We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suitable for budget and short overnight only” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Barry
Ranked #169 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Suitable for budget and short overnight only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Location is a plus being near to Midi train station and within easy walking accessibility to main downtown area.
Friendly front counter staff, and that's it and do not expect any other services like missing bath towels in room or things like that.
Strictly no frill but clean with tile floor. However the bedsheets, pillow-case were well overused even as rugs. Probably think twice about using the quilt.
Suitable if you are looking for a quickie stopover overnite stay in Brussels, so willing to bear or overlook shortcomings ie check-in late and check-out next morning. Would not recommend if you need a room beyond that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary_Bris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    115
    133
    58
    64
See reviews for
45
77
50
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We went there as a group of 4, for a week-end in Brussels. The place was quiet and the location was ideal. The room was clean, but the sheets seemed very old and overused. Good price for what you get !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank L. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samara, Russia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

An excellent relation between price and quality, located 15 minutes walking from Brussels MIDI station which makes it a perfect place for a one-night stay. The option made it easy to catch an early train next morning. The personnel was frienly and welcoming. The room was perfectly prepared. Although, it is cheap, the room was clean and neat. We booked a room for 4 people. For us it became a really good option.

Room Tip: A cheap hotel for a group of friends quite close to MIDI station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guzel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

When reading all these positive references I was pretty enthusiastic about going to this hotel, but ended sleeping under my own jacket in a room I did not make reservations for. They said it was being overbooked and did not have the room anymore.

Plus sides: very friendly and helpful staff, must be said! Good location. No carpet.

Downsides: ripped sheets, hairs on blankets, old stained blankets, hairs on the floor, stained pillows, shower that was broken, it was dusty (didn't look that way, but with my astma I could immediately tell... breathing problems coming up right away), they didn't just use my creditcard for reservation but took the liberty to take the money off.

I'm pretty sure there are better hotels around giving you more value for your money than this one.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank zOsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Brussels hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

My mates and I wanted to visit Brussels for a short weekend trip, so we didn't want to spend too much on money on accommodation. We found this place and booked a room with four single beds, which came up to around £52 per person for 3 nights, which is definitely a great bargain.

Once we arrived, the staffs were very nice and friendly. Be aware that there were no lifts for our room, so we had to carry our suitcases upstairs, which was quite narrow and a bit dirty (definitely not a good impression). However once we were inside, although the room was basic (which I expected it to be), it was clean and tidy with good amount of space. The bathroom was also a good size and clean. The shower was working fine and we had no issues of noise from outside. Was definitely pleased with our stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good basic accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We use a triple room for 2 nights. All aspects of hotel is quiet good. Especially, its place is nearby anneessens station and also has good position to reach Grand Place and Midi station. But a room is just average. Totally it's suitable for short night-travellers.

Helpful?
Thank Hwui
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Like others, I decided to gamble on Hotel Barry despite the very mixed reviews. Further, I booked 2 single nights there bookending a weekend in Antwerp; if it was bad, I would have to return regardless. Luckily it worked out well.

I booked single rooms which were small but more than adequate with en suite facilities. There was a lot of noise during the day from workers renovating some part of the building, but by nighttime it had quieted down. I slept quite well.

The first night I decided to get breakfast and this, in retrospect, was not a good idea. For 5 Euro you get coffee, juice, and bread with butter and jam. I'm sure I could have gotten better breakfast elsewhere for less.

The staff was welcoming and friendly for both stays (if a bit incredulous at how brief my second stay was!).

Location is GREAT. RIght by the Aneesens metro stop which gets you easily to the train stations especially Midi; walkable to the Grote Markt if you like.

In short - budget hotels in Brussels can be hard to come by, and this is one of the better ones I've found so far. Location, value and premises are all a thumbs up.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#71 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
0.9 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#55 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#126 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dansaert Hotel
Dansaert Hotel
#114 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#59 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barry

Property: Hotel Barry
Address: Place Anneessens 25, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Barry 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO HOTEL BARRY In the heart of Brussels, the HOTEL BARRY is ideally located for business leisure or shopping. Hotel situated front of the metro anneessens, the GRAND PLACE with is superb architecture, renewed restaurants, international atmosphere and charming little streets is just few minutes walk. Near North-Central- Midi Stations, airport and easy parkings. Parking spaces reserved for the hotel are available on request. Our staff offers you a warm welcome and will be at your service to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. All within classical yet comfortable surroundings. Our 48 comfortable rooms comme fully equipped with shower, toilet, stellite tv and direct telephone line. Full internet facility is also available to our guests. We provide the highest quality service at every competitive prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Barry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barry Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing