We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #15 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel less than a week ago and cannot speak highly enough of this place. It is in a great location to shopping, restaurants and Brussels main attractions. The staff were so welcoming from the moment we arrived. They were helpful and seemed to be proud of where they worked. We booked a standard double room which was of a great standard. The room was very spacious and light with great modern touches. The bed was huge and we had 2 very peaceful sleeps. The general hotel areas such as the bar and restaurant are what really make the hotel stand out. The hotel has a great bar with amazing cocktails and yes they are pricey but the service and quality is worth it. The hotel is lit with candles day and night which creates such a cosy and relaxed atmosphere that it allows you to forget about life and just switch off. We didn't dine in the hotel sadly but I wish we did as the menu did sound lovely although might be a little limited or fussy for simple eaters. As a city centre hotel it ticks so many boxes. I would return tomorrow and will be recommending it to anyone I know travelling to Brussels. Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rreid2690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear guest,
I have really, really enjoyed reading you!
So nice to learn about your enthusiasm...
Please, spread the word all over London,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    661
    154
    57
    37
See reviews for
169
1,076
98
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed with 5 friends for a celebratory break away for my wedding. Beautiful hotel in a great location. Within walking distance of all the main streets and square. Luxurious rooms. Best nights sleep I've ever had, with memory foam toppers and feathered pillows. Deep bath and powerful rainfall shower. Would stay again in an instant.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sliverlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear,
Thank you for all kind words!
Please, do not hesitate to come back...
Have a great wedding,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freising, Germany
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed there one night during an EU conference - excellent location, very nice room & bathroom, slept very well in the bed. Breakfast with many different local meat-pies - my favorite. The bar offers a great variety of drinks: beers, wines, cocktails, gins. Hearing the monk's song in the elevator reminds of the place's history.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cugash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for the beautiful recommendation.
Please, let Germany know all about The Dominican...
Herzlichen Dank, und... auf Wiedersehen!
Greetings,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Went for a long weekend with my mother, aunt and sister, Friday 10th to Sunday in January. Was pleasantly surprised by the grand look of the hotel from the outside, having passed a few hotels on the way from the station. Inside the décor is stunning, modern and has a boutiquey feel to it. Staff at the reception were all very attentive, saying hello and goodbye as we came in and out of the hotel. When we first arrived, the woman at the desk (sorry i don't her name) was very helpful, gave us a map, circled some of the sights and answered our questions.

The rooms were very nice but I have to agree with what was written below about it being too hot and stuffy at night..but seeing as we only stayed two nights, it wasn't such a big deal. One other small problem was the lighting in the room..even with all the lights on, including the bathroom, the room still felt a bit dingy. We didn't use the sauna or steam bath so cant comment on that, neither did we have breakfast in the hotel. For a few euros outside we picked up some coffee and some pastries, which we were happy to wander around with.

Nevertheless the hotel is in a great location, only a few minutes walking distance to the Grand Place, and even closer to De Brouckere metro station which was very handy to get to the Atomium out of town.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone travelling to Brussels for a long weekend, and would probably stay here again myself.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dearest Anisha,
A million thanks for your enthusiasm!
It feels really awesome to read about your happiness...
Please, share your wonderful story with everyone crossing your path.
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stylish modern deco that felt five-star. Booked for a special girlfriends reunion so wanted something swish. Excellent location and service was good.
On getting into bed at 11pm, discovered that duvet had spattered blood stains - had been washed but stains were set in. Phone wasn't working properly so walked down to reception. They immediately sent someone up to change the duvet, so good customer service response. But luxurious mood was spoiled with this bit of "ick". Room was really hot at night, woke up sweating. Could not turn down heat (inadvertantly turned down the water heater, which is next to the fan (not heating) control, so water was cold in the morning, and we had to figure out why, then wait for it to heat up again. Why I would want to adjust the water temperature and not the air temperature doesn't really make sense to me. The hallways smelled a bit dank - not a big deal, just took away from the swish experience. Not terrible things, but for the price and reviews, I was expecting more swish. For value and experience, I wish I'd booked Chez Dominique B&B instead, where I'd stayed earlier in the week.
Resto was ok, was hoping for memorable. Cocktails were really good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dearest Sara,
It is with my deepest concerns that I've gone through your words.
Not that I dislike your comments, but I am somehow sad as you were so close to... total satisfaction!
I'm always sobbing when all goes smoothly except for...
I sincerely apologize for the stains on your bed sheets, this simply should not happen!
Please, accept my sincere understanding,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were so happy we selected this hotel. It's what you imagine Philipe Stark being inspired by. An old Dominican Monistary converted to a luxury hotel. Absolutely flawless - rooms were gorgeous with every amenity. The bar was great and the service was outstanding. Great location too - just a couple of blocks to walk to the square and a host of shops, restaurants and sites. It was close to everything but was far enough away to be quiet - across from the opera house.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryDBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Kerry,
I feel really flattered by such compliments!
Thank you very much for these kind words...
Please, spread the message all over Boston.
Warm regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

It's Saturday morning, there is no hot water, no one is answering the phone in reception and I don't have a bath robe, I'm trapped, help meeeeeeee! 508 by the way, this gets 2stars because until then I though the place was lovely.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Brendan,
Your story seems 'live'; sorry for being late and unable to help you 'live'!
I sincerely hope you still somehow have enjoyed your stay at The Dominican...
Warmest regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#17 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#10 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Property: The Dominican
Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#12 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing