We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality in a great location”
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #18 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very comfortable hotel for a 6 night stay. The rooms are not the biggest, there was a view of another building and the decor is muted, but otherwise everything was superb. Clean, great bed, powerful shower and a decent amount of storage for a longer stay. Breakfast is ludicrously priced but the location is convenient and the staff very helpful.

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad room in the place, and the whole building is in a quiet location.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank timtooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Tim,
Many thanks for your kind report after staying at The Dominican.
This way, we are enabled to learn and finetune our services.
Wishing you well,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,207)
There are newer reviews for The Dominican
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 2,207 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

A very good hotel with efficient and friendly staff. We did not try the restaurant but it seemed quite popular.
A very good bar.
In a good position for the centre of Brussels. It is located in a pedestrian area behind the Opera therefore very quiet.

Room Tip: Probably worth upgrading to an executive room for more space.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Parry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Parry,
A million thanks for the lovely review!
Very nice to learn about your satisfaction...
Never hesitate to come back,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights and got two adjoining rooms for our family of four. The rooms are stylish, the beds very comfortable, the bathrooms roomy and very clean. Only drawback was that the smaller of our two rooms had the king bed while the larger one had two twins! I asked if that could be remedied but they couldn't. (In the States, hotels have a contraption that connects two twins to turn it into a king.) The location is excellent, close to many sites and yet away enough from the crowds of tourists in Brussels. Helpful, friendly staff.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Rita,
It was nice reading about your experiences!
Your satisfaction makes me really happy...
Many thanks for reporting to the world.
Yours sincerely,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Good location, good deal, expensive breakfast, excellent decoration. What I did not like is the charge made ​​to the credit card on arrival is very high almost double the amount of the reserve. The room cleanliness is improved.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor, some are internal.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borja28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear guest,
I'd like to thank you for your honest and useful feedback.
Please, do not hesitate to come back...
Warm regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights earlier this month. The hotel is well located, close to Grand Place, shopping and a relatively short walk to the train station. The front desk was very helpful in pointing out a few flea markets and other places to go see. They even pointed me in the right direction to get a breakfast since the buffet at the hotel is ridiculously priced. The room and the bathroom were both a nice size. The gym area was small, but nice. They even had a separate boxing room. There wasn't a huge amount of activity at the hotel since we were there over the weekend. I couldn't go wrong recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Lynn,
Many thanks for your recommendations!
I am happy to learn about your satisfaction...
Never hesitate to come back,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Dominican was chosen as a special treat for a luxury break and we weren’t disappointed by the level of comfort the hotel offered. It is a modern stylish hotel right in the centre of Brussels, and provides a very quiet, relaxed bolthole away from the hussle and bussel of the city just yards away. Our room was very spacious and the bed huge, you get quality fixtures and fittings, along with robes, slippers, down pillows, memory mattress etc as befitting a hotel of this standard. The rooms have air con and a sophisticated media tv system (including BBC1 & 2). We found the staff polite but not particularly engaging. Breakfast is taken in the stunning dining room with plenty of hot and cold fare on offer but you do have to help yourself, including drinks. One tip here- Take no notice of any teabags labelled “English Breakfast”, they're no such thing! Overall this is a fabulous place to stay if you are prepared to pay the that little bit extra.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pleasedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear guest,
I want to thank you for your critical eye and your honesty!
Kindly appreciated...
Nice to learn about your experiences,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and I have just come back from a one-night stay at the Dominican and it exceeded expectation. It is beautifully designed and grown up, just what was needed on a break away from the kids! Very central, lovely quiet street, gorgeously comfortable beds and helpful, polite staff. We were recommended a local restaurant by the desk clerk who kindly reserved us a table. It turned out to be amongst the best meals I have ever had. A wonderful break!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank tamzinharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dearest guest,
Many, many thanks for your lovely review!
You make my day...
Happy to read you,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#8 of 198 in Brussels
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
1.4 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £104 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing