We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Me surpreendeu!”
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #19 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Hotel super moderno, localização ótima, café da manhã excelente e staff gentil. Os quartos são grandes e modernos, com uma decoração elegante e ainda com café Nespresso de cortesia. A localização, no centro histórico e perto de várias lojas, facilita o visitante a conhecer vários pontos turísticos de Bruxelas. Um hotel que voltaria, com certeza!

------

Super modern hotel, great location, excellent breakfast and nice staff. The rooms are large and modern, with stylish decor and with Nespresso coffee. Located in the historical district and close to various shops, makes easy to the tourist to meet various tour sights of Brussels. A hotel that I would be back for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaKitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 2,305 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel is really lovely, and the decor is very modern and chic. It is very close to the Grand Palace and main square so you can easily walk to the main part of town.
Staff were pleasant and even though we didn't use the hotel bar it did look lovely. Again we didn't have breakfast at the hotel as it was 27 Euros each which seemed very steep.
The only downside to the room was that they had placed two single beds together as a double which meant you almost fell into the gap during the night. Apart from that I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moss87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear guest,
Many thanks for having taken the time to write things down.
Only by such efforts, people are getting informed correctly about what to do and where to stay...
Warm greetings from sunny Brussels,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Beautifully designed hotel at a great location directly in the centre of Brussels. Nice bar with great cocktails. Small ok small spa area (sauna and steam bath).
However, unfortunately poor service culture: we got sick the night we spent there and my girlfriend was basically unable to leave the bed - unfortunately the hotel receptionist showed absolutely no understanding, we repeatedly had to beg for a late check-out (we had a flight booked for the late evening). The only option to have the roomer longer than 2 p.m. was to negotiate a price for having the room a few hours longer. Given this happened on a Sunday, where the hotel wasn't crowded at all and the probability of renting the same room was very small, this was absolutely unacceptable behavior for a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DomWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear guest,
Many thanks for your kind review!
Sorry to hear about your deception about the impossibility for a late check-out.
Don't let this get in the way of your next booking at The Dominican...
Warm regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I was in a suite room that was the size of a perfectly standard room, so why name that a suite? Overuse of plastics instead of wood make ambiance not what I was expecting. Cleaning was, let politely say, not the standard I usually find in such hotels: it was necessary stop breathing normally at the entry of the room to avoid the carpet unpleasant smell. Okay, location is good for tourism.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear guest,
I want to thank you sincerely for having taken the time to write things down.
Your honesty is well appreciated, and your comments will be taken to the next management meeting.
Warm regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Highly recommended. We booked a three night stay. We received the room exactly as described. The hotel staff is courteous, helpful and pleasant. Daily housekeeping kept the room well stocked with Nespresso coffees and wonderful tea choices. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The hotel lounge is a great spot for an after dinner drink. Since the hotel is next to the Opera de la Monnaie, from our room and with the window open, we could hear singers during rehearsals in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Mark,
So nice to read about your happiness and satisfaction!
Please, spread the word all over LA...
Yours sincerely,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

spend a night in this beautiful hotel whilst sight seeing in Brussels. very charming and full of brilliant little touches. staff are very helpful and the décor is so fitting. monks chanting in the lifts is different but all adds to the charm.

Room Tip: stayed on 5th floor, had great view of opera house and grand place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Tony,
Many thanks for your charming review!
Delighted to learn about your positive experiences...
Never hesitate to come back,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Five minute walk from the train station and 5 min walk to the Grand Place. Just far enough, away from the crowd, to have a good night sleep. Very beautiful hotel with a very nice and clean room for two. Had enough room to add a roll away bed and still be comfortable. Plenty of space in the bathroom and no problems with hot water. Breakfast buffet was delicious and had plenty of options. The bar was also nice with many beer and wine options. Customer service was excellent and I enjoyed my 3 night stay at The Dominican. If I ever return to Brussels, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freddiemv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Freddie,
Your flattering words made me really happy!
Thanks so much for the wonderful recommendation.
Please, let Texas know about us,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,458 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#69 of 198 in Brussels
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.3 mi away
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
1.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#14 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £120 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing