We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again !!”
Review of Rugantino

Rugantino
Ranked #2,534 of 3,550 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Italian, European, Pizza
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
France
1 review
“Never again !!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were my friend and I one Saturday evening, the hotel we were advised us, I would have preferred to eat in Burger King. Terrible reception, it was necessary to eat in fifteen minutes and to release the table, the bill was incorrect, the pizza was flaring! The lady in room does not understand anything the whole, only the framework was beautiful.

Antonio

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    16
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
around the world
Level Contributor
215 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Check your bill”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Rugantino is an institution. If you go there it's for the budget and the atmosphere of this old italian restaurant in the city center... Food is average. One serious advise, check the bill before you pay.

Helpful?
Thank Alice_the_wonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good pizza compared to other places in Brussels, otherwise just good.”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Went with a friend of mine, Italian as well.
We wanted pizza and we tried this place. I must say pizza is good (probably thanks to the wood stove), but nothing exceptional compared to pizzerias in Italy.
Only one beer in the menu, but I love wine and I did not care that much. :)
Prices are OK, always compared to other Belgian places.
I might come back one day.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincenzo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Recommended restaurant”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We were hesitant about entering the restaurant as there seemed to be only two tables occupied. After wandering around the block, we decided to stay for dinner. By the time that we finished our meal, the restaurant's lower level was completely filled. The salad, pasta, pizza and zuccotto (dessert item) were all very good and reasonably priced. The restaurant also had evening specials which the neighbouring customers seemed to enjoy. The restaurant is not in the immediate vicinity of Grand Place but is easily reached with a short walk.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Viagg16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What you'd expect from a good Italian.”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We went as a large group of about 15 and they were very accommodating with us. The food was pretty decent and cheap enough. Be warned though the menu isn't in English but this isn't a tourist's restaurant, think we were the only ones in there.

Atmosphere was excellent, especially if you go sit upstairs next to the floor to ceiling windows. A very historical building that I'm sure would have many stories to tell.

Only slight complaint was the staff leant over you to clear the tables but guess this is just a cultural thing rather specific to this restaurant.

Overall good experience and would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BurnleyStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rugantino also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Rugantino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing