
    11
See reviews for
97
520
75
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pdx
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Like other Motel One properties the lobby and public spaces are super stylish and hip. Great bar and really cool outdoor space. Rooms are totally functional and void of unnecessary decor (but still stylish). Fantastic shower and great bed but could really use a luggage bench. Location is very walkable for tourist.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larrybanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights as part of a group attending a wedding. I will start my review with the comment that this is a "Motel" not a "Hotel" and my review is taking that fact into account.

The Motel is very new and well kitted out, the staff are or were very helpful, there was no problem with language barrier. Our check in and out was without any problems, our room was small and basic (remember motel not hotel) storage is basically rails and hangers, the bed was really comfortable and big with a decent duvet, although strangely it was not a single duvet on the double bed. The bathroom and shower were excellent, shampoo/soap were supplied, although a small bar of soap or a soap dispenser would have been really convenient rather than having to open one of the little bottles every time you wanted to wash your hands. There were no disturbances or noise issues while we stayed there. As mentioned there is no safe in the room, on the other hand there is free wifi which is excellent. And an iron and board is available from reception if required.
Breakfast was reasonable and it is basic continental and there was plenty to eat.
The motel is very convenient for public transport, the bus, and tram pass right outside the door and the underground station is a short walk up the street right at the entrance to a large park.
Finally the simplest route from the airport is by train, follow the sign from arrivals to the train station and my experience was to avoid the ticket machine and go speak to the person in the ticket kiosk to ensure you get the correct ticket, ticket conductors are very active and strict. Buy a ticket to Central Station and from there you can get a taxi or even walk to the motel, which is about 10 minutes walk or taxi ride.
We used taxis quite a lot as a group and found that there was quite a variation in price, so be careful. But if you put a bit of thought and planning into the places you want to visit you will find that they may be within walking distance or tram or bus.

We really enjoyed our stay in the motel and time in Brussels and will return sometime soon I hope.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward S, General Manager at Motel One, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great review and appreciation of your stay with us! We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Motel One Brussels and our wonderful city.

We really hope to see you again very soon.

Very Kind Regards,

Edward


Edward Sirrieh
Hotel Manager
Motel One Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

i haven't personally stayed, i was only visiting to negotiate for a group. I have to say i was quite impressed. The hotel is brand new, everything is fresh and new. The main colours are brown and turquoise which can be found everywhere.
Rates have to be taken into account in Brussels. I'm sending guests there in October and they will pay 91€ (room + breakfast + city tax).
Location is really great, you're not far away from the city centre and only 10 min walking distance from the Royal Palace and Park, Magritt Museum...
You can only have breakfast and a drink at the hotel, but there are plenty of restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank TuN_Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I went to Brussels in mid July 2014 and stayed 3 days at Motel One Hotel. Great customer service, friendly and helpful; room small but fine for couple with two small luggage; no frigobar, no safe, great shower (small bathroom for US standards).
The room was quiet. Beautiful common areas, very modern with vintage touch. (they could have less lounge areas and more sq f. in rooms in my opinion)
Wifi included in the price. A/C in the room.
Located closed to Royal park, Central Station, and some attractions. About 20 min walk from market square. We felt safe walking at night, some restaurants closed by.
Tasty sandwiches at Tiramisu down the street and opened on Sundays.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLZPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is part of a chain, common throughout UK and Europe. I chose it for it's central location and for it's reasonable price <€100 per night. It's an easy 10 minute walk to the Grand Place with metro, tram and bus services at the doorstep. Decor throughout is modern in shades of turquoise and chocolate. There are plenty of comfy seats in the spacious lobby with 24 hour bar service. There is also a nice outdoor space with tables and chairs. A no-frills approach to decor in the room meant a small space, no wardrobe, fridge, tea or coffee facilities or safe. What you get is a large bed with a firm mattress and large pillows. Hidden hanging storage allows you enough space to hang a few items of clothing. Privacy is a bit of an issue - sheer curtains would have helped - as rooms all have overlook from other wings of the hotel. The bathroom is small but with a large shower that has great water pressure. Travel light to come here and you will enjoy your stay. Perfect for business or for singles/couples. Breakfast is simple - no hot food - but plenty to start your day eg rolls, croissants, cereals, yoghurt, coffee machine for a cafe latte, cold meats and cheeses. At only €7.50 per day breakfast here represents good value. Staff are young, approachable and helpful. Would recommend for a short stay of 2-3 days. Rooms are very quiet and the street is not busy or noisy at night. There are a few restaurants and cafes in the opposite side streets.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Signoramarg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward S, General Manager at Motel One, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review and detailed feedback of your accommodation with us!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,


Edward Sirrieh
Hotel Manager
Motel One Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Fabulous hotel, very clean, modern, great location and within easy walking distance of Gran Place and plenty of bars, cafe's the main shopping areas. Room was very clean and good quality fixtures and fittings including Air con. It would have been nice to have an in room safe and more storage for clothes but ok for a couple of nights. Breakfast looked ok (but didn't have it) Wifi in the room worked well and we were given the username and pass code upon check in. Paid at check-in, so checking out was simple. Slightly up hill from the main old town area but only 6 min walk from the edge of town and 10 min from Gran Place. Central Station is 5 min walk away, no need for a taxi from the station to the hotel. Train from the airport took 25 min and cost 8.50 each way, quick, clean and very easy as it leaves from within the airport building. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.5 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#9 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
1.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thon Hotel EU
Thon Hotel EU
#14 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One

Property: Motel One
Address: Rue Royale 120, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One 3*
Number of rooms: 489
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Motel One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing