We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Dominican
Ranked #14 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved staying at this hotel. It's location could not be better. Small, cozy, trendy. Staff were friendly, helpful, flexible, non imposing and willing to recommend good spots around the city. My wife and I enjoyed every bit of it.
Great place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Faure H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear,
Thanks a lot for writing about your recent stay at The Dominican!
So good to know that it was a positive experience...
Please, spread the word.
Warm regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    658
    154
    56
    37
See reviews for
168
1,073
97
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Spent three days there with a groups of friends. The service was excellent, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was generous. The receptionists were very helpful, kindly booked our tour to Ghent & Bruges and the bar staff was second to none. Had some lovely cocktails. Great location. Near everything - places of interest shopping and food. Would definitely go back again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SSLEE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your enjoyable words!
Nice to learn that we were capable to contribute to your happiness...
Please, spread the message all over beautiful London.
Wishing you well,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Great hotel in the centre of Brussels.

Doesn't look anything from the outside but elegant inside. Rooms on the small side but modern and well equipped.

Great reception staff who were very helpful. Excellent restaurant food and again great staff. Breakfast choice enormous and again very helpful staff.

Would go back to the Dominican anytime. Great.

Ps.

The only negative was being charged 20 euros for a taxi to Gare Midi. This had been booked through the Hotel. The taxi from the station to the Hotel had only been 11 euros !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulselfridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Paul,
Many thanks for your kind review!
Sorry to hear about the taxi drive...
Taxi system isn't always reliable in Brussels; therefore, if certainty is desired, the hotel provides the guests with a guaranteed service by a more expensive company.
We appreciate your information,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singer Island, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Both elegant and ultra modern The Dominican Hotel in Brussels has it all! Great location with a very short walk to the grand palace and Square. Rooms are modern, very clean spacious and comfortable. In addition a very nice surprise is their restaurant. All the food was first class for example my salad nicoise came with an entree sized grilled tuna filet. The table next to us ordered a hamburger that was far more delicious looking then 95 % of the burgers in the states. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dearest Roger,
Your enthusiasm makes my day!
Many thanks for such glorious feedback...
Please, let Florida know all about The Dominican,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very comfortable hotel for a 6 night stay. The rooms are not the biggest, there was a view of another building and the decor is muted, but otherwise everything was superb. Clean, great bed, powerful shower and a decent amount of storage for a longer stay. Breakfast is ludicrously priced but the location is convenient and the staff very helpful.

Room Tip: I don't think they have a bad room in the place, and the whole building is in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timtooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Tim,
Many thanks for your kind report after staying at The Dominican.
This way, we are enabled to learn and finetune our services.
Wishing you well,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

A very good hotel with efficient and friendly staff. We did not try the restaurant but it seemed quite popular.
A very good bar.
In a good position for the centre of Brussels. It is located in a pedestrian area behind the Opera therefore very quiet.

Room Tip: Probably worth upgrading to an executive room for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Parry,
A million thanks for the lovely review!
Very nice to learn about your satisfaction...
Never hesitate to come back,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and got two adjoining rooms for our family of four. The rooms are stylish, the beds very comfortable, the bathrooms roomy and very clean. Only drawback was that the smaller of our two rooms had the king bed while the larger one had two twins! I asked if that could be remedied but they couldn't. (In the States, hotels have a contraption that connects two twins to turn it into a king.) The location is excellent, close to many sites and yet away enough from the crowds of tourists in Brussels. Helpful, friendly staff.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Rita,
It was nice reading about your experiences!
Your satisfaction makes me really happy...
Many thanks for reporting to the world.
Yours sincerely,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#10 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Property: The Dominican
Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#11 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dominican, first member of Design Hotels™ in Brussels, is a destination for elegance in the centre of Brussels. The Dominican is a deluxe design hotel, poised to become a destination for elegance in the city centre. It's stylish rooms, private courtyard and bustling Grand Lounge combine to ensure indulgent hospitality. In the Grand Lounge, located adjacent to an intimate inner courtyard, our breakfast, lunch and dinner are served. The Lounge Bar is a combination of contemporary cafe and stylish lounge, making this the perfect destination for a relaxing break. A delectable selection of food and drinks are available to enjoy at any moment throughout the day. For a relaxing experience or an energy boost you can visit our health club with gym, sauna, steambath and massage. Stay and experience one of our 150 stylishly designed deluxe rooms, executive rooms or one of The Dominican's 3 exclusive suites. All our rooms are equipped with all modern amenities. WIFI (complimentary), Airconditioning, Telephone (VOIP), Safe, Mini-bar, Flat screen TV, Room service, Ironing facilities. The bathrooms are relax areas with rain shower or bath, hairdryer and toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing