We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great one night stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #14 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Baytown, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great one night stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here for our one night in Brussels. It was an easy walk from Central Station with a small piece of luggage (& rain). It was a fast walk to see the city. The hotel was beautiful. Expensive, but beautiful! And the bed was comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Katrina,
Big thanks for your kind review!
Please, let Texas know all about Brussels and The Dominican...
Summerly greetings,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,193
    661
    154
    57
    37
See reviews for
169
1,075
98
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We got an amazing rate on lastminute.com, and we were very surprised to how well the hotel was run.
Service was great - reception was just a phone call away and they helped me out with any questions or queries.
They allowed us to have an early check out which was brilliant as we had started traveling very early in the morning and was desperate to just have a rest.
The hotel room was immaculate, however our room was just down the corridor so try get your room changed if they give you Room 121. I felt like there was less privacy as I could hear people outside, meaning that they could probably hear us too. Having said that, the hotel was quiet at most times so we had a good relaxing stay.
Do remember to hang the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on the door (I frequently forget), otherwise housekeeping will knock at your door very early in the morning.
The rooms are quite dim and don't expect a view, but decor and everything else is great. Very modern.
Didn't have the breakfast as it was quite expensive (27 euros per person). I highly recommend Arcadi which is just a few minutes walk away.
Everything is very nearby - metro, Grand Palace (5-8 minutes walk), Galeries Royal St Hubert is just 2 minutes walk away... extremely convenient for non-drivers like us.
We had an amazing stay at The Dominican and would like to thank their staff for their pleasant service.
We walked from Brussels-Midi to the hotel when we arrived (it was about a 30-minute walk but with just one suitcase it was fine for us). However when we left it was raining so we took the tram - very easy and just a few stops away.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethney Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for such positive report!
I really appreciate your detailed story, and I am convinced that it will help other travelers to make the best choices...
Summerly regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

An exceptional hotel in all respects, with welcoming, informed and helpful front-desk staff; impeccable room-service; beautifully appointed rooms, restaurant and entrance foyer; classically understated décor, elegant architecture; and a perfect downtown location.

Do make sure to leave time for the extensive, delicious breakfast buffet, as well as a night-cap in the bar.

Great ambience, very highly recommended - just exemplary.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Ben,
It is with greatest delight that I've gone through your words!
Thank you soooo much for making my day...
Please, spread the message all over Canada.
I hope to welcome you again soon,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I picked this hotel because of the excellent advise from reception even prior to booking! The hotel is right in the centre of action and easy to access from both Brussels city and Charleroi airport. The hotel is beautiful, well designed and good quality rooms and public areas. Every member of staff was helpful and went out of their way, charging my mobile phone, finding times for shuttle bus etc. I liked the way the hotel was very under assuming from the front but had a beautiful interior and courtyard. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireLottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dearest guest,
Your message smells better than any flower!
A million thanks for such flattering words.
Your happiness is my satisfaction,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
212 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 664 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This may be my shortest review ever: not a single thing they could do better. Location, room, breakfast, public areas, cleaniness - perfection! All this comes for a price, of course, but here I was happy to pay it. My favourite Brussels hotel from now on!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Well, dear Jan, let me be short as well:
THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!!!!!!
Kindest regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Surely it deserves 5*, the hotel was clean, modern, big rooms with beautiful bathroom and located in the centre. The staff were very nice and helpful, The free wifi was very good and i think it should not be limited offer. We did not get breakfast as it was very expensive but been in the middle of everything made it easy to get food with reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W0rldTraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear,
Many thanks for your kindest review.
Due to your efforts to write things down, we are enabled to evaluate the quality level of our services.
Warm regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Let's just say I was very UNDERwhelmed given the reviews I read. Yes -- the location was good; however I got turned around on my morning run and no one had heard of the hotel including a local police officer. Thank goodness for Siri -- she guided me back to the hotel. I later found the Amigo and Novotel and thought they were located in a better area. And yes -- the hotel is modern and well appointed. But I found the staff to be distant and impersonal. FYI -- this was not the case in my recent travels to Istanbul and Amsterdam Overall , the customer service was polite but not overly helpful

Let me give a couple of examples: there is no valet to greet you and assist with bags. You have to pull the heavy doors to reception and I ended up dropping my backpack and IPad. No one said anything and did not seem to notice although the lobby was empty. Later I called reception BC the room was too cold. They simply said turn off AC but made no attempt to explain how to adjust the device.

The hotel does have a small cardio area as a fitness center. The bathrooms are very nice and there's free wifi. There's also a minibar in the room and the bed was very comfortable.

If you decide to stay there avoid the rooms at the front of the hotel. I stayed in a loft overlooking the front and it was noisy all night. VERY noisy!

Thee are too many options in Brussels. Next trip I'm trying the Amigo or one of the Sofitels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Erick,
Many thanks for having taken the time to write things down.
Your honesty is kindly appreciated.
I sincerely apologize for not fulfilling all your expectations.
Warm regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,322 reviews
0.3 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#10 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Property: The Dominican
Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#11 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing