We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great loation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #15 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great loation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Took a while for us to choose this hotel but was definitely worth it. Great location. Has a nice boutique feel and the rooms are well furnished. Only thing we noticed is that they had no porter so when we checked in late we had to take our own bags up ourselves. Apart from that i couldn't fault them. A real gem of a place

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jagbrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your kind review!
Please, do not hesitate to come back...
Happy 2014,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    661
    154
    57
    37
See reviews for
169
1,076
98
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Charming reception staff, modern luxury feel in all the communal areas, felt very at home, expensive for evening meals but good value for a weekend bed and breakfast stay of this quality - we booked through the Eurostar website as part of a package with train tickets and this I think helped our budgeting, and it was an absolute special treat and well worth it. Great central location but on a quiet side-street, and as Brussels is quite a compact city, a perfect location. The view from our window was nondescript and made our room a bit dark, but since we weren't there for the views from the hotel, that didn't really matter as everything else was ideal. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear,
A million thanks for your flattering words!
Please, spread the message all over London...
Happy 2014,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Perfect location. Not far from everything. Car-free area. Lovely common areas. The atmosphere made you relax and the whole hotel oozes a breeze of tranquility.
The room was just beautiful. Working desk, chairs and sofa. Wonderful colors and the bed was amazing - might just be the best we have ever experienced! Very clean and all the shiny detalis in the bath was really shiny and well maintained. We had a huge shower which we loved!
Great breakfast with everything you could ever think of. Excellent service all over. We did not try the restaturant during our three nights, but would have liked to if we had more time. We will never even consider any other hotels in Brussel. Just perfec for us!!! (Wow, I must say, I am usually a very picky person)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roma90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear guest,
Woaw, I am blown away by your enthusiasm!
Nice to have new 'ambassadors' in Norway...
Happy 2014,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Had another fantastic stay at The Dominican - first time we've been back to the same hotel and we were not disappointed 4 years later. Perfect location, lovely staff the only complaint is I wish they put 2 of each of the tea/coffee!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank loubieloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Loubieloulou,
Thank you so much for the nice review!
Happy to learn about your return after 4 years...
Please, don't wait that long to return,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

stayed two nights in early December visiting family and the Christmas Market. Hotel's location is superb, a few minutes walk from De Broukere metro and tram and perhaps ten minutes from Gare Centrale and very close to Grand Place and Galeries St. Hubert. professional and welcoming reception staff and although we didn't eat here, the lounge bar is excellent. Bedroom was a good size with an incredibly comfortable bed and I loved the Nespresso machine. Only reason for a four point rating, which should really be four and half is the lack of storage space, which would have been an issue if we'd been staying a few more days and that housekeeping seemed of a lower standard than I'd expect for such a luxurious hotel. Dog hairs on a couch cushion, beds made but left a bit rumpled - not enough to complain but does spoil the effect. If you need to use the lift then I hope you like Gregorian plainsong - it was amusing the first few times, but the novelty did wear off. Despite these minor faults I look forward to staying there on our next visit.

Room Tip: Not a tip for rooms, but just to say unless you want a really big buffet breakfast at 27 euros a hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichCarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear guest,
I really appreciate your honesty!
We will certainly work on the details...
(Please, note that there is a non-pet policy at The Dominican.)
Happy 2014,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Dominican. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious there was such a wide variety of things to choose from. The room we were in was comfortable. So too was the bed (one of the most comfortable beds I've been in while on a trip. The location is very great for sightseeing around the city. It is very centrally located. The whole hotel oozes a breeze of tranquility. The rooms are soundproof we haven't heard any sounds from other rooms or the outside.

When I will go back to Brussels I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: 227. Room facing the courty yard (presumably more quiet than a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiTiNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear,
I want to thank you sincerely for the short but powerful report.
Delighted to read about your happiness and satisfaction...
Happy 2014,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Visiting Brussels for the first time, we were unsure of the real location of any hotel but because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor we decided that The Dominican would be a good option; we were not disappointed. A 12 minute walk from the central railway station, this hotel was ideally placed especially with just a short walk to the Grand Place. We visited Brussels on the first weekend of the Christmas market, which is also very close to the hotel.

On arrival at the hotel, we were able to check in early as they had a room available due to it being a weekend. Unfortunately, the instructions on how to work the lift had not been explained to us and it took another guest to tell us how to get it to move! It was simple once you knew how, but as we'd been in another hotel with a different system (and instructions given!) it was quite frustrating.

The room was clean (though the wall next to my side of the bed was dirty - I'd rather not know what it was!), a decent space around the bed, a good bathroom and the most divine shower. It was a good place to rest and we had the best night's sleep for ages. The view was nothing special (offices!) but it was so incredibly quiet that we couldn't complain.

Breakfast at 27 Euros per person was extortionate, so instead we visited a café in the nearby arcade which charged 6.80 Euros per person and was more than enough.

We'd definitely stay here again if we were to return to Brussels.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms towards the rear of the building are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The Teacher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your detailed review!
A genuine pleasure to read you...
Never hesitate to return,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#17 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,329 reviews
0.3 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#10 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Property: The Dominican
Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#12 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing