We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great weekend !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #15 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great weekend !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My partner and I spend here a lovely 3 nights weekend in July 2014. The hotel is licated really in the city center (10 minutes walking from the central train station and 5 minutes walking from 'Grand Place'). The staff is very welcoming helpful and attentive, always smiling and happy to help.The breakfast was one of the best I've ever had in hotel - a big selection of cold cuts, cheeses, vegetables, fresh fruits, fresh (and big selection) bread and pastries , etc ...(even eggs-Benedict upon request free of charge !!!). The room (basic) was very specious and modern the bed was big and VERY comfortable. I had a very lovely weekend in this hotel, highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idok125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dearest guest,
Thank you very much for such flattering message!
You definitely know how to make someone blush...
I hope to welcome you back very soon,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    661
    154
    57
    37
See reviews for
169
1,076
98
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

As an experienced traveler and hotel manager, I was truly impressed with this hotel. Very professional service from the first contact via e-mail till check out time. Splendid and comfortable room, great ambiance and classy common areas, very well assorted breakfast buffet and great location within walking distance from the Grand Place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear,
Many thanks for your kind words!
I really hope to welcome you back one day soon...
Wishing you very well,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Well located for the centre of Brussels and not far from the Central train station. This hotel has character, the staff are very efficient and polite, and the restaurant is pretty decent too. Rooms are smallish, but very comfortable beds and nice lighting. Little gym is a bonus.

Room Tip: Higher floor to avoid some minor street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingman1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for the lovely report!
So nice to read about your happiness...
Sunny regards from Brussels,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Breakfast ...a great way to start your day. At the Dominican, its a great spot: airy, charming and an excellent selection of breads, croissants, smoked salmon, cheeses, coffees and juices...
The rooms are small, yes dark, but quiet... Bathrooms? you gotta love a rain shower ( bring conditioner).
Perfect location , walking distance to everything ( metro is easy). Pre-book a cab if you need one, you'll never get one outside the hotel doors.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Joel,
I really appreciate your nice writings! Many thanks...
Please, spread the word all over Toronto.
Wishing you a sunlit summer,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice, quiet rooms, very comfortable beds, good wifi connection.

Nice interior, but a bit too dark for my taste. Bathroom fixtures showing their age - basin faucet hard to adjust and couldn't turn shower head off when using the rain shower.

€27 for breakfast is a joke when you can walk across the street to a cafe with many more possibilities within easy walking distance.

Although generally for pedestrians only, you can drive up to the front door if you have the code to lower the barrier - was 50005 when I was there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,
I want to thank you for having taken the time to write things down.
Only this way, we are enabled to finetune our services.
Sunshiny greetings,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Due to its beautiful atmosphere and great location we decided to go for a drink in the bar on sunday evening, july 13, as i wanted to show my friends the great interior. Unfortunately the bar tender was very unprofessional, communicated in a very offensive way and served me the wrong drink, showing even more irritation when I told him it was wrong.. what did he expect? Sad cause I liked to bring friends here, but won't do that anymore.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiujin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear guest,
I feel deeply sorry for what has happened!
There really is no excuse for serving our visitors this way...
Please, know that this will be discussed during the next management meeting.
Feel free to contact me: gdevos@thedominican.carlton.be
Kind regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Dominican is ideally located in Brussels close to the Grand Place and other tourist attractions. It is in very close proximity to Brussels Midi and Nord and central stations as well. We found the rooms very comfortable with spacious bathrooms with a nice shower. The hotel has all the mod coms including a mini bar and nespresso machine. We didn't have any meals here as there are many cafes and restaurants just two - five minutes away in nearby streets. The hotel is pretty quiet as the street is one way and does not get much traffic so you can have a good night's sleep. After being in Paris hotel rooms the larg(ish) rooms at the Dominican were really welcome. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmalee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Nice to notice we have some guests from Sri Lanka!
I really hope you'll spread the word out there...
Very happy to read about your enthusiasm,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#17 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#10 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Property: The Dominican
Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#12 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing